Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Linux Forums > HOWTO-Related Questions

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 2nd February 2006, 13:42
davidtere davidtere is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 12
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default ISP-Server Setup.Ubuntu 5.10

Hi,

I dont' have any public ip.

I want to know that if I try to connect with my isp-server ubuntu 5.10 from
Internet, what address ip I have to put to see it.?

I can sign in in a page (for instance dyndns) and I could put in the browser for instance : myhost.dyndns.org and I could visit my web.?

Thanks

Sorry for my english
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 2nd February 2006, 16:32
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,381
Thanks: 833
Thanked 5,482 Times in 4,316 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by davidtere

I dont' have any public ip.

I want to know that if I try to connect with my isp-server ubuntu 5.10 from
Internet, what address ip I have to put to see it.?
If you have a internet connection, you have a public IP at your router. This may be changing from time to time (dynamic IP) but it is a valid public internet IP. You will have to forward the ports of services you want to reach from the internet to the local IP of your ubuntu server. E.g. port 80 and 443 for the webserver.

Quote:
I can sign in in a page (for instance dyndns) and I could put in the browser for instance : myhost.dyndns.org and I could visit my web.?
Yes, you can do that. If you forwarded the ports from your router to the IP of your ubuntu server and create a website myhost.dyndns.org in ISPConfig.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 2nd February 2006, 20:38
davidtere davidtere is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 12
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

thank you very much,
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 3rd February 2006, 17:52
davidtere davidtere is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 12
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Another problem

Hi,

I can't install proftpd.

It says that not find the proftpd.

Could you say me other repository where I can install with apt-get?

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 3rd February 2006, 18:04
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,381
Thanks: 833
Thanked 5,482 Times in 4,316 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by davidtere
I can't install proftpd.
It says that not find the proftpd.
Could you say me other repository where I can install with apt-get?
proftpd is available on all mirrors. If apt cant find it, your sources list is incorrect.

1) Please compare your /etc/apt/sources.list with the sample on this page:

http://www.howtoforge.com/perfect_setup_ubuntu_5.10_p3

make sure that the universe repositories are enabled.

2) Run:

apt-get update

and try again to install proftpd.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 3rd February 2006, 18:04
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,743 Times in 2,577 Posts
Default

What does your /etc/apt/sources.list look like?
What happens when you run
Code:
apt-get install proftpd proftpd-common ucf
?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12th February 2006, 11:25
davidtere davidtere is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 12
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hi again,

I've installed all the guide.

I can't connect to the ISPconfig program.

I put in the browser https://www.my_ip_address:81 but the browser says me that it's couldn't find it

Anyone helps me?

Thank very much,
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12th February 2006, 12:15
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,381
Thanks: 833
Thanked 5,482 Times in 4,316 Posts
Default

Did you get any errors during ISPConfig installation?
Did you get any errors when you execute:

/etc/init.d/ispconfig_server start

If starting the ispconfig server does not solve your problem, please post the output of:

netstat -tap
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12th February 2006, 12:55
davidtere davidtere is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 12
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hi,

When I startup the ispconfig it doesn't put me any error.

The output of netstat -tap:



Active Internet connections (servers and established)
Proto Recv-Q Send-Q Local Address Foreign Address State PID/Program name
tcp 0 0 localhost.localdo:32770 *:* LISTEN 6993/hpiod
tcp 0 0 localhost.localdo:32771 *:* LISTEN 7039/python
tcp 0 0 localhost.localdo:mysql *:* LISTEN 7249/mysqld
tcp 0 0 *:81 *:* LISTEN 7876/ispconfig_http
tcp 0 0 *:ftp *:* LISTEN 8063/proftpd: (acce
tcp 0 0 server1.example.:domain *:* LISTEN 8047/named
tcp 0 0 localhost.locald:domain *:* LISTEN 8047/named
tcp 0 0 localhost.localdoma:ipp *:* LISTEN 6966/cupsd
tcp 0 0 localhost.localdoma:953 *:* LISTEN 8047/named
tcp 0 0 *:smtp *:* LISTEN 8013/master
tcp 1 0 server1.example.c:42018 h7252.serverkompete:www CLOSE_WAIT 7801/firefox-bin
tcp 0 0 server1.example.c:35324 red.as-eu.falkag.ne:www TIME_WAIT -
tcp 0 0 server1.example.c:35319 red.as-eu.falkag.ne:www TIME_WAIT -
tcp 0 0 localhost.localdoma:ipp localhost.localdo:52911 ESTABLISHED6966/cupsd
tcp 0 0 server1.example.c:54104 213.254.204.162:www ESTABLISHED7801/firefox-bin
tcp 0 0 localhost.localdo:47869 localhost.localdo:32770 ESTABLISHED7039/python
tcp 0 0 localhost.localdo:52911 localhost.localdoma:ipp ESTABLISHED7769/gnome-cups-ico
tcp 0 0 localhost.localdo:32770 localhost.localdo:47869 ESTABLISHED6993/hpiod
tcp6 0 0 *:imaps *:* LISTEN 7127/couriertcpd
tcp6 0 0 *op3s *:* LISTEN 7168/couriertcpd
tcp6 0 0 *op3 *:* LISTEN 7145/couriertcpd
tcp6 0 0 *:imap2 *:* LISTEN 7104/couriertcpd
tcp6 0 0 *:www *:* LISTEN 7914/apache2
tcp6 0 0 *:ssh *:* LISTEN 7559/sshd
tcp6 0 0 ip6-localhost:953 *:* LISTEN 8047/named
tcp6 0 0 *:https *:* LISTEN 7914/apache2

thank you very much,
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12th February 2006, 14:17
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,381
Thanks: 833
Thanked 5,482 Times in 4,316 Posts
 
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by davidtere
I put in the browser https://www.my_ip_address:81 but the browser says me that it's couldn't find it
Sorry, i didnt read your post closely enough. The login must be:

https://my_ip_address:81/ without the "www".

Example:

https://192.168.0.100:81/
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
server blocked/stopped by host Ovidiu Technical 11 14th February 2006 10:50
Mail not working Roadracer Installation/Configuration 16 30th December 2005 23:40
Email - Ueb-Miau mazhar Installation/Configuration 5 21st December 2005 10:01
Server Not Autorative for Domain Error drbista Installation/Configuration 10 20th December 2005 16:41
The Perfect Setup Suse 9.3 - Postfix problems new_bee05 HOWTO-Related Questions 20 25th November 2005 02:30


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 04:18.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.