Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 2 > General

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 24th June 2008, 17:18
omni omni is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 62
Thanks: 4
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Added site not working, Shared IP page showing up.

So I added a new site to my ispconfig, got all the DNS stuff exactly copied from a working site. However when you go to the address all you see is the "Shared IP" ispconfig page.

any ideas?
__________________
Ubuntu 8.04 LTS Server
2.8Ghz | Pentium D 915 Presler | 2GB RAM | Dual 74GB WD Raptors - RAID 1
'The Perfect Setup' | ISPConfig
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 25th June 2008, 13:55
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,405
Thanks: 834
Thanked 5,496 Times in 4,326 Posts
Default

Please search the forum for "shared ip"
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 25th June 2008, 14:42
omni omni is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 62
Thanks: 4
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

i manually edited my Vhosts_ispconfig.conf and restared apache2 and got it to work.

thanks.
__________________
Ubuntu 8.04 LTS Server
2.8Ghz | Pentium D 915 Presler | 2GB RAM | Dual 74GB WD Raptors - RAID 1
'The Perfect Setup' | ISPConfig

Last edited by omni; 25th June 2008 at 14:50.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 25th June 2008, 21:51
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,743 Times in 2,577 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by omni View Post
i manually edited my Vhosts_ispconfig.conf and restared apache2 and got it to work.

thanks.
Your changes will be overwritten by ISPConfig. What exactly did you change?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 25th June 2008, 21:53
omni omni is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 62
Thanks: 4
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

I just copied a site that was working, appended the file with the data and changed it to match the new site i just added.

if there is a way to do this 'correctly' I am all ears, and before you say "search".. I already did and this was the best I came up with...
__________________
Ubuntu 8.04 LTS Server
2.8Ghz | Pentium D 915 Presler | 2GB RAM | Dual 74GB WD Raptors - RAID 1
'The Perfect Setup' | ISPConfig
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 26th June 2008, 16:06
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,743 Times in 2,577 Posts
Default

What exactly did you change manually in the vhost? An IP address, a path, etc.?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 26th June 2008, 16:10
omni omni is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 62
Thanks: 4
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

again, I manually copied the following and added it then changed it to reflect the new site;

Code:
######################################
# Vhost: www.newiste.com:80
######################################
#
#
<VirtualHost 192.168.0.250:80>
php_value memory_limit 16M
ServerName www.newsite.com:80
ServerAdmin root@newsite.com
DocumentRoot /var/www/web5/web
ServerAlias newsite.com
DirectoryIndex index.html index.htm index.php index.php5 index.php4 index.php3 index.shtml index.cgi index.pl index.jsp Default.htm default.htm
ErrorLog /var/www/web5/log/error.log
AddType application/x-httpd-php .php .php3 .php4 .php5
<Files *.php>
    SetOutputFilter PHP
    SetInputFilter PHP
</Files>
<Files *.php3>
    SetOutputFilter PHP
    SetInputFilter PHP
</Files>
<Files *.php4>
    SetOutputFilter PHP
    SetInputFilter PHP
</Files>
<Files *.php5>
    SetOutputFilter PHP
    SetInputFilter PHP
</Files>
php_admin_flag safe_mode Off
Alias /error/ "/var/www/web5/web/error/"
ErrorDocument 400 /error/invalidSyntax.html
ErrorDocument 401 /error/authorizationRequired.html
ErrorDocument 403 /error/forbidden.html
ErrorDocument 404 /error/fileNotFound.html
ErrorDocument 405 /error/methodNotAllowed.html
ErrorDocument 500 /error/internalServerError.html
ErrorDocument 503 /error/overloaded.html
AliasMatch ^/~([^/]+)(/(.*))? /var/www/web5/user/$1/web/$3
AliasMatch ^/users/([^/]+)(/(.*))? /var/www/web5/user/$1/web/$3
</VirtualHost>
#
#
#
__________________
Ubuntu 8.04 LTS Server
2.8Ghz | Pentium D 915 Presler | 2GB RAM | Dual 74GB WD Raptors - RAID 1
'The Perfect Setup' | ISPConfig
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 26th June 2008, 16:19
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,743 Times in 2,577 Posts
Default

And how does the www.newsite.com vhost look if it's created by ISPConfig?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 26th June 2008, 16:21
omni omni is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 62
Thanks: 4
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

thats the problem, I created the new site in ispconfig and it looked like the vhost file was never even touched, so i just manually added it and then I was good to go.

but I have no idea why ispconfig didnt 'automagically' add the sites to the vhosts config file.
__________________
Ubuntu 8.04 LTS Server
2.8Ghz | Pentium D 915 Presler | 2GB RAM | Dual 74GB WD Raptors - RAID 1
'The Perfect Setup' | ISPConfig
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 27th June 2008, 05:49
Doug G Doug G is offline
HowtoForge Supporter
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 69
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 6 Posts
 
Default

fwiw, I'm having a similar problem, added a new site on a new testing server (fedora 8). /etc/httpd/conf/vhosts has a new vhosts_ispconfig.c_<date stuff> file with the new site information in it, but the file /etc/httpd/conf/vhosts/Vhosts_ispconfg.conf never gets updated with the new site information, even though the modify timestamp is changed to when I created the new site.

I had no errors during the site setup, and I can't find any kind of log entry showing a problem Apache gets restarted by the new site addition, no errors logged anywhere I can find.

I'm just starting experimenting with ispconfig so there is surely a chance I'm doing something stupid
__________________
=====
Doug G
=====
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
add web site serr57 Installation/Configuration 18 13th April 2008 11:40
ISPConfig Shared IP Error Page gjcomputer Installation/Configuration 4 30th December 2007 17:23
Set Up Ubuntu-Server 6.10 As A Firewall/Gateway knowram Installation/Configuration 10 13th June 2007 01:37
Shared IP error when adding new site amoswright Installation/Configuration 15 15th June 2006 15:04
site configuration and wrong error page jeanjacquesjeanjacques Installation/Configuration 3 16th January 2006 19:41


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 01:10.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.