#1  
Old 6th February 2006, 07:03
bosei bosei is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 38
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Question Garbled dns queries

I have very recently been experiencing these errors when tryiny to do name lookups:


# nslookup

> 62.x.x.x
nslookup: couldn't get address for '(L???K???
?': not found
# nslookup

> Default Server: ns0.domain.com
nslookup: couldn't get address for '???????+'': not found
#
--------------------------------------------------------------------

The above garbled response is from a FC4/ispconfig setup.

Answers from a remote pc seem to suggest the name service on the FC4/ispconfig server is doing it's job:

# nslookup

> domain.com
Server: 192.168.0.1
Address: 192.168.0.1#53

Non-authoritative answer:
domain.com nameserver = ns1.domain.com.
domain.com nameserver = ns0.domain.com.

Authoritative answers can be found from:
ns0.domain.com internet address = 213.x.x.x
ns1.domain.com internet address = 213.x.x.x
> set type=any
> server ns0.domain.com
Default server: ns0.domain.com
Address: 213.x.x.x#53

> 62.x.x.x
Server: ns0.domain.com
Address: 213.x.x.x#53

Non-authoritative answer:
Name: host.domain2.ltd.uk
Address: 62.x.x.x

Authoritative answers can be found from:
domain2.ltd.uk nameserver = ns0.demon.co.uk.
domain2.ltd.uk nameserver = ns1.demon.co.uk.
domain.ltd.uk nameserver = ns2.demon.net.
ns2.demon.net internet address = 209.246.126.109
> 62.x.x.x
Server: ns0.domain.com
Address: 213.x.x.x#53

Non-authoritative answer:
x.x.x.62.in-addr.arpa name = host.domain2.ltd.uk.

Authoritative answers can be found from:
x.x.x.62.in-addr.arpa nameserver = ns0.demon.co.uk.
x.x.x.62.in-addr.arpa nameserver = ns1.demon.co.uk.
x.x.x.62.in-addr.arpa nameserver = ns2.demon.net.
ns2.demon.net internet address = 209.246.126.109
> 213.x.x.x
Server: ns0.domain.com
Address: 213.x.x.x#53

x.x.x.213.in-addr.arpa name = ns0.netexconsultants.com.
x.x.x.213.in-addr.arpa name = www.netexconsultants.com.
x.x.x.213.in-addr.arpa name = netexconsultants.com.
> ns0.domain.com
Server: ns0.domain.com
Address: 213.x.x.x#53

Name: ns0.domain.com
Address: 213.x.x.x
> ns1.domain.com
Server: ns0.domain.com
Address: 213.x.x.x#53

Name: ns1.domain.com
Address: 213.x.x.x
> set query=HINFO
> ns0.domain.com
Server: ns0.domain.com
Address: 213.x.x.x#53

*** Can't find ns0.netexconsultants.com: No answer
> ns1.domain.com
Server: ns0.domain.com
Address: 213.x.x.x#53

*** Can't find ns1.domain.com: No answer
> 213.x.x.x
Server: ns0.domain.com
Address: 213.x.x.x#53
----------------------------------------------------

DNS Report link:
I have sent pm to falko and till with correct ip's and dnsreport links to see if you can help me.

The links report on the 2 domains I have on the ispconfig installation. Any ideas or help?

Thanks
bosei
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 6th February 2006, 11:00
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,749 Times in 2,579 Posts
Default

What's in /etc/resolv.conf?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 6th February 2006, 12:04
bosei bosei is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 38
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by falko
What's in /etc/resolv.conf?
HTML Code:
[root@ns0 ~]# tail /etc/resolv.conf
nameserver ns0.domain.com
nameserver ns1.domain.com
; generated by /sbin/dhclient-script
search domain.com
domain domain.com
[root@ns0 ~]#
It looks okay to (the untrained eye) me
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 6th February 2006, 12:32
lerra lerra is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 77
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

use ipadress insted of domainnames
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 6th February 2006, 14:20
bosei bosei is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 38
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lerra
use ipadress insted of domainnames
Not quite sure what you mean?..
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 6th February 2006, 14:34
lerra lerra is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 77
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

nameserver ns0.domain.com
nameserver ns1.domain.com


You cant give dns name to a dns server, how shud the server know what ns0.domain.com have for ipadress if that hostname is the dns server? Do you know what i'm trying to explain?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 6th February 2006, 15:18
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,749 Times in 2,579 Posts
Default

lerra is right. Put this into /etc/resolv.conf:
Code:
nameserver 145.253.2.75
nameserver 193.174.32.18
nameserver 194.25.0.60
and remove
Code:
nameserver ns0.domain.com
nameserver ns1.domain.com
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 6th February 2006, 23:26
bosei bosei is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 38
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lerra
nameserver ns0.domain.com
nameserver ns1.domain.com


You cant give dns name to a dns server, how shud the server know what ns0.domain.com have for ipadress if that hostname is the dns server? Do you know what i'm trying to explain?
Code:
lerra is right. Put this into /etc/resolv.conf:
Code:

nameserver 145.253.2.75
nameserver 193.174.32.18
nameserver 194.25.0.60

and remove
Code:

nameserver ns0.domain.com nameserver ns1.domain.com

__________________
Falko
-----
www.falkotimme.com
Ahhh... the penny drops.

Thanks guys. That has certainly done ther trick. Once again, thanks for the speedy and accurate responses on this forum. Roll-on ISPConfig 3.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 6th February 2006, 23:29
bosei bosei is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 38
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Default resolved: Garbled dns queries

Quote:
Originally Posted by lerra
nameserver ns0.domain.com
nameserver ns1.domain.com


You cant give dns name to a dns server, how shud the server know what ns0.domain.com have for ipadress if that hostname is the dns server? Do you know what i'm trying to explain?
Code:
lerra is right. Put this into /etc/resolv.conf:
Code:

nameserver 145.253.2.75
nameserver 193.174.32.18
nameserver 194.25.0.60

and remove
Code:

nameserver ns0.domain.com nameserver ns1.domain.com

__________________
Falko
-----
www.falkotimme.com
Ahhh... the penny drops.

Thanks guys. That has certainly done ther trick. Once again, thanks for the speedy and accurate responses on this forum. Roll-on ISPConfig 3.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
mysql error at Stage 4 in Debian 3.1 drbista Installation/Configuration 14 11th November 2005 11:36


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 22:29.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.