Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 2 > General

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #41  
Old 30th June 2008, 19:40
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,678
Thanks: 819
Thanked 5,318 Times in 4,171 Posts
Default

The error says that mydns tries to connect with the IP 86.110.225.80 and not the hostname, this will result in this error. You must enter the hostname of the mysql server when you install ISPConfig and not the IP address of the server. A reinstallation of the server is not needed.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to till For This Useful Post:
Snowman (30th June 2008)
Sponsored Links
  #42  
Old 30th June 2008, 19:44
Snowman Snowman is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 117
Thanks: 38
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

i noticed that in /etc/mydns.conf is :

db-host = prd.sk # SQL server hostname
db-user = ispconfig # SQL server username
db-password = password # SQL server password
database = dbispconfig # MyDNS database name

why the host is prd.sk ? It should be ns.prd.sk , because i dont want to have records in mysql of prf.sk (frontend), but on the ns.prd.sk (DNS node).
Am I right ?

This probably causes error in installation :
mydns[7818]: Error connecting to MySQL server at prd.sk: Access denied for user 'ispconfig'@'86.110.225.80' (using password: YES) (errno=0)
Reply With Quote
  #43  
Old 30th June 2008, 19:47
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,678
Thanks: 819
Thanked 5,318 Times in 4,171 Posts
Default

Quote:
why the host is prd.sk ? It should be ns.prd.sk , because i dont want to have records in mysql of prf.sk (frontend), but on the ns.prd.sk (DNS node).
Am I right ?
No. The database server is the frontend, so you must enter the hostname of the database server of the frontend and not the hostname of the nameserver itself. Remember that this server shall join the frontend server, so you must enter the hostname of the frontend server as database server.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to till For This Useful Post:
Snowman (30th June 2008)
  #44  
Old 30th June 2008, 20:03
Snowman Snowman is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 117
Thanks: 38
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

MySQL server hostname [localhost]: prd.sk
MySQL root username [root]:
MySQL root password []: password
MySQL database to create [dbispconfig]:

prd.sk its there
Reply With Quote
  #45  
Old 30th June 2008, 23:30
Snowman Snowman is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 117
Thanks: 38
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by till View Post
No. The database server is the frontend, so you must enter the hostname of the database server of the frontend and not the hostname of the nameserver itself. Remember that this server shall join the frontend server, so you must enter the hostname of the frontend server as database server.
Sorry but I think we dont understand eachother.
I try to explain situation as simple as it can be explained.
so :
1/ we have 2 servers : a) DNS server node (ns.prd.sk - 86.110.225.80) b) frontend server node (prd.sk - 81.89.49.123)

we want to join ns.prd.sk to prd.sk ispconfig.
We normally install Standard installation on frontend server node (prd.sk), then we select Expert mode installation on DNS server node (ns.prd.sk).

Every node have /etc/hosts like this :
127.0.0.1 localhost
86.110.225.80 ns.prd.sk ns
81.89.49.123 prd.sk

Node 1: (frontend server node - prd.sk)
Standard installation
MySQL server hostname [localhost]: localhost ----> hostname
MySQL root username [root]: root
MySQL root password []: mysqlpassword
MySQL database to create [dbispconfig]: dbispconfig
Create a new database? (We do not want to join a existing ISPConfig server setup) (y,n) [y]: y
.. with ISPConfig istallation : y .

Node 2: (DNS server node - ns.prd.sk)
Expert installation
MySQL server hostname [localhost]: prd.sk ----> hostname
MySQL root username [root]: root
MySQL root password []: mysqlpassword
MySQL database to create [dbispconfig]: dbispconfig
Create a new database? (We do not want to join a existing ISPConfig server setup) (y,n) [y]: n
.. we only select "y" at "Configure DNS Server (y,n)" question.

Am I right ? After this setup everything should be OK. I think this is base of our discussion.
Thanks (very very very ) for help.

Snowman
Reply With Quote
  #46  
Old 1st July 2008, 08:46
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,678
Thanks: 819
Thanked 5,318 Times in 4,171 Posts
Default

Yes, this should work. I just tried it again on my test server and it works for me. Please double check that ns.prd.sk is listed in the /etc/hosts file of the server prd.sk and that prd.sk is listed in the hosts file of ns.prd.sk.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to till For This Useful Post:
Snowman (1st July 2008)
  #47  
Old 1st July 2008, 10:00
Snowman Snowman is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 117
Thanks: 38
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by till View Post
Yes, this should work. I just tried it again on my test server and it works for me. Please double check that ns.prd.sk is listed in the /etc/hosts file of the server prd.sk and that prd.sk is listed in the hosts file of ns.prd.sk.
Thank you. I will try to reinstall it whole and install it how I described upper.
Let you know.

Nice day,
Snow
Reply With Quote
  #48  
Old 1st July 2008, 14:11
Snowman Snowman is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 117
Thanks: 38
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

Dear Till,
everything is clear to me now but i have some questions ..

mysql comunication between nodes .. its plain text ?
as I know default apt-get install mysql does not support ssl.

password for user ispconfig is generated or it is same for all nodes and users ?
(Just want to be sure)

when I Expert install ns.prd.sk and join it to front end server /etc/mydns.conf is rewriten : user is ispconfig and db is dbispconfig on mysql server (hosted by frontend server)
So i have an ns.prd.sk DNS server which is connected through mysql to database on frontendserver. What will happen when i turn off mysql of frontend server? Will DNS server be able to run and distribute records of domains ?
Reply With Quote
  #49  
Old 1st July 2008, 18:28
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,678
Thanks: 819
Thanked 5,318 Times in 4,171 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Snowman View Post
mysql comunication between nodes .. its plain text ?
as I know default apt-get install mysql does not support ssl.
To get SSL support, you will have to recompile Mysql.

Quote:
password for user ispconfig is generated or it is same for all nodes and users ?
No. Every node gets its own login.

Quote:
when I Expert install ns.prd.sk and join it to front end server /etc/mydns.conf is rewriten : user is ispconfig and db is dbispconfig on mysql server (hosted by frontend server)
So i have an ns.prd.sk DNS server which is connected through mysql to database on frontendserver. What will happen when i turn off mysql of frontend server? Will DNS server be able to run and distribute records of domains ?
If you shut down the mysql server, the dns server will go offline too. To avoid this, you can use mysql master > slave replication. Configure a slaver server on the dns node and then change the mydns.conf file to connsct to the local slave server. The nodes that do not run a frontend need just read only access to the database.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to till For This Useful Post:
Snowman (1st July 2008)
  #50  
Old 1st July 2008, 20:18
Snowman Snowman is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 117
Thanks: 38
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
 
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by till View Post
If you shut down the mysql server, the dns server will go offline too. To avoid this, you can use mysql master > slave replication. Configure a slaver server on the dns node and then change the mydns.conf file to connsct to the local slave server. The nodes that do not run a frontend need just read only access to the database.
I hoped multiserver management in Ispconfig 3 is focused to avoid the server failitures and damages. It doesnt make no sense to devide DNS server from frontend server because now you cant prevent any failiture.
When DNS server will be as service down. DNS record will not be distributed.
When Frontend server will be down also DNS record will not be distributed.

Dont you think it will be great if DNS server will be devided from frontend as database but it can be managed from frontend.
I hope we understand each other .. my eng. is not good as i want to .

Have a nice day,
Snowman
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ISPConfig 2.2.15 released till General 32 24th August 2007 10:37
ISPConfig 2.3.2-dev released till General 9 4th June 2007 10:46
ISPConfig 2.2.12 released till General 24 24th May 2007 17:45
ISPConfig 2.2.10 Beta available till General 8 20th February 2007 21:53
ISPConfig remoting plugin Beta 2 released till General 14 29th April 2006 14:13


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 04:52.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.