Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Other Forums > Smalltalk

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 7th June 2010, 18:19
Rapid2214 Rapid2214 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 105
Thanks: 3
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Question Fast Upload Speeds on a copper ADSL line?

Hi,
Does anyone know a way to boost an internet upload speed on a copper adsl line? I can get 7mb download but only a 0.35 mbps upload and really want a faster upload speed so i can make use of my resonable servers.
Also i wouldn't mind changing ISP but i don't want to move to an exsisting datacenter
How are there so meny datacenters what have superb internet speed, how do they do it? Fibre Optic i presume....
I emailed BT asking about leased lines and they said they couldnt garrentee a good upload speed... Ideas, why can't they do that??

Thanks

Marty
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 8th June 2010, 17:03
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,752 Times in 2,582 Posts
Default

I don't know what upload speed you have booked, but in case you're not getting what you're paying, I'd call your ISP.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:

Last edited by falko; 9th June 2010 at 17:08.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 9th June 2010, 00:39
Toucan Toucan is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 479
Thanks: 78
Thanked 41 Times in 34 Posts
Default

I presume you're in the UK if you're looking at BT Rapid?

There's a couple of things to consider, how far you are from the exchange, the quality of the line etc.

Remember that regardless of which ISP you are with and what they potentially promise, the line from your house to the exchange is likely to run over a bt line if you're looking at copper service.

.. but, to give you an example, I'm about three miles from the exchange, my line is with BT but from the exchange onwards I hook up to an O2 service.

Up Speed: 2047 kbps
Down Speed: 5849 kbps

Although I subscribe to the O2 service, I believe they actually lease or resell the service from bethere.co.uk.

The pros are if you have an O2 mobile, they give you a reduced service taking it down to about 14 a month with a static IP.

The cons are it took me a week to convince them they could give me a reverse DNS lookup and they can only give you one static IP.

I'm considering moving to their parent bethere.co.uk who can provide more IPs and promise they don't impose traffic shaping etc. bethere has a service for about 24 a month. The only thing holding me back is I'll have to change all my DNS IPs...

It's worth your while asking BT to run a diagnostic on the line for you.

Hope this helps.

If anyone else knows any good UK ISPs I'd be interested.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 16th June 2010, 13:49
Rapid2214 Rapid2214 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 105
Thanks: 3
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

I live proberly 500 yards from the exchange, but only get 0.37 upload..
its adsl but im gonna give bt a bell and ask them about it...
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 24th September 2010, 18:26
sarumbear sarumbear is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Toucan View Post
I presume you're in the UK if you're looking at BT Rapid?

.. but, to give you an example, I'm about three miles from the exchange, my line is with BT but from the exchange onwards I hook up to an O2 service.

Up Speed: 2047 kbps
Down Speed: 5849 kbps
Wow!

I have never, ever heard an ADSL line to have such high upload rate? I don't want to be rude, but are you positive about that 2Mbps 'upload' rate? According to most ADSL definitions and BT, ADSL can support upto 800+Kbps.

Many thanks in adavance for your reply.

Riz
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 24th September 2010, 19:39
Toucan Toucan is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 479
Thanks: 78
Thanked 41 Times in 34 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sarumbear View Post
Wow!

I have never, ever heard an ADSL line to have such high upload rate? I don't want to be rude, but are you positive about that 2Mbps 'upload' rate? According to most ADSL definitions and BT, ADSL can support upto 800+Kbps.

Many thanks in adavance for your reply.

Riz
Sure I'm sure, the ratio feels about right.

Subnet Mask: 255.255.248.0
Gateway:
Primary DNS: 87.194.255.154
Secondary DNS: 87.194.255.155
MAC Address:
Up Speed: 2067 kbps
Down Speed: 6048 kbps
Multiplexing: LLC-BASED
VPI: 0
VCI 101

This is corroborated by internet speed tests.

But even on my home line which is BT similar distance with Sky at the exchange I get similar results.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 24th September 2010, 19:51
Toucan Toucan is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 479
Thanks: 78
Thanked 41 Times in 34 Posts
Default

Check out bethere.co.uk on their pro package over adsl. I believe they are the parent company for the o2 internet services. They boast up to 2.5 upload speed!

https://www.bethere.co.uk/web/beportal/bepro
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 27th September 2010, 01:05
sarumbear sarumbear is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Toucan View Post
Check out bethere.co.uk on their pro package over adsl. I believe they are the parent company for the o2 internet services. They boast up to 2.5 upload speed!

https://www.bethere.co.uk/web/beportal/bepro
Thank you for that. I didn't know that Annex M was offered in UK by anyone. It seems though that at present very few excahnges are capable of this and even fewer providers are offering this. Shame that this is not available for my location. It would have been nice to have two lines from BE and ask them to bond those lines.

Can you imagine 30Mbps download and 5Mbps uplad speeds? That is almost equal to an Ethernet connection for just 50/month!!!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem with services!! banzaiwebstudio.com Installation/Configuration 7 19th May 2010 22:13
SugarCRM Install on ISPConfig3 w/ SuPHP clucena Installation/Configuration 1 9th February 2010 10:29
Unable to install ISPConfig bdonecker Installation/Configuration 21 26th May 2009 09:20
ISP Config hesitation when opening web pages frankb Installation/Configuration 7 15th December 2008 14:06
help on /etc/rc0.d/K20dnsctl -> ../init.d/dnsctl zimele General 13 23rd August 2006 17:06


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 00:20.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.