Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 2 > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 14th July 2008, 18:24
ghall ghall is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 43
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Fedora9 & ISPConfig Install showstopper

Hello,

I used the guidelines to install ISPConfig v2.2.24 to Fedora9 here:

The Perfect Server - Fedora 9

Everything seemed to be working fine except that when I reboot it gets to:

Starting ISPConfig System... [OK]
/root/ispconfig/httpd/bin/apachect1 startssl: httpd started

After that the computer pops out of detailed startup mode and hangs before the login gui.

I've retried to install this from scratch twice already and have resulted in the same problem.

Any advice on how to recover the system?
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 14th July 2008, 19:05
sergio.morales sergio.morales is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 107
Thanks: 3
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default well you're not busted . . .

Get a system shell if you can get one . . . go to /etc/shells and remove the entry in capital letters which is something like /ETC/SOMETHING/BOGUS (I gorgot the actual verbiage, but it's impossible to miss!!).

Reboot and you should be fine. THis bit me too!! AAGGHH!!

sERGE
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 14th July 2008, 19:10
sergio.morales sergio.morales is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 107
Thanks: 3
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Smile check this out for a better explanation

Hey! This bit me so bad, I looked it up . . . I feel your pain!!

http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=18463


This should explain in much more detail than what I put in how to fix it.

sERGE
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 14th July 2008, 19:13
ghall ghall is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 43
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sergio.morales View Post
Get a system shell if you can get one . . . go to /etc/shells and remove the entry in capital letters which is something like /ETC/SOMETHING/BOGUS (I gorgot the actual verbiage, but it's impossible to miss!!).

Reboot and you should be fine. THis bit me too!! AAGGHH!!

sERGE
This is the only entry in the shells file:

/bin/sh
/bin/bash
/sbin/nologin
/bin/zsh
/bin/false
/SENDMAIL/ANY/SHELL/

Do I remove it all or just the /SENDMAIL/ANY/SHELL/ ???

Thanks for your help
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 14th July 2008, 19:20
ghall ghall is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 43
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Ok that seems to have fixed that problem and am now wondering what's boken after removing /SENDMAIL/ANY/SHELL/ ??

I am now able to login ok.

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 15th July 2008, 16:26
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,740 Times in 2,575 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ghall View Post
what's boken after removing /SENDMAIL/ANY/SHELL/ ??
Nothing if you use Postfix.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 15th July 2008, 22:34
ghall ghall is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 43
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by falko View Post
Nothing if you use Postfix.
That's good. I noticed it installs somewhere during the ISPConfig install. Any chance you could add a line item in the Perfect Fedora 9 Install to remove this little annoyance before you reboot?

It has become an additional step for me.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 24th January 2009, 21:46
rvakili rvakili is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 38
Thanks: 7
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Same blank blue screen

Hi Guys I removed /SENDMAIL/ANY/SHELL/ and still experiencing same problem.

Any other thing I should change?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 24th January 2009, 22:33
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,717
Thanks: 820
Thanked 5,322 Times in 4,175 Posts
Default

Reboot the server afterwards.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 24th January 2009, 22:36
rvakili rvakili is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 38
Thanks: 7
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Default

Done so 3 times. I also change the Fedora template as it was in another posting from infinity to circullar with no luck

Thanks
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ISPconfig install error - "PHP Binary coming with ISPConfig does not work ..." mleblanc Server Operation 5 24th June 2008 17:40
New ISPConfig Install nubtool Installation/Configuration 15 18th May 2008 16:46
unable to install ISPConfig aberrio Installation/Configuration 4 2nd September 2007 14:57
ISPConfig install continues to fail jervolpe Installation/Configuration 3 6th July 2007 12:17
ISPConfig install error clabrown Installation/Configuration 6 4th January 2007 16:46


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 14:06.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.