#1  
Old 31st July 2008, 15:37
jmroth jmroth is offline
ISPConfig Developer
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 191
Thanks: 1
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Default Dns-mx

Just as there is a list for the A record of the web, I would like to be able to select the IP for the MX record.

My setup is such that I rarely use the "main" IP of the server, except for administrative purposes.

One could at least add a "default IP for MX" on the Management->Server Settings page or so...

(I always have the same IP for MX but it is not the main IP)
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 1st August 2008, 11:48
jmroth jmroth is offline
ISPConfig Developer
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 191
Thanks: 1
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Default

Note:

This will also require adding said name for the MX to
/etc/postfix/local-host-names
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 1st August 2008, 14:40
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,751 Times in 2,581 Posts
Default

MX records can point only to A records, not IP addresses.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 1st August 2008, 18:22
commentator commentator is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 146
Thanks: 49
Thanked 7 Times in 5 Posts
Default

the default mx is now servername

would be nice if it is possible to set an othername as default
something like mail.domain.com (and setup a default dns set)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 2nd August 2008, 14:18
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,751 Times in 2,581 Posts
Default

You can do this only in the DNS-Manager.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 2nd August 2008, 16:16
jmroth jmroth is offline
ISPConfig Developer
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 191
Thanks: 1
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
 
Default

What I'm saying is one should be able to configure a little bit (note the understatement) what "Create MX record" does.

So it might be useful to have a "default host for MX" on the Management->Server Settings page which would be applied to the DNS records (can still use the ISPConfig host name if none is specified).

It is just too stupid too have to think about going to DNS Manager each time a new web is created in order to put the right MX there. (I'm thinking about hardcoding it for now.)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Squid Proxy Caching on Linux obzerver Installation/Configuration 4 13th August 2008 20:51
Google Apps dayjahone General 19 29th March 2008 18:25
DNS Configuration Problems VMartins Installation/Configuration 10 24th July 2007 15:40
Unable send receive emails vassilis3 Installation/Configuration 15 19th May 2007 15:34
No SPF record. beryl Installation/Configuration 6 17th May 2007 20:52


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 00:36.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.