#1  
Old 30th June 2008, 22:24
baronw baronw is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Question DNS/CNAME issue

I created a box to run ispconfig with the name (not real) box1.domain.com

then after all was installed I made a new site called domain.com and had the wizard create MX record and all other appropriate DNS entries. (MX is pointed to box1.domain.com)
***all same IP address
Now www work but testing email from outside I get:

Looking up IP address for box1.domain.com.
There is no A record for box1.domain.com..

First off did I mess up by naming the box in the same domain name the site is?

Anyway I figure I could add a CNAME box1 to www and all is well but that does not work.

I even tested making up a fictitious A record (which resolves from outside) but when I add a cname..that does not work either.

I went into the bind conf dir and looked at the PTR for that domain and the syntax was:

box1 CNAME www.
(including the period)

I tried a variety of ways taking off the period and adding the IN according to the bind how-to's.

Is there something I am missing or an easy way to just resolve box1.domain.com to the outside ?

Thanks in advance
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 1st July 2008, 19:24
chipsafts chipsafts is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 184
Thanks: 2
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Default

you can't use a CNAME for an MX record.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 1st July 2008, 23:10
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,711
Thanks: 1,899
Thanked 2,702 Times in 2,545 Posts
Default

If it's no real (registered) domain, that it can't be resolved from outside.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 2nd July 2008, 00:14
baronw baronw is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

it is a real domain.

Its registered at godaddy with the name servers pointed to this box.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 2nd July 2008, 12:42
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,711
Thanks: 1,899
Thanked 2,702 Times in 2,545 Posts
 
Default

What does the zone file look like?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The dreaded OpenSuse/Postfix issue pinky Installation/Configuration 2 11th April 2008 22:35
charset issue. lifeisboost Installation/Configuration 8 20th February 2008 15:47
DNS MX Issue jmead Installation/Configuration 3 29th November 2007 10:06
SSL Issue - Unable to connect to any site Menzor Installation/Configuration 4 27th May 2007 04:03
iptables issue with xen perfect setup - debian alexnz HOWTO-Related Questions 3 25th November 2006 13:49


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 18:22.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.