Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Linux Forums > HOWTO-Related Questions

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 6th June 2008, 04:37
comicrage comicrage is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Need help installing Centos 5.1 on VMWare Server

I downloaded the latest vmware server and added a Red Hat Virtual Machine.
I detected the Centos 5.1 DVD in my drive and started to install. However, it gives an error that "No harddrive can be found, Do you want to manually pick it now...." I selected Yes and look at all the driver and don't know how to fix the error for not finding the harddrive even though I made sure that a virual harddrive 12.0 GB was added.

I have a WD 500 MB IDE drive installed today to create several VMs.

Any help is greatly appreciated... I am new on VMware and trying to learn.

Thanks,

JOhn
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 7th June 2008, 10:49
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,744 Times in 2,577 Posts
Default

VMware adds a SCSI drive by default to virtual machines, but this is not recognized by some Fedora/CentOS versions. Remove the VMware SCSI drive and add a normal IDE drive instead.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to falko For This Useful Post:
pg001 (25th July 2008)
  #3  
Old 25th July 2008, 06:22
pg001 pg001 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 67
Thanks: 8
Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by falko View Post
VMware adds a SCSI drive by default to virtual machines, but this is not recognized by some Fedora/CentOS versions. Remove the VMware SCSI drive and add a normal IDE drive instead.
How do we go about this then? how do we remove VMWare SCSI drive?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 26th July 2008, 11:07
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,744 Times in 2,577 Posts
 
Default

In the settings of the vm, you can add and remove hardware.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to falko For This Useful Post:
pg001 (27th July 2008)
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Getting e-mail working hansoffate Installation/Configuration 29 13th August 2008 16:33
Centos 5.1 Virtual Mail Server Issues tmaleshafske HOWTO-Related Questions 7 19th February 2008 05:34
Can CentOS 5 run as guest OS on VMWare server satimis Installation/Configuration 9 8th October 2007 14:39
VMWARE server 1.0.3 from 1.0.1 gone bad rjn456 Installation/Configuration 2 13th June 2007 08:13
SuSE as master DNS server and Centos as slave DNS server... sthompson Server Operation 3 17th September 2006 13:24


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 15:21.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.