#1  
Old 19th June 2008, 00:03
cruz cruz is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 365
Thanks: 51
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default error message in mail log

I just chaged from static ip with a adsl to comcast static ip. I went throught the setup from debian etch perfect setup guide for refrance and changed the ip address that was used with the dsl to the statics comcast gave me, (the dsl was a 192.168.1.155 address because I used portforwarding on my rouder)then I chaged the ips in ispconfig to my static comcast gave me. I connected the box to there modom/router and I can ping the sites and get the corect ip address, but the mail is giving me this error.
HTML Code:
status=deferred (Host or domain name not found. Name service error for name=domain.com type=MX: Host not found, try again)
When I did a dig mx domain.com i get this.
HTML Code:
server1:~# dig mx mysite4webhosting.com
;; reply from unexpected source: 75.XXX.XXX.214#53, expected 192.168.1.1#53
;; reply from unexpected source: 75.XXX.XXX.214#53, expected 192.168.1.1#53
;; reply from unexpected source: 75.XXX.XXX.214#53, expected 192.168.1.1#53
can some please help me? thanks you
P.S. I just noticed that after the dig command it tells me ( connection timed out; no servers could be reached) Sorry for missing this info. Also the server is on 213 not 214. 214 is comcast I guess gateway.

Last edited by cruz; 19th June 2008 at 00:11.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 19th June 2008, 16:52
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,743 Times in 2,577 Posts
Default

What's in your named.conf, and what's the output of
Code:
ifconfig
?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 19th June 2008, 18:13
cruz cruz is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 365
Thanks: 51
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default output

I changed the box back to a 192 168 #. I have setup a router to the comcast device.Here is the name config
HTML Code:
options {
        pid-file "/var/run/bind/run/named.pid";
        directory "/etc/bind";
        auth-nxdomain no;
        /*
         * If there is a firewall between you and nameservers you want
         * to talk to, you might need to uncomment the query-source
         * directive below.  Previous versions of BIND always asked
         * questions using port 53, but BIND 8.1 uses an unprivileged
         * port by default.
         */
        // query-source address * port 53;
};

//
// a caching only nameserver config
//
zone "." {
        type hint;
        file "db.root";
};

zone "0.0.127.in-addr.arpa" {
        type master;
        file "db.local";
};

zone "231.147.75.in-addr.arpa" {
        type master;
        file "pri.231.147.75.in-addr.arpa";
};


zone "stocktongoodsamaritan.org" {
        type master;
        file "pri.stocktongoodsamaritan.org";
};
zone "apostolichearts.com" {
        type master;
        file "pri.apostolichearts.com";
};
zone "mysite4webhosting.com" {
        type master;
        file "pri.mysite4webhosting.com";
};
ifconfig resuts
HTML Code:
/var/lib/named/etc/bind$ ifconfig
eth0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:01:80:5F:F0:4A  
          inet addr:192.168.1.45  Bcast:192.168.1.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
          inet6 addr: fe80::201:80ff:fe5f:f04a/64 Scope:Link
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:810 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:357 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000 
          RX bytes:66800 (65.2 KiB)  TX bytes:100614 (98.2 KiB)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 20th June 2008, 13:37
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,743 Times in 2,577 Posts
Default

This might help: http://archives.devshed.com/forums/n...e-1212423.html
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 21st June 2008, 00:42
cruz cruz is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 365
Thanks: 51
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
 
Default spoofing nameserver ip

HTML Code:
No, but you can spoof the IP addresses associated with your own
nameserver names by defining a master zone for each of those names, e.g.
the world may know ns1.example.com as x.x.x.x (the VIP address) but your
own nameservers could know it as y.y.y.y (because you have a
"ns1.example.com" master zone with a y.y.y.y A record at its apex) thus
bypassing the load-balancer and its troublesome NAT'ing behavior. It's a
bit kludgey, but I haven't come up with anything better yet
How do I go about spoofing the ip as he is talking about? Baby steps for my learning mind please. thanks
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
procmail can't write Hellbound General 27 8th June 2009 21:51
slow download through webserver problem snewp Technical 14 9th May 2008 05:25
Postfix reject connections gabrix Server Operation 27 25th January 2007 08:37
Core 4: Error Messages on Fresh Install re CTX/SSL jjw Installation/Configuration 30 6th September 2006 12:16
Virtual Users And Domains With Postfix, Courier And MySQL (+ SMTP-AUTH, Quota, SpamAs ebbay Installation/Configuration 9 4th March 2006 11:47


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 07:30.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.