#1  
Old 8th May 2008, 21:15
catdude catdude is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 178
Thanks: 1
Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts
Default Error adding MX record

I'm running ISPConfig 2.2.13 on Debian Sarge. I've got several hundred customers/domains running, for the most part smoothly.

One of my customers is asking that I modify his MX records to point to a machine other than ISPConfig. We are doing this for several other customers as well - we offer a service called Premium Spam Control, and several of our customers have their e-mail filtered through PSC.

When configuring mail this way, we set the MX records to point to rb.<our domain>.com and fr.<our domain>.com. No problem - as I said, we are doing that for several customers. This latest customer, though, is a problem. When I set up an MX record for fr at priority 30, the record is accepted. When I attempt to add an MX record for rb at priority 20, I get an error reading " This or a similar MX Record does already exist in this zone." Examining the MX records for this domain does not show any MX records other than the one pointing to fr. I have emptied the Admin recycle bin and the reseller level recycle bin.

I tried looking through the database records, but I haven't yet figured out which tables link the dns_mx table to the other required tables.

Can someone document for me how the dns_mx table links to the other tables that get involved here? I'm familiar with tracing info through isp_isp_domain, isp_dep, etc, I'm just not sure what tables to use and what fields tie them together in the case of DNS issues.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 9th May 2008, 14:55
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,711
Thanks: 1,899
Thanked 2,702 Times in 2,545 Posts
Default

The other important tables in this matter are dns_dep, dns_nodes, and dns_isp_dns.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 9th May 2008, 15:47
catdude catdude is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 178
Thanks: 1
Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts
Default

Thanks, that's what I needed!

Here's what I've found by digging into the tables.

The domain in question has two entries in dns_dep with doctype_id of 1020: child_doc_id of 2061 and child_doc_id of 3377. Going in to dns_mx:
mysql> select * from dns_mx where doc_id = 2061 \G
*************************** 1. row ***************************
doc_id: 2061
doctype_id: 1020
host:
prioritaet: 30
mailserver: rb.<our domain>.net
1 row in set (0.00 sec)

mysql> select * from dns_mx where doc_id = 3377 \G
*************************** 1. row ***************************
doc_id: 3377
doctype_id: 1020
host:
prioritaet: 40
mailserver: fr.<our domain>.net

This would correspond to the behavior I'm seeing in ISPConfig's web interface: I get an error message when trying to add an MX record pointing to rb.

However, the web interface shows only the MX record for fr, and the bind9 zone file (pri.<cust domain>.com) contains only one MX record, fr.

So my current question is, how can I force a rebuild of the bind zone file? Will resetting the status in dns_isp_dns force the rewrite?

And out of curiosity, has anyone seen this problem before or have any idea how it might have occurred? Having the MX record for Rb not show up in the web interface has me puzzled.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10th May 2008, 16:51
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,711
Thanks: 1,899
Thanked 2,702 Times in 2,545 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by catdude
So my current question is, how can I force a rebuild of the bind zone file? Will resetting the status in dns_isp_dns force the rewrite?
Set the status field to u and run
Code:
touch /home/admispconfig/ispconfig/.run
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12th May 2008, 15:41
catdude catdude is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 178
Thanks: 1
Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts
 
Default

I did so, and that did force a rebuild of the zone file for the domain in question.

However, I'm still seeing the same issue.

Using "DNS Manager" in ISPConfig and viewing the records for this domain, I see one MX record defined - host Fr, at priority 40.

I found the doc_id in dns_isp_dns by doing "SELECT * FROM dns_isp_dns WHERE dns_soa = '<customer_domain>.com'; this shows me the doc_id is 2021. I then did "select * from dns_dep where child_doctype_id = 1020 and parent_doc_id = 2021 and parent_doctype_id = 1016 \G" which produced:
*************************** 1. row ***************************
dep_id: 6201
userid: 1
groupid: 0
parent_doc_id: 2021
parent_doctype_id: 1016
parent_tree_id: 8231
child_doc_id: 2061
child_doctype_id: 1020
child_tree_id: 8251
status: 1
*************************** 2. row ***************************
dep_id: 12257
userid: 0
groupid: 2
parent_doc_id: 2021
parent_doctype_id: 1016
parent_tree_id: 8231
child_doc_id: 3377
child_doctype_id: 1020
child_tree_id: 15327
status: 1
2 rows in set (0.00 sec)

Exploring those 2 entries produces:
mysql> select * from dns_mx where doc_id = 2061 \G
*************************** 1. row ***************************
doc_id: 2061
doctype_id: 1020
host:
prioritaet: 30
mailserver: rb.<our domain>.net
1 row in set (0.00 sec)

mysql> select * from dns_mx where doc_id = 3377 \G
*************************** 1. row ***************************
doc_id: 3377
doctype_id: 1020
host:
prioritaet: 40
mailserver: fr.<our domain>.net
1 row in set (0.00 sec)

So, my confusion at present is why DNS Manager only shows one MX record. I understand why I can't add a new MX record pointing to Rb; it's because there's already one in the database.

For now I'm working around this issue by manually editing the customer's zone file to add the MX record for Rb. But I'd like to figure out why this is happening, in case it manifests itself on another domain in the future. Any ideas?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Prevent unwanted DNS A record SupuS Feature Requests 3 20th August 2008 00:21
Webalizer/Angolizer Geo IP Error Mesasge jamesuk HOWTO-Related Questions 3 19th November 2007 13:57
Postfix delivery problem erebus Installation/Configuration 6 28th October 2007 16:20
There is already a CNAME Record entry for this host in this zone. woleium General 1 24th October 2006 10:12
phantom A Record G7pro General 2 24th May 2006 21:16


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 19:34.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.