Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 2 > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 19th February 2006, 15:52
0p3r4 0p3r4 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 12
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Question Unable to login to mailaccount

Hello everyone,

I've set up a debian-based computer using the "perfect setup" guide at http://www.falkotimme.com/howtos/per..._debian_sarge/ and installed the ISPconfig-application. Most things seems to be working just fine, i can create users, login via the web-ftp etc. The only problem i have is that im unable to login to my mailserver via Uebimiau. All i get is:

" You cannot login with the username and password entered.
Please check your username and password and try again."

I've tried using the full emailadress as well as only the first part of the adress. I have also tried logging in using the username and nothing works... Im pretty new to all this control-panel stuff, so i would be glad if anyone could point me in the right direction.

Cheers
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 19th February 2006, 20:18
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,752 Times in 2,582 Posts
Default

For webmail you must use an email address as username.
Does it work with an email client like Outlook or Thunderbird (there you must use the username (e.g. web1_someuser) instead of the email address!)?

Please post the output of
Code:
netstat -tap
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 19th February 2006, 20:33
0p3r4 0p3r4 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 12
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

When i tried downloading the messages trough thunderbird i got a "Unknown AUTHORIZATION state command" reply after i had supplied it with a password.

This is my netstat -tap (queried shortly after trying to download messages with thunderbird):

Code:
Active Internet connections (servers and established)
Proto Recv-Q Send-Q Local Address           Foreign Address         State       PID/Program name
tcp        0      0 *:imaps                 *:*                     LISTEN     2680/inetd
tcp        0      0 *:pop3s                 *:*                     LISTEN     2680/inetd
tcp        0      0 localhost.localdo:mysql *:*                     LISTEN     3389/mysqld
tcp        0      0 *:pop3                  *:*                     LISTEN     2680/inetd
tcp        0      0 *:imap2                 *:*                     LISTEN     2680/inetd
tcp        0      0 *:81                    *:*                     LISTEN     7455/ispconfig_http
tcp        0      0 *:ftp                   *:*                     LISTEN     12828/proftpd: (acc
tcp        0      0 *:smtp                  *:*                     LISTEN     15806/master
tcp        0      0 c-3b9be055.68-3-64:pop3 c-8c9ae055.68-3-64:2533 ESTABLISHED18413/ipop3d
tcp6       0      0 *:www                   *:*                     LISTEN     7485/apache2
tcp6       0      0 *:ssh                   *:*                     LISTEN     2901/sshd
tcp6       0      0 *:smtp                  *:*                     LISTEN     15806/master
tcp6       0      0 *:https                 *:*                     LISTEN     7485/apache2
tcp6       0      0 c-3b9be055.68-3-647:ssh c-8c9ae055.68-3-64:2535 ESTABLISHED18432/0
Thanks alot for trying to help me, i really appreciate it
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 20th February 2006, 00:30
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,752 Times in 2,582 Posts
Default

Please install Courier, as described at the bottom of http://www.howtoforge.com/perfect_setup_debian_sarge_p4

Then enable Maildir in ISPConfig (Management -> Server -> Settings -> Email) and try again.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 20th February 2006, 17:26
0p3r4 0p3r4 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 12
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

That worked just perfectly ... thanks alot... what is a bit confusing is that you can read this message jsut below the installation instructions:

Quote:
*Please note: You do not have to do this if you intend to use ISPConfig on your system as ISPConfig does the necessary configuration using procmail recipes. But please go sure to enable Maildir under Management -> Settings -> EMail in the ISPConfig web interface.
Also, i have another question:

If i where to download e-mails from the server into thunderbird, will they be removed from the server?

Again, thanks alot for the help you provided

Edit: And one more thing: When i installed ISPConfig i was asked for an IP-adress, i gave it the current IP of the server. The thing is that i have a dynamic ip, not the best way to go but it dont have a choice. If I where to change IP, in what file is this information stored? Since i guess it cant handle DHCP?

Cheers

Last edited by 0p3r4; 20th February 2006 at 17:29.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 20th February 2006, 19:38
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 37,022
Thanks: 840
Thanked 5,655 Times in 4,464 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 0p3r4
If i where to download e-mails from the server into thunderbird, will they be removed from the server?
Yes, if you use pop3. But you can enable in firebird that email messages shall be left on the server.

Quote:
Edit: And one more thing: When i installed ISPConfig i was asked for an IP-adress, i gave it the current IP of the server. The thing is that i have a dynamic ip, not the best way to go but it dont have a choice. If I where to change IP, in what file is this information stored? Since i guess it cant handle DHCP?
The IP is stored in /etc/network/interfaces and in ISPConfig under management > server > settings.

But dou you have your server directly connected to a DSL line or do you have a router in front of your server?
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 20th February 2006, 22:55
0p3r4 0p3r4 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 12
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by till
The IP is stored in /etc/network/interfaces and in ISPConfig under management > server > settings.

But dou you have your server directly connected to a DSL line or do you have a router in front of your server?
I dont have any IP specified in /etc/network/interfaces/, its all trough dhcp... the thing is that i see that some ip's are set trough the webinterface (as well as during the install), and i would like to know where these numbers are stored. As for my connection, im connected directly to a DSL-line without a routable (i hope that is a correct translation) ip... so there is no way for me to make my ip static except for getting a router.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 20th February 2006, 23:20
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,752 Times in 2,582 Posts
Default

You can check /home/admispconfig/ispconfig/lib/config.inc.php if the IP address is stored in there.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 21st February 2006, 09:22
0p3r4 0p3r4 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 12
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I tried searching the document without luck... thats strange ... i mean it should be stored somewhere
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 21st February 2006, 10:41
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,752 Times in 2,582 Posts
 
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 0p3r4
I tried searching the document without luck... thats strange ... i mean it should be stored somewhere
It depends on what you specified during ISPConfig installation. If you specified a hostname and a domain, then you won't find the IP address in /home/admispconfig/ispconfig/lib/config.inc.php. But if you left the hostname blank and entered your IP address as domain, then your IP address will be in /home/admispconfig/ispconfig/lib/config.inc.php.

You must also change the IP address in ISPConfig itself: Management -> Server -> Settings.
But you won't have much fun with a changing IP address. Try to get a static one.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Howto suggestion suse PhP ver 4 + Ver 5 wwparrish Suggest HOWTO 11 7th August 2006 14:29
unable to login root in GUI Mode in Suse10 saialkesh HOWTO-Related Questions 12 2nd May 2006 10:57
Problem with POP3 Login masterkain Installation/Configuration 6 15th January 2006 19:11
Can not reach login screen brianetilley Installation/Configuration 15 29th December 2005 01:30
Total Frustration-HELP palkat Installation/Configuration 17 3rd September 2005 18:28


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 06:40.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.