Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Linux Forums > HOWTO-Related Questions

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 30th January 2006, 23:27
Guido64 Guido64 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Maastricht
Posts: 28
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Xen acpi problem

I'm reading (and setup a test system) with the "The Perfect Xen Setup For Debian And Ubuntu" howto.

I have a AMD Athlon 1GHZ system for this with 384MB Ram.
I needed to enter acpi=force into menu.lst of the host system or else the
system wouldn't poweroff properly.

Now i installed Xen from source the way Falco explained and have again this poweroff problem, the system wont poweroff totally.
I tried acpi=force with Xen but no succes.

I can't find any error messages in /var/log the system just doesnt poweroff properly. Debian closes and the hd's stop spinning then the screen says OS stopped or something nothing else.

Does anybody know how and if this can be solved with Xen?
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 1st February 2006, 15:15
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,747 Times in 2,578 Posts
Default

You said you compiled the Xen kernels from the sources. Did you enable the correct ACPI settings in the kernel configuration? Can you post the ACPI related lines of the kernel configuration file (in /boot)?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 1st February 2006, 18:30
Guido64 Guido64 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Maastricht
Posts: 28
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default hmm good point

Hmm no i did not think of that (shame).
Will do that this week and let you know if that worked out.
Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 7th February 2006, 18:37
itobin itobin is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

hi,

did you get this sorted? im having the same issue,

i have acpi compliled into the kernel and here is my acpi config

ACPI (Advanced Configuration and Power Interface) Support
#
CONFIG_ACPI=y
CONFIG_ACPI_BOOT=y
CONFIG_ACPI_INTERPRETER=y
CONFIG_ACPI_AC=y
CONFIG_ACPI_BATTERY=y
CONFIG_ACPI_BUTTON=y
CONFIG_ACPI_VIDEO=y
CONFIG_ACPI_FAN=y
CONFIG_ACPI_PROCESSOR=y
CONFIG_ACPI_THERMAL=y
CONFIG_ACPI_ASUS=y
CONFIG_ACPI_IBM=y
CONFIG_ACPI_TOSHIBA=y
# CONFIG_ACPI_CUSTOM_DSDT is not set
CONFIG_ACPI_BLACKLIST_YEAR=0
# CONFIG_ACPI_DEBUG is not set
CONFIG_ACPI_BUS=y
CONFIG_ACPI_EC=y
CONFIG_ACPI_POWER=y
CONFIG_ACPI_PCI=y
CONFIG_ACPI_SYSTEM=y
# CONFIG_X86_PM_TIMER is not set
# CONFIG_ACPI_CONTAINER is not set


thanks

Ian
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 7th February 2006, 19:52
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,747 Times in 2,578 Posts
Default

Did you install all ACPI related packages of your distribution (e.g. acpid on Debian)?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 7th February 2006, 20:39
Guido64 Guido64 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Maastricht
Posts: 28
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by itobin
hi,

did you get this sorted? im having the same issue,

i have acpi compliled into the kernel and here is my acpi config

ACPI (Advanced Configuration and Power Interface) Support
#
CONFIG_ACPI=y
CONFIG_ACPI_BOOT=y
CONFIG_ACPI_INTERPRETER=y
CONFIG_ACPI_AC=y
CONFIG_ACPI_BATTERY=y
CONFIG_ACPI_BUTTON=y
CONFIG_ACPI_VIDEO=y
CONFIG_ACPI_FAN=y
CONFIG_ACPI_PROCESSOR=y
CONFIG_ACPI_THERMAL=y
CONFIG_ACPI_ASUS=y
CONFIG_ACPI_IBM=y
CONFIG_ACPI_TOSHIBA=y
# CONFIG_ACPI_CUSTOM_DSDT is not set
CONFIG_ACPI_BLACKLIST_YEAR=0
# CONFIG_ACPI_DEBUG is not set
CONFIG_ACPI_BUS=y
CONFIG_ACPI_EC=y
CONFIG_ACPI_POWER=y
CONFIG_ACPI_PCI=y
CONFIG_ACPI_SYSTEM=y
# CONFIG_X86_PM_TIMER is not set
# CONFIG_ACPI_CONTAINER is not set


thanks

Ian

No, i'm sorry didn't have the time yet to look into it.
Have a lot of work right now. When i did figured it out i wil post it here.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 8th February 2006, 15:58
itobin itobin is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hi,

it works fine when running under the default Debian kernel.

When i installed Xen i also selected ACPI to compile into the new kernel

thanks
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10th February 2006, 23:17
Guido64 Guido64 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Maastricht
Posts: 28
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default How to add acpi into kernel?

Tonight i tried to figure out how to add acpi to the xen kernel for the host system. I never compiled a kernel. How do i add acpi to the xen kernel?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11th February 2006, 13:40
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,747 Times in 2,578 Posts
Default

When you ru
Code:
make menuconfig
you can add it to the kernel. I'm not quite sure in which submenu you find the ACPI options, so you must search a little bit.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11th February 2006, 18:39
Guido64 Guido64 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Maastricht
Posts: 28
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Default

I wrote before, i compiled the xen kernel from source, and i did, but it didn't feel like i did it myself, i was following your (falko) instructions.

When i need to change something what is not in the howto, like this acpi, then i'm lost hahah
I tried to solve it, searched on google and google groups and everything read a lot of posts.

I did surfed thru the menuconfig sub menu's so i was kind of warm
I used the search option / in the menuconfig.

It did found 2 acpi entries about pnp. I thought that where not the right acpi options. so i didn't select those. I wasn't sure menuconfig is used to add kernel options, now i do

After a good night of sleep i started again with "Make menuconfig" and there it is right in front of my nose duh. If i did it right it should now being added to the kernel.

wel its not added to the kernel so i'm stil doing something wrong.
i'm going to install the whole host system again maybe that'l help.

I did a clean sarge install on the host system.
I'm now at the point to configure "make menuconfig" again and again the acpi options are gone so i think its not possible to add acpi modules into xen kernel.

I'm lost

Last edited by Guido64; 12th February 2006 at 01:06.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Strange email problem for one of my domains... any help appreciated paulrobert_a Installation/Configuration 5 9th August 2010 15:15
SMTP TLS Problem with Mail Client dschmid Installation/Configuration 1 9th December 2005 02:56
Problem installing ISPConfig, then with MySQL... ctroyp Installation/Configuration 7 26th September 2005 17:37
Problem with webmail MyLinux General 10 17th September 2005 15:31
Installation problem: PHP problem? hgoor Installation/Configuration 7 21st August 2005 23:15


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 16:30.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.