Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 2 > General

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 20th September 2008, 01:44
sierradump sierradump is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 28
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Russian Clients website shows text as -> ??? ���

I have a client from russia who is hosting their site on my ISPConfig server and their website shows text as the following (taken from their index.html) :

����� ������:
# ��� ����� ��������� ����� ���?
# ����������� �������
# ����������� ������� ���������
# ��� ���� ��� �� ������������� �����
# ����� ����� ��������� ��� ��������?
# ������ �� ������ � ���������� ������


Do I need to install a russian language pack to get the characters to show up properly?
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 20th September 2008, 10:04
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,446
Thanks: 813
Thanked 5,216 Times in 4,089 Posts
Default

Quote:
Do I need to install a russian language pack to get the characters to show up properly?
Either your browser is not able to display the russian langauge set or you dont have the correct language set defined in the header of the html file.

Anothre reason might be the default charset in your apache2.conf ot httpd.conf file, try to set it to utf8.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 20th September 2008, 17:15
sierradump sierradump is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 28
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default A little more diagnosis...

Quote:
Anothre reason might be the default charset in your apache2.conf ot httpd.conf file, try to set it to utf8.
I think this might be what I am looking for, but I don't exactly know what it does? Does this change EVERYTHING my server hosts to Russian? Or does it just change the way the characters are displayed? I only have 1 Russian client and the rest are all English. I don't want to ruin the 25 other sites I have by doing this.


HERE IS SOME MORE DIAGNOSTICS STEPS I TOOK:

So his website is currently up/running on another host and he is moving to my server...

He copied his pages over from his old server to my server...

When I look at his live page on the old server, my browser shows the russian characters. When I look at his page on my server, it shows the ����� ������: funny characters...

I then tried to "view page source" on his live/current site - I copied the entire source of the index.html page, and pasted it to a new .html file - then uploaded that file to my webserver, same thing; I get the funny characters.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 21st September 2008, 19:24
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,722 Times in 2,563 Posts
Default

Add
Code:
AddDefaultCharset UTF-8
to your Apache configuration and restart Apache.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 21st September 2008, 19:26
sierradump sierradump is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 28
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Thanks falko!

Hey thanks for the tip Falko!

At the risk of sounding like I don't know what I am doing - could you tell me where my apache configuration is located? I followed your Centos 5 PERFECT SERVER with ISPCONFIG tutorial!

And do I add the line, or modify a line that is already in the .conf?

THANKS FALKO!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 22nd September 2008, 13:23
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,722 Times in 2,563 Posts
 
Default

I think it's in /etc/httpd/conf.

Modify the existing line, or add it if it doesn't exist.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 01:29.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.