#1  
Old 26th May 2008, 21:44
Mola-4-Speed Mola-4-Speed is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Samba - DHCP Server?

Hey there,

I am trying to set up the following network:
I have a Firewall (Endian) that is the DHCP server. Connected to this firewall is a switch with a couple win-xp-pc's and the ubuntu (7.1/samba) server.

________________________________x--->Linux Server (w/ Samba)
________________________________x--->Win XP Pc 1
Internet -> Endian Firewall -> Switch x--->Win XP Pc 2
________________________________x--->Win XP Pc 3
________________________________x--->Win XP Pc 4

My general question is: Do I have to enable DHCP on my linux server or do I give it a fixed IP? I read in some tutorial that a server should always have a fixed IP, is that true? If so, do I configure my firewall (DHCP server) so that the linux sever has a fixed lease? Do I have to create a host-file somewhere? *confused*... :/

Thanks for help!
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 27th May 2008, 18:10
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,741 Times in 2,575 Posts
Default

I'd give the server a fixed IP address; otherwise, the IP could change, and then the clients can't connect...

I'd configure the fixed IP address as shown in chapter 7 on http://www.howtoforge.com/perfect_server_ubuntu7.10_p3
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 27th May 2008, 20:21
Mola-4-Speed Mola-4-Speed is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

thanks for the reply.

I followed that tutorial and thus have the same settings. But maybe you could explain them a little to me, that might be helpful...

iface eth0 inet static
address 192.168.0.100
netmask 255.255.255.0
network 192.168.0.0
broadcast 192.168.0.255
gateway 192.168.0.1

address=samba address?
network=192.168.1.xx?
broadcast=?
gateway=?

I gave the samba a fixed IP and configured the dhcp so that the samba also has a fixed lease.

My problem right now: I can ping the samba from the workstations and can even access the data thru start > run, I just can't change the settings from workgroup to domain (when I enter my domain I get asked for a username and a password, but no matter what I enter I get a "can't connect" message).

thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 28th May 2008, 16:33
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,741 Times in 2,575 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mola-4-Speed View Post
thanks for the reply.

I followed that tutorial and thus have the same settings. But maybe you could explain them a little to me, that might be helpful...

iface eth0 inet static
address 192.168.0.100
netmask 255.255.255.0
network 192.168.0.0
broadcast 192.168.0.255
gateway 192.168.0.1

address=samba address?
network=192.168.1.xx?
broadcast=?
gateway=?

I gave the samba a fixed IP and configured the dhcp so that the samba also has a fixed lease.
You can use www.subnetmask.info to find the correct values for your subnet.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mola-4-Speed View Post
My problem right now: I can ping the samba from the workstations and can even access the data thru start > run, I just can't change the settings from workgroup to domain (when I enter my domain I get asked for a username and a password, but no matter what I enter I get a "can't connect" message).

thanks!
Are there any errors in your logs?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10th August 2008, 06:49
ryazkhan ryazkhan is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: US
Posts: 18
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via Skype™ to ryazkhan
 
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mola-4-Speed View Post
thanks for the reply.

I followed that tutorial and thus have the same settings. But maybe you could explain them a little to me, that might be helpful...

iface eth0 inet static
address 192.168.0.100
netmask 255.255.255.0
network 192.168.0.0
broadcast 192.168.0.255
gateway 192.168.0.1

address=samba address?
network=192.168.1.xx?
broadcast=?
gateway=?

I gave the samba a fixed IP and configured the dhcp so that the samba also has a fixed lease.

My problem right now: I can ping the samba from the workstations and can even access the data thru start > run, I just can't change the settings from workgroup to domain (when I enter my domain I get asked for a username and a password, but no matter what I enter I get a "can't connect" message).

thanks!
look like you have setup samba just for file sharing and now you want to join machines to it
follow this for complete setup and make changes to your configs where needed www.freetech.selfip.info/samba.php
__________________
-------------
Ryaz Khan
-------------
My Website
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OpenLDAP + Samba Domain Controller On Ubuntu 7.10 E1sbaer HOWTO-Related Questions 3 7th May 2008 18:41
Public and private network + High Availability Apache Cluster teleted HOWTO-Related Questions 11 28th January 2008 14:29
Problems with Postfix Mysql Courier PatrickAdrichem Installation/Configuration 3 13th April 2007 15:44
ispconfig and mambo shajazzi Installation/Configuration 70 28th March 2006 19:29
Mail not working Roadracer Installation/Configuration 16 30th December 2005 23:40


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 08:25.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.