Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Linux Forums > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 27th June 2008, 22:27
networkengineer networkengineer is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Setting up dansguardian on CentOS 5.1

I'm trying to set up dansguardian as a filter- I'm so close to being there--but I can't figure out whats wrong!

My setup: squid and dansguardian 2.8 on a centos 5.1 box.

squid works if I put in ACLs to block certain domains and as a proxy it works because I can connect to it.

When I installed dansguardian initially, I had a problem of connecting to the proxy server on local host, and I found there had to be an ACL allowing this. I tried that then dansguardian started up properly.

I am using default port 3128 for squid and dansguardian is listening on port 80, because the test machines are connected to squid through 3128, so I assume dansguardian listens to traffic on 80...

Alas, DG doesn't filter content.
Any help is appreciated!
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 28th June 2008, 11:53
topdog topdog is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: South Africa
Posts: 1,352
Thanks: 0
Thanked 153 Times in 150 Posts
Default

have you read the docs on how to chain dansguardian with squid, as far as i remember users should connect to dansguardian which in turn makes a request to squid but i have not used the setup in a long time i could be wrong
__________________
----
http://www.topdog.za.net - Got Linux problems ? - I can help.
http://www.baruwa.org - Try it.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 30th June 2008, 13:27
networkengineer networkengineer is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Where can I find this documentation; I thought the other way around, since the proxy is squid, and then dansguardian filters content through it..

There weren't clear instructions on this aspect of setting it up...
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 30th June 2008, 16:18
topdog topdog is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: South Africa
Posts: 1,352
Thanks: 0
Thanked 153 Times in 150 Posts
 
Default

http://www.kathmannlabs.net/mediawik...Install_how-to

Actually i was correct your users connect to DG then DG makes the request to squid
__________________
----
http://www.topdog.za.net - Got Linux problems ? - I can help.
http://www.baruwa.org - Try it.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Getting e-mail working hansoffate Installation/Configuration 29 13th August 2008 16:33
how to do this on centos 5.1 kadi HOWTO-Related Questions 1 2nd May 2008 08:48
Error after upgrade mbascombe Installation/Configuration 13 14th April 2008 00:48
Tomcat on Centos 5.1 cybergal HOWTO-Related Questions 4 13th March 2008 11:02
Help. Apache don't start payne Server Operation 3 17th August 2007 15:57


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 08:12.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.