Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 2 > General

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #61  
Old 3rd July 2008, 16:55
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,395
Thanks: 833
Thanked 5,490 Times in 4,322 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by karailiev View Post
Is this the only supported webmail?
You may use any webmail client that supports either pop3 or imap.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #62  
Old 3rd July 2008, 22:09
karailiev karailiev is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 13
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hi there!
I'm now testing ISPConfig 3.0.0.5 and have some questions.
My server has the address node1.xyz.com.
I'm trying to add new site.
So in the sites->domain section I create new record for the domain abc.com.
Now I need A records for the domain itself and for www.abc.com.

In the DNS section I add new zone:
Zone (SOA): abc.com
NS: node1.xyz.com
Xfer (IP): [blank]

After that I try to add some records to that zone:
Hostname: www
IP-Address: 123.123.123.123

How can I add A record for the domain itself?
When I try with Hostname: * it tells me it's invalid.
Am I doing something wrong?
When I try to resolve abc.com and www.abc.com I get the message: A record not found, server failure.
What is Xfer?

Any ideas?
Reply With Quote
  #63  
Old 3rd July 2008, 22:27
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,395
Thanks: 833
Thanked 5,490 Times in 4,322 Posts
Default

Add a A-Record:

Hostname: abc.com.
IP: 123.123.123.123

The relevant thing is the dot at the end of the hostname. With dot, it is a "absolute" domain name. Without the dot, it is a "relative" domain name which is prepended to the zone. e.g. www (without a dot) results in a A-Recoird for www.abc.com

This is the normal syntax which is also used by BIND.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #64  
Old 3rd July 2008, 23:55
Snowman Snowman is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 120
Thanks: 38
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by till View Post
If you have any success with it, please post the steps that you used to recompile it.
I will let you know .. (next week), i will try to recompile it.
Reply With Quote
  #65  
Old 4th July 2008, 12:38
karailiev karailiev is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 13
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by till View Post
Add a A-Record:

Hostname: abc.com.
IP: 123.123.123.123

The relevant thing is the dot at the end of the hostname. With dot, it is a "absolute" domain name. Without the dot, it is a "relative" domain name which is prepended to the zone. e.g. www (without a dot) results in a A-Recoird for www.abc.com

This is the normal syntax which is also used by BIND.
I've done this, but http://www.kloth.net/services/dig.php still have no answer section
Reply With Quote
  #66  
Old 4th July 2008, 13:44
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,395
Thanks: 833
Thanked 5,490 Times in 4,322 Posts
Default

Please use the dig command on the shell for testing:

dig @localhost abc.com

If you use any websirvice it may take up to 48 hours until the dns change might have propagated.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #67  
Old 4th July 2008, 13:52
karailiev karailiev is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 13
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by till View Post
Please use the dig command on the shell for testing:

dig @localhost abc.com

If you use any websirvice it may take up to 48 hours until the dns change might have propagated.

Code:
toster:~# dig @localhost daigraem.com

; <<>> DiG 9.3.4 <<>> @localhost daigraem.com
; (1 server found)
;; global options:  printcmd
;; Got answer:
;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: REFUSED, id: 7824
;; flags: qr rd; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 0, AUTHORITY: 0, ADDITIONAL: 0

;; QUESTION SECTION:
;daigraem.com.                  IN      A

;; Query time: 3 msec
;; SERVER: 127.0.0.1#53(127.0.0.1)
;; WHEN: Fri Jul  4 17:19:18 2008
;; MSG SIZE  rcvd: 30
Reply With Quote
  #68  
Old 4th July 2008, 17:04
Ben Ben is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,029
Thanks: 7
Thanked 62 Times in 56 Posts
Default

Maybe the problem that I did / do have with the VM I downloaded of ISPConfg 3.0.0.5.
Also there I got the refused-error, although the dns service was running -> see the bug mentioned...
Reply With Quote
  #69  
Old 9th July 2008, 21:54
maxwellb maxwellb is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Smile Also patiently waiting...

Also patiently waiting the production version. This is going to be great! Can hardly wait.

-Max
Reply With Quote
  #70  
Old 10th July 2008, 08:38
pakogah pakogah is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 56
Thanks: 13
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
 
Default features available?

does version 3 has mailinglist support? ezmlm / mailman??
and does it threat a sub-domain like a sub-domain not redirected url..

and is it going to have a automatic php script installer, like fantastico/installatron ??

many free webhosting provider like 000webhost and byethost have their 1-click-installer script similar to fantastico.
000webhost provide guidance, and deploy the file and database directly.
but byethost seems only extract the zip installer and user have to configure the script themself

I am prefer the way 000webhost do, not many script available but it can deploy the files and database for the script automatically

my suggestion scripts that available on 1-click-installer for ispconfig are
CMS=Joomla
Blog=Wordpress
Forum=phpBB3
Gallery=Coppermine

just an idea, thank you for your attention.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ISPConfig 2.2.15 released till General 32 24th August 2007 10:37
ISPConfig 2.3.2-dev released till General 9 4th June 2007 10:46
ISPConfig 2.2.12 released till General 24 24th May 2007 17:45
ISPConfig 2.2.10 Beta available till General 8 20th February 2007 21:53
ISPConfig remoting plugin Beta 2 released till General 14 29th April 2006 14:13


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 02:09.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.