#1  
Old 8th May 2008, 20:02
Ryanmt Ryanmt is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 92
Thanks: 15
Thanked 6 Times in 4 Posts
Default Time zones.

Ive got a problem that my clock is 1hour out.

Quote:
ryanmt@vps:~$ date
Thu May 8 17:00:14 GMT 2008
ryanmt@vps:~$ tzselect
Please identify a location so that time zone rules can be set correctly.
Please select a continent or ocean.
1) Africa
2) Americas
3) Antarctica
4) Arctic Ocean
5) Asia
6) Atlantic Ocean
7) Australia
8) Europe
9) Indian Ocean
10) Pacific Ocean
11) none - I want to specify the time zone using the Posix TZ format.
#? 8
Please select a country.
1) Aaland Islands 18) Greece 35) Norway
2) Albania 19) Guernsey 36) Poland
3) Andorra 20) Hungary 37) Portugal
4) Austria 21) Ireland 38) Romania
5) Belarus 22) Isle of Man 39) Russia
6) Belgium 23) Italy 40) San Marino
7) Bosnia & Herzegovina 24) Jersey 41) Serbia
8) Britain (UK) 25) Latvia 42) Slovakia
9) Bulgaria 26) Liechtenstein 43) Slovenia
10) Croatia 27) Lithuania 44) Spain
11) Czech Republic 28) Luxembourg 45) Sweden
12) Denmark 29) Macedonia 46) Switzerland
13) Estonia 30) Malta 47) Turkey
14) Finland 31) Moldova 48) Ukraine
15) France 32) Monaco 49) Vatican City
16) Germany 33) Montenegro
17) Gibraltar 34) Netherlands
#? 8

The following information has been given:

Britain (UK)

Therefore TZ='Europe/London' will be used.
Local time is now: Thu May 8 18:01:10 BST 2008.
Universal Time is now: Thu May 8 17:01:10 UTC 2008.
Is the above information OK?
1) Yes
2) No
#? 1

You can make this change permanent for yourself by appending the line
TZ='Europe/London'; export TZ
to the file '.profile' in your home directory; then log out and log in again.

Here is that TZ value again, this time on standard output so that you
can use the /usr/bin/tzselect command in shell scripts:
Europe/London
ryanmt@vps:~$ date
Thu May 8 17:01:12 GMT 2008
ryanmt@vps:~$
Why isnt this working??

Ive tried it sudo'd and just as normal and it doesnt work
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 9th May 2008, 15:50
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,747 Times in 2,578 Posts
Default

Run
Code:
tzconfig
and then reboot the system. That should work.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 9th May 2008, 16:30
Ryanmt Ryanmt is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 92
Thanks: 15
Thanked 6 Times in 4 Posts
 
Default

didnt work, in the end i created a symlink

sudo ln -s /usr/share/zoneinfo/Europe/London /etc/localtime


which did the trick

Thanks for the reply
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Ryanmt For This Useful Post:
falko (10th May 2008)
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Squirrelmail time issue rick78 Server Operation 0 12th March 2008 00:40
Time Problem RTHREE General 3 1st April 2007 15:42
Server time about 15 minutes wrong! edge Server Operation 13 9th November 2006 17:52
Time logging xp users Aaron Morris Server Operation 4 4th September 2006 00:45
Time stamp on Emails from Webmail. Jcorrea920 Installation/Configuration 2 31st March 2006 23:24


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 20:07.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.