Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 3 > General

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 27th June 2008, 14:17
Snowman Snowman is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 116
Thanks: 38
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Smile adding server to ispconfig 3

hi,
i've already installed beta - ispconfig 3 (update from last svn), i dont understand how to add server.
Is it done automaticaly ?
When i will follow :
Servers --> Edit server
i see only filter.
All "Server:" dropdown boxes are empty when i want to add website or DNS record.

Thnx.
Snowman
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 27th June 2008, 14:29
till till is online now
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,457
Thanks: 813
Thanked 5,224 Times in 4,094 Posts
Default

The way to add a server is to install ispconfig 3 on a new server, select advanced installation and then choose the mysql database details of a already existing ispconfog 3 server to join it.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 27th June 2008, 14:32
Snowman Snowman is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 116
Thanks: 38
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by till View Post
The way to add a server is to install ispconfig 3 on a new server, select advanced installation and then choose the mysql database details of a already existing ispconfog 3 server to join it.
and can i have frontend and mail , database and all other server on one node ?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 27th June 2008, 14:36
till till is online now
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,457
Thanks: 813
Thanked 5,224 Times in 4,094 Posts
Default

Yes, thats why you have to enter the database details of the remote mysql database of the node that runs the frontend and select on the new node not to install a separate frontend.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 27th June 2008, 14:39
Snowman Snowman is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 116
Thanks: 38
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by till View Post
Yes, thats why you have to enter the database details of the remote mysql database of the node that runs the frontend and select on the new node not to install a separate frontend.
so if i want to install all on one server i should install :

Shall this server join a existing ISPConfig installation? If not, we will create a new database now (y,n) [y]: here i will select NO

and i will install only frontend and then i will run the same installer and i will select YES and then select (i.e. Configure Mail (y,n) [y]: YES) and configure all kind of servers ..
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 27th June 2008, 15:10
till till is online now
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,457
Thanks: 813
Thanked 5,224 Times in 4,094 Posts
Default

If you want to install everything on one server, just choose the Standard installation mode.

Expert mode is only needed for multi server setups. If you are currently in expert mode, enter "quit" and then start the installer again.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 27th June 2008, 16:39
Snowman Snowman is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 116
Thanks: 38
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by till View Post
If you want to install everything on one server, just choose the Standard installation mode.

Expert mode is only needed for multi server setups. If you are currently in expert mode, enter "quit" and then start the installer again.
thanks , now i understand how it exactly works
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 7th July 2008, 20:17
diablorick diablorick is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default setting up multiple servers.

Sorry to sound stupid but I am very new to ISP Config in general and I need to use it on multiple servers so I am playing around with Beta3. I followed the instructions included with the file and was able to successfuly setup a single server. Now I would like to wipe that one and setup multiple servers but I am not sure which (apt-get) files should be installed on which machines. Here is what I am setting up.
ns1
ns2
webserv1
webserv2
webserv3
securewebserv1
mysql
pop
smtp
ispconfig
each of these is it's own machine with it's own public IP. The ispconfig machine will only be used to logon to and control the other machines. I know I have to do the advanced install and set them to the main DB which will be installed on (ispconfig) machine but which files need to be on which machine.

Thanks very much, I am an IT manager for a large company and I know how frustrating noobs can be but a month ago i had never used linux and now I have 2 bind machines and 3 apache servers up and running just from reading and doing so I will try not to be too much of a burden.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 26th November 2008, 10:58
lephisto lephisto is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 10
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Sorry to open up this Topic again,

for evaluation purposes I got the prebuilt Ubuntu/ISPC3 VMware images.

My plan was to multiply them to three and have a master backend, as well as a web and a mailserver.

Is there a possibility to join ISPConfig Servers after installation (eg establish a "trust")?

greetings.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 26th November 2008, 12:14
till till is online now
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,457
Thanks: 813
Thanked 5,224 Times in 4,094 Posts
 
Default

There is currently no script to add additional ispconfig instances to a server. But I recommend to wait a bit with setting up a multiserver system as the way the multiserver systems are setup will change with the next 3.0.0.8 version. ISPConfig 3 will offer then a internal replication mechanism.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ispconfig - server migration best way sygram Installation/Configuration 3 26th October 2007 11:37
subdomain and mail relay configuration aranthorn Installation/Configuration 24 3rd September 2007 22:53
Mailserver Migration To ISPConfig Server asyadiqin Installation/Configuration 1 9th January 2007 10:33
Install ISPConfig on CentOS Server, in brief gfts Tips/Tricks/Mods 11 4th April 2006 08:29
Server Hostname and IPSConfig Lil'Brudder Installation/Configuration 2 14th October 2005 12:46


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 19:52.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.