Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 2 > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 15th July 2008, 02:10
crash0 crash0 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Web Sites inaccesible within lan and same isp

Yet another problem installing and configuring isp config and my ubuntu wannabe server. I can't preview any of the web sites (www.xxx.com) within lan. I don't think that my isp is blocking port 80 because couple of months ago i set up a windows 2000 server and everything was working smoothly.

Any suggestions please?

Thank you all in advance
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 15th July 2008, 17:38
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,747 Times in 2,578 Posts
Default

What's the exact error message you're getting?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 15th July 2008, 17:47
crash0 crash0 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by falko View Post
What's the exact error message you're getting?
Right now i re installed the whole system but i still have the same problem. I use another computer within lan (192.168.1.4) to administer the ispconfig console and webmin which are installed under ip 192.168.1.3. I added 2 domains in the dns section and created several sites. When i try pinging all sites with an external server different than my isp all sites reply. When i try to ping them within my lan i get the error host unknown. Searching around my lan i asked a friend of mine to try and visit one of the sites. We are on the same internet service provider and we can't preview any of the sites. I thing that there is an error concerning the dns resolution of my ubuntu server (Desktop).
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 16th July 2008, 18:21
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,747 Times in 2,578 Posts
 
Default

Please check your router if it allows pings and port 80.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 22:36.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.