Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 2 > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #31  
Old 24th February 2006, 20:42
ctroyp ctroyp is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 292
Thanks: 3
Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cpcpy
is it possible to install tomcat for the sites created using ISPConfig?
http://www.howtoforge.com/apache2_tomcat5_mod_jk
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #32  
Old 25th February 2006, 13:34
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,747 Times in 2,578 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cpcpy
i did a:
dig sub1.example.com @example.com
and i see that sub1.example.com resolves to the correct IP...

so what must i do to get things right?

(i need to be able to use sub1.example.com)
Do you want ot use sub1.example.com for a web site? If its A record points to the correct (public) IP address, then everything's fine.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 27th February 2006, 00:44
cpcpy cpcpy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 39
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ctroyp
thanks for the link
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 27th February 2006, 00:47
cpcpy cpcpy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 39
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by falko
Do you want ot use sub1.example.com for a web site? If its A record points to the correct (public) IP address, then everything's fine.
yes, that is what i'd like to do...

however it is not fine, because i can't ping sub1.example.com and i can't browse http://sub1.example.com

maybe i didn't create the host sub1.example.com correctly from ispconfig?
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 27th February 2006, 01:23
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,747 Times in 2,578 Posts
Default

Did you create an A record for sub1.example.com? You can test with
Code:
dig sub1.example.com
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old 27th February 2006, 06:37
cpcpy cpcpy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 39
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by falko
Did you create an A record for sub1.example.com? You can test with
Code:
dig sub1.example.com
digging it doesn't return me my IP address...


in my DNS manager, i have these settings:
=================

domain:
domain (soa) = example.com

options:
nameserver1 = example.com
nameserver2 = example.com

Records:
A record
ip-addresse = myipaddress
hostname = sub1

=================

currently my ISP is the authoritative server for my domain example.com
Reply With Quote
  #37  
Old 27th February 2006, 10:34
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,747 Times in 2,578 Posts
 
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cpcpy
currently my ISP is the authoritative server for my domain example.com
Then you must create the A record on your ISP's name server, not on the ISPConfig server.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 11:08.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.