Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Linux Forums > Desktop Operation

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 13th January 2006, 13:24
mphayesuk mphayesuk is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: UK, East Midlands
Posts: 517
Thanks: 1
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Send a message via MSN to mphayesuk
Default Gnome Search Crashes

Ok what I have is 64bit Suse 10 installed with gnome as the deesktop system. What happens is that every time I attempt to search using the gui it fails isntantly with an error (not sure what the error is at the moment). Does any one else have this probelm..... or shall I just re-install and use kde which in the past has caused me no problems.

Thanks
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 13th January 2006, 23:29
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,722 Times in 2,563 Posts
Default

What's the exact error message?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 14th January 2006, 21:41
mphayesuk mphayesuk is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: UK, East Midlands
Posts: 517
Thanks: 1
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Send a message via MSN to mphayesuk
Default

Ok i goto search using Nautilus 2.12.0 and no matter what I type in to search the moment I click on search

The Application "nautilus" has quit unexpectedly.

You can inform the developers of what happened to help them fix it. Or you can restart the application right now.

I have updated the program and also re-installed from the original cd and yet still nothing. I know I should probably learn to use grep but I like everything to work as it should.

Any suggestions.

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 15th January 2006, 18:50
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,722 Times in 2,563 Posts
Default

Have you googled for the error, and have you tried to ask the developers of Nautilus?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 16th January 2006, 14:41
mphayesuk mphayesuk is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: UK, East Midlands
Posts: 517
Thanks: 1
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Send a message via MSN to mphayesuk
Default

Ok I think I have got something... thanks for your posts
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 16th January 2006, 19:24
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,722 Times in 2,563 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mphayesuk
Ok I think I have got something... thanks for your posts
If it works, can you post the solution here? That would be great!
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 24th January 2006, 12:54
mphayesuk mphayesuk is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: UK, East Midlands
Posts: 517
Thanks: 1
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Send a message via MSN to mphayesuk
Default

Nope that did not work and still have same problem, the solution I thought I had said to delete some files from the home directory, but the files and directories are not there... must be beacuse I am on Suse 10 and the solution was not, and because I cant search for the files I dont know where they will be..... it was something to do with metanames / metafiles for nautilas.

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 24th January 2006, 13:03
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,452
Thanks: 813
Thanked 5,222 Times in 4,092 Posts
Default

Why don you use the locate command on the shell to find the files? Usage:

locate filename
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 24th January 2006, 13:09
mphayesuk mphayesuk is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: UK, East Midlands
Posts: 517
Thanks: 1
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Send a message via MSN to mphayesuk
Default

I did try it before but I did a search for a file that I know exists and it came back with nothing.... and I think I tried a wild card i.e. *.php and it also came back with nothing (FROM MEMORY) I will try it again later today to make sure.

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 24th January 2006, 13:15
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,452
Thanks: 813
Thanked 5,222 Times in 4,092 Posts
 
Default

First, login as root or use su before you use the locate command. then dont use wildcards, simply use the part of the filename you where searching for, e.g .php instead of *.php
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Installing Debian desktop GNOME! AdykOSu Installation/Configuration 13 9th January 2011 23:43
whois search mphayesuk General 1 29th December 2005 15:14
Multiple domains & where to search suy General 4 19th September 2005 22:14


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 15:41.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.