Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Linux Forums > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 17th May 2010, 11:16
carbonr carbonr is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default ISPconfig 3 with Ubuntu 9.04 Jauntix

I followed the guide on your website to install ISPconfig 3 on my VPS server and everything went fine except im not able to access ISPconfig using my domain name or IP address.

Please help me configure my Domain with my VPShosting.
I have only the IP address of the VPShosting and nothing else like cname etc.
The domain was bought from Yahoo.com

My VPS is unmanaged and the company is not offering any kind of help.

from here on "mydomain.com" == replaced with my original domain name
I bought this domain from yahoo and used A-Record of the domain to point it to my VPS server's IP address

When I was following your guide used "server1.mydomain.com" instead of server1.example.com and everything went fine.

when i type
Code:
hostname -f
I get sps-p11p.asbs.yahoodns.net

can anyone help me redirect my domain and help me access my ISP install.

The hosting company told me install bind (named) to get my domain pointing right.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 18th May 2010, 10:30
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,741 Times in 2,575 Posts
Default

Can you check if server1.mydomain.com points to the right IP address? You can do that by running
Code:
dig server1.mydomain.com
Also, please run
Code:
echo server1.mydomain.com > /etc/hostname
/etc/init.d/hostname.sh start
hostname -f should then show server1.mydomain.com.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 18th May 2010, 19:45
carbonr carbonr is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by falko View Post
Can you check if server1.mydomain.com points to the right IP address? You can do that by running
Code:
dig server1.mydomain.com
invalid command dig

Also, please run
Code:
echo server1.mydomain.com > /etc/hostname
/etc/init.d/hostname.sh start
hostname -f should then show server1.mydomain.com.
after this command it still shows
sbs-p11p.asbs.yahoodns.net

--
may be you can help with the correct steps if i have a VPS unmanaged with CentOS / Ubuntu 9.04 (whichever we need) and a domain name from yahoo.

as for the VPS i have the main ip, ssh ip, the username and password and nothing else

yahoo domain i have access to the control panel and i can change A-Record, Cname and stuff like this.

Can you help from the start on what to do and how to connect the domain to the hosting and the rest.

Thank you so much. This will be very helpful for me and many others.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 19th May 2010, 18:55
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,741 Times in 2,575 Posts
Default

Which virtualization technique is being used? It's possible that the hostname is set on the host and cannot be changed from within the VPS.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 19th May 2010, 21:23
carbonr carbonr is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Default

i dont which virtualization is being used.

I will cleary state the facts and then maybe you can help

1. VPS Hosting
canada based CARAT hosting - unmanaged hosting without cpanel
They gave me IP, SSH IP, username, passwords for all of these!
They give me option to reinstall OS in the VPS control panel
CentOS / Ubuntu / Fedora are the choices i got.
No domain name included in the package

2. Domain name i bought using yahoo, since it was cheaper.
I have username and password for the domain control panel


I want to add my domain to my VPS hosting and install FTP and MySQL and if possible a opensource control panel also

can you guide me from here?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
bind, ispconfig, vps hosting, yahoo domain

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ubuntu 8 LTS Server ISPCONFIG t.roijers General 12 26th April 2008 11:15
Ubuntu 7.04 with Ispconfig - The URL is not reachable! shellNewbie HOWTO-Related Questions 7 5th September 2007 14:14
ISPConfig 2.3.2-dev released till General 9 4th June 2007 10:46
ISPconfig on Ubuntu: Upgrading Breezy to Dapper Clogboy General 6 22nd February 2007 21:32
Ubuntu update from 5.10 to 6.06 - its allok for ispconfig? adrenalinic General 2 10th June 2006 20:28


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 14:03.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.