#1  
Old 24th July 2008, 13:50
biobrew biobrew is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 34
Thanks: 5
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default change of ip

I followed the perfect server setup with debian etch, ispconfig, postfix, bind 9, everything is working great but my external ip address has to change to a different one, and I'm not sure where all I have to make that change on the box. I already know what changes I have to make to goddaddy, i'm just not sure what changes i have to make on the box.

Thanks in advance
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 24th July 2008, 14:11
Hans Hans is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Montfoort, The Netherlands
Posts: 2,256
Thanks: 212
Thanked 648 Times in 294 Posts
Send a message via Skype™ to Hans
Default

Is your server behind a router or not?
__________________
Hans

BB-Hosting | Quality Web Hosting since 2005
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 24th July 2008, 15:11
biobrew biobrew is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 34
Thanks: 5
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Yes it is (I have to have 10 characters in my reply)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 24th July 2008, 15:15
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,814
Thanks: 821
Thanked 5,340 Times in 4,189 Posts
Default

If you do not run your own name server, there has nothing to be changed. If you use the bind server on the ispconfig box, change the ip addresses in all dns records in the dns-manager.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to till For This Useful Post:
biobrew (25th July 2008)
  #5  
Old 24th July 2008, 15:18
rutame rutame is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Canary Islands, Spain, Europe, Planet Earth
Posts: 161
Thanks: 39
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by biobrew View Post
Yes it is (I have to have 10 characters in my reply)
Hello.

You should do this:

At the Registrant put one register (dns) tipe IN A pointing to your public IP as this:

www.yourdomain.dom IN A xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx (IP public)

In your router active NAT o NAPT and write port 80 your private IP (Host ispconfig IP) example: port 80 192.168.0.2

I hope that be usefull
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 25th July 2008, 11:24
biobrew biobrew is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 34
Thanks: 5
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

I have just made the changes in the dns manager in ispconfig.

Also, something about godaddy, is that if you host your own nameserver they no longer give you total dns control panel (obviously) so i have ns1 and ns2 pointed to the new ip now.

I'll let you know how everything else worked (mail, etc) with the new ip change tomorrow when it propagates from godaddy, but thanks for your help, i didn't know if i would have to edit some files in /etc/bind9 manually or not.

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 1st August 2008, 15:42
wr19026 wr19026 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 172
Thanks: 7
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by till View Post
If you do not run your own name server, there has nothing to be changed. If you use the bind server on the ispconfig box, change the ip addresses in all dns records in the dns-manager.
What if not only the external IP address changes, but the internal one as well? (new router so going from 192.xxx.x.x to 10.x.x.x for example?)
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 2nd August 2008, 13:35
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,740 Times in 2,575 Posts
 
Default

http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=2760
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Legitimate reason for SSH key to change? tfunky Server Operation 2 25th May 2008 00:05
IP change and named smartcall General 2 4th December 2007 07:39
How to change MySQL root password? wpwood3 Installation/Configuration 1 9th October 2007 02:55
user can change domain testset General 2 12th June 2007 22:53
Change the Mysql root password while runing the ISP panel gimhan90 Installation/Configuration 1 31st October 2006 09:42


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 06:46.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.