Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Linux Forums > Technical

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 6th July 2008, 18:15
jtwcarboy jtwcarboy is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Unhappy xterm: DISPLAY is not set

Hi,

I am running fedora 9 and then SSH to it from my windows vista machine using putty. I try to run xterm as me and not root and it says
xterm: DISPLAY is not set

I am doing this while i am also logged into the machine directly.

I couldnt find an answer to this issue that fixed my issue so im posting here.
Please advise me. Im new at this. I just want to be able to connect to this machine via putty and xterm to pull up my desktop. Or if im not understanding this at all let me know.

thanks
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 7th July 2008, 18:01
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,739 Times in 2,574 Posts
Default

Why don't you use VNC to connect to the remote desktop?
http://www.howtoforge.com/configure-...ubuntu-desktop
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 7th July 2008, 18:22
jtwcarboy jtwcarboy is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Default Response to falko

Actually i was having some problems getting VNC to work so i installed nx and it is working great remotely connecting from windows with no problems. Thank you for the suggestion.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Management/system config/settings & /server/settings not working!! dactor Installation/Configuration 9 6th February 2008 09:11
Advice on how to setup Lintrack As A LAN Gateway And An OpenVPN Bridge eddiequek HOWTO-Related Questions 0 12th July 2007 10:38
Transaction error Perfect FC6 setup ACDII HOWTO-Related Questions 1 6th July 2007 14:56
newbie ububtu 6.0.6 error PHP binary line 816 davidsky73 Installation/Configuration 8 17th September 2006 11:51
Empty Recycle Bin jon335 General 40 6th May 2006 11:56


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 16:30.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.