Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Linux Forums > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 7th February 2006, 19:42
dutchman dutchman is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Loveland, OH
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Following Perfect Setup Fedora 4 Proftpd Fails on start

We are trying to install proftpd

We built a Fedora Core 4 box. It was working great until we tried to use FTP (vsftpd). It would not permit a upload. Downloads worked fine.

We could not get it to work so we decided to try proftpd. We followed the Perfect Setup - Fedora Core 4 from FalkoTimme.com.

We jumped to the proftpd setup page. The yum install seemd to work with no problems. The

chkconfig --levels 235 proftpd on returned No errors.

We then attempted the start and it fails every try.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 7th February 2006, 21:14
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,735 Times in 2,571 Posts
Default

Do you get error messages when you try to start ProFTPd?

Please post the output of
Code:
netstat -tap
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 9th February 2006, 13:24
dutchman dutchman is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Loveland, OH
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default proftp

falko,

We used yum to un-install proftpd. We then use yum to install and it will now start. However, we are having a permissions problem.

We can FTP to the server. We can transfer a file from the server to our remote work station. However, we can not transfer from our work station to the server. We have been combing all of the articles about insatlling and configuring PROFTPD but have been unsuccessful. I will attach the results of the netstat -tap although I am assuming that is no longer necessary.

Thanks for your help.

Dutchman
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 9th February 2006, 13:25
dutchman dutchman is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Loveland, OH
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Oops! proftpd

I forgot to attach the netstat

[root@crosnetmon03 pam.d]# netstat -tap
Active Internet connections (servers and established)
Proto Recv-Q Send-Q Local Address Foreign Address State PID/Program name
tcp 0 0 *:32769 *:* LISTEN 1568/rpc.statd
tcp 0 0 *:sunrpc *:* LISTEN 1550/portmap
tcp 0 0 *:ftp *:* LISTEN 4614/proftpd: (acce
tcp 0 0 *:ssh *:* LISTEN 1949/sshd
tcp 0 0 localhost:ipp *:* LISTEN 1896/cupsd
tcp 0 0 localhost:5335 *:* LISTEN 1861/mDNSResponder
tcp 0 0 localhost:smtp *:* LISTEN 2008/sendmail: acce
[root@crosnetmon03 pam.d]#
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 9th February 2006, 21:37
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,735 Times in 2,571 Posts
 
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dutchman
We can FTP to the server. We can transfer a file from the server to our remote work station. However, we can not transfer from our work station to the server. We have been combing all of the articles about insatlling and configuring PROFTPD but have been unsuccessful. I will attach the results of the netstat -tap although I am assuming that is no longer necessary.
Please post the output of
Code:
ls -la /path/to/ftp_directory
and also, as which user you're logging in with FTP.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
IMAP doesn't work..as i followed the Perfect Setup for Fedora 4 asokaajay Server Operation 11 10th June 2007 14:57
Perfect Setup - Fedora Core 3 - saslauthd problem Median Installation/Configuration 28 29th January 2006 18:51
Fedora Core 4 - The Perfect Setup nandhu HOWTO-Related Questions 27 10th January 2006 12:23
Few questions about Fedora core 4 perfect setup + mantasman HOWTO-Related Questions 3 9th January 2006 22:22
The Perfect Setup Fedora Core 4 Proftpd error Nu2Linux HOWTO-Related Questions 3 29th October 2005 20:26


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 21:29.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.