Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Linux Forums > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 22nd November 2006, 17:31
Berry Berry is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 69
Thanks: 10
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Send a message via Skype™ to Berry
Default

Falko,thanks for reply!

No, there are no such packages as php5-mysqli or php5-pdo-*. Are they crutial?

Here is my sources.list :
Code:
deb ftp://ftp.debian.org/debian stable main contrib non-free
deb http://security.debian.org stable/updates main contrib non-free

#Host Europe server:
#deb ftp://80.237.136.138/mirror/ftp.debian.org/debian/ sarge main contrib non-free
deb ftp://ftp.hosteurope.de/mirror/ftp.debian.org/debian/ sarge main
deb-src ftp://ftp.hosteurope.de/mirror/ftp.debian.org/debian/ sarge main

deb http://dotdeb.pimpmylinux.org/ stable all
deb-src http://dotdeb.pimpmylinux.org/ stable all

#deb http://ftp2.de.debian.org/debian/ stable main
#deb-src http://ftp2.de.debian.org/debian/ stable main
and here apt-cache search php5 :
Code:
libapache-mod-php5 - server-side, HTML-embedded scripting language (apache 1.3 module)
libapache2-mod-php5 - server-side, HTML-embedded scripting language (apache 2.0 module)
php-pear - PEAR - PHP Extension and Application Repository
php5 - server-side, HTML-embedded scripting language (meta-package)
php5-cgi - server-side, HTML-embedded scripting language (CGI binary)
php5-cli - command-line interpreter for the php5 scripting language
php5-common - Common files for packages built from the php5 source
php5-curl - CURL module for php5
php5-dev - Files for PHP5 module development
php5-gd - GD module for php5
php5-gmp - GMP module for php5
php5-imap - IMAP module for php5
php5-ldap - LDAP module for php5
php5-mcrypt - MCRYPT module for php5
php5-mhash - MHASH module for php5
php5-ming - Ming module for php5
php5-mysql - MySQL module for php5
php5-odbc - ODBC module for php5
php5-pgsql - PostgreSQL module for php5
php5-pspell - Pspell module for php5
php5-recode - recode module for php5
php5-snmp - SNMP module for php5
php5-sqlite - SQLite module for php5
php5-sybase - Sybase / MS SQL Server module for php5
php5-tidy - Tidy module for php5
php5-xmlrpc - XML-RPC module for php5
php5-xsl - XSL module for php5
php4-pear - PHP Extension and Application Repository (transitional package)
php5-apc - apc module for php5
php5-suhosin - suhosin module for php5
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #12  
Old 23rd November 2006, 17:45
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,747 Times in 2,578 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Berry
Falko,thanks for reply!

No, there are no such packages as php5-mysqli or php5-pdo-*.
If the packages don't exist, then don't try to install them. I don't think it's a problem.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 21st August 2007, 02:08
WhosRodney WhosRodney is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Error 404?

Hello,

I am running Sarge 3.1, Apache2, and php4. I installed php5-cgi in order to have php5 parse a single directory that I need parse by php5, and not php4. I followed the tutorials, and added this to my virtual host file:

Code:
<Directory /my/directory/>
                AddHandler php5-cgi .php
                Action php5-cgi /usr/lib/cgi-bin/php5

                Options +ExecCGI
</Directory>
Unfortunately, however, when I navigate to www.example.com/my/directory/info.php, I get an Error 404, Object Not Found error. Outside of /my/directory, though, php4 works as normal.

If anybody knows how to remedy this problem, please let me know. Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 21st August 2007, 12:20
sjau sjau is offline
Local Meanie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 1,149
Thanks: 4
Thanked 56 Times in 52 Posts
Default

Well, the path in the action is not the server path but "web path". You are actually pointing it to /my/directory/usr/lib/cgi-bin/php5

what I did is the following:

I copied the php4 binary (I use php4 now a cgi for a few things that don't run yet on php5) to my websites cgi folder:

e.g.

/my/directory/cgi-bin/php5

Then I set accordings permissions to the cgi-bin folder and the binary.

and then I just put an .htaccess file within that web - whereever I want to use php as php4.

Code:
AddHandler php-script .php
Action php-script /cgi-bin/php4
So for you, just put the php5 binary in a cgi-bin folder, make sure the folder's and the binary's permissions are ok and then you can fine-grain directory by directory where you want to use what

Oh, regarding the php.ini - I have now to edit /etc/php4/cgi/php.ini to alter my php4-cgi ini
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 21st October 2008, 15:01
schmidtedv schmidtedv is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Germany, Kaarst
Posts: 152
Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via MSN to schmidtedv Send a message via Skype™ to schmidtedv
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by falko View Post
Yes, but I'd then put
Code:
AddHandler php-script .php4
Action php-script /cgi-bin/php4
into each Vhost seperately (using the Apache Directives field of ISPConfig) because otherwise PHP4 is always on (for every web site).
Also check the PHP5 configuration: PHP5 should not be enabled globally, so you must change /etc/apache2/mods_available/php5.conf (otherwise PHP5 is enabled for every web site, no matter what you specify in ISPConfig).

I got ISPConfig 2.2.27 and Debian Etch (php5) out of the Perfect HowTo and now just installed php4-cgi and some modules without a problem. If I give it a try and just put

Code:
AddHandler php-script .php4
Action php-script /cgi-bin/php4
into my vhosts-config and restart apache, i get an error by testing info.php4. Others like info.php still run on php5 so far. If I change this to

Code:
AddHandler php-script .php
Action php-script /cgi-bin/php4
just for testing it runs the info.php4 but on php5....is there something wrong or else to do within debian etch to just get php4 working on testscripts?
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 22nd October 2008, 14:02
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,747 Times in 2,578 Posts
 
Default

Any errors in Apache's error log or the web site's error log?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to upgrade PHP4 to PHP5 Jeroen Server Operation 14 10th November 2006 17:54
Suse 9.3 setup probs with php5 hyperclock Tips/Tricks/Mods 0 21st September 2005 03:34
Installing PHP4 ProTrooper Installation/Configuration 10 29th August 2005 21:20


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 21:19.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.