Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 2 > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 16th July 2008, 07:17
briand0713 briand0713 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 26
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Installing ISPConfig onto a Dynamic IP network

hello my network is dynamic IP and I was wondering if it's possible to get ISPConfig to work on it.

In the final setup it asks for:
Quote:
Please enter the IP address of the ISPConfig web: E.g. 192.168.0.1
Please enter the host name: E.g. www
Please enter the domain: E.g. xyz.de
Please select the protocol (http or https (SSL encryption)) to use to access the ISPConfig system: If you want to use your control panel with SSL, select 1. You can then access it under https://www.xyz.de:81. If you want to access it under http://www.xyz.de:81, choose 2.
If you can put it onto a Dynamic IP, wout the IP Address be my server's DHCP IP? For hostname and domain I dont have anything binded to my server except for some dyndns.org free DNS.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 16th July 2008, 10:02
till till is online now
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,713
Thanks: 819
Thanked 5,321 Times in 4,174 Posts
Default

You must assign a fixed local IP to your ispconfig server. Then go to your router and forward all nescessary ports for http, smtp, pop3 etc from your router to this fixed internal IP address.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 16th July 2008, 17:40
briand0713 briand0713 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 26
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

ok so I set the IP for ISP Config to: 192.168.0.xxx
now when I do 'https://192.168.0.xxx:81/' I get a certificate error. How do I fix that?

also back in setup, what should I do about 'host name' and 'domain' ??
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 17th July 2008, 15:18
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,739 Times in 2,574 Posts
 
Default

[QUOTE=briand0713;136261]ok so I set the IP for ISP Config to: 192.168.0.xxx
now when I do 'https://192.168.0.xxx:81/' I get a certificate error. How do I fix that?

Quote:
Originally Posted by briand0713 View Post
also back in setup, what should I do about 'host name' and 'domain' ??
You could use your dyndns.org address.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem installing ISPconfig on Ubuntu 6.06 LTS ennodj Installation/Configuration 6 4th May 2008 18:12
Problems with installation on openSUSE 10.2 douglaslopezt Installation/Configuration 3 24th August 2007 22:04
ISPconfig in a home network zenny Installation/Configuration 25 3rd January 2007 18:19
Installing ISPConfig ssl installation certificate to a site? lyndros Installation/Configuration 6 20th March 2006 03:54
Installing ISPConfig on Mandrake using Webmin badben Installation/Configuration 4 14th October 2005 20:51


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 09:51.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.