Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Linux Forums > Desktop Operation

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 28th August 2009, 12:18
mechrekt mechrekt is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 10
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bad_crow View Post
On my debian I have :
windows (NTFS) : sda1
data (NTFS) : sda2
linux : sda3

Everything is working properly.
How is it working in your case?
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #12  
Old 28th August 2009, 12:36
bad_crow bad_crow is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: France
Posts: 31
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Simply because I haven't Vbox

I installed windows, created the data partition.
Then I installed linux on the free space I left on purpose.
Grub is installed in MBR.

I installed ntfs-3g even if I think it's not necessary with new kernels.
Then I mounted the systems on my linux :
mkdir /mnt/windows
mkdir /mnt/data
mount -t ntfs-3g /dev/sda1 /mnt/windows
mount -t ntfs-3g /dev/sda2 /mnt/data

This worked so I setted up the fstab for /mnt/data
I transfered all I wanted from my windows partition so I haven't to touch it now.

My computer is mainly used as testing server, the windows is only there when some friends come and need an internet access (my server is a fully minimal debian install, this means no graphical interface at all). data is used for FTP and backup.

So I access my windows by rebooting, I don't want to load it in VM.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 28th August 2009, 12:37
mechrekt mechrekt is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 10
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

My situation is:

When I boot XP "native mode":
- C: WinXP (NTFS)
- D: Data (NTFS)
- E: CDROM

When I use Ubuntu "native mode":
- sda2: Linux (ext3)
- sda3: Data (NTFS)

When I use XP "VBox guest mode":
- C: WinXP (NTFS) (not to mount simultaneously in ubuntu to not corrupt data)
- sda3 Data ntfs partition: mapped as network drive (using VBox guest additions). The disk is mapped as "D:" to keep the same path as in "XP native mode" (for applications to work).

The problem is:
- If I use "D:" label to map data partition in XP guest mode, when I boot XP in native mode there is a conflict because "D:" is the same label as the physical data partition and I can't use it. I must disconnect the mapped drive, reboot the sistem and use data partition correctly.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 28th August 2009, 12:40
bad_crow bad_crow is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: France
Posts: 31
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Can't you add another hard drive to Vbox and use the data as if it were a second hard drive using a raw mode or something like it to make sure data are comitted on the data partition and not on a vrtual HD ?
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 28th August 2009, 12:55
mechrekt mechrekt is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 10
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bad_crow View Post
Can't you add another hard drive to Vbox and use the data as if it were a second hard drive using a raw mode or something like it to make sure data are comitted on the data partition and not on a vrtual HD ?
Doing this, I generate the problem at origin of this post
I used the "raw access to partition" function supported by VBox:
sudo VBoxManage internalcommands createrawvmdk -filename /media/DATA/HD13.vmdk -rawdisk /dev/sda -partitions 1,3 -mbr myBootRecord.mbr -relative -register
This creates a file that links directly to partitions 1 and 3 (WinXP and DATA) that I can use in VBox.

I think the problem is that I can't mount the same partition in ubuntu and simultaneously in guest XP (as raw partition).

I've found this post that explains the problem:
http://ubuntuforums.org/showpost.php...59&postcount=2

So I think the only solution is to use data partition from guest mapping it as a network drive... but remains the problems mentioned before (same label problem).
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 28th August 2009, 14:13
bad_crow bad_crow is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: France
Posts: 31
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

What I meant is :
use the 2 raw devices but do not mount them in linux
make a share in windows and use the share on the linux
when windows is not running and you want to access the datas, mount in linux normally but do not forget to unmount if you start the VM.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to bad_crow For This Useful Post:
mechrekt (28th August 2009)
  #17  
Old 28th August 2009, 15:14
mechrekt mechrekt is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 10
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bad_crow View Post
What I meant is :
use the 2 raw devices but do not mount them in linux
make a share in windows and use the share on the linux
when windows is not running and you want to access the datas, mount in linux normally but do not forget to unmount if you start the VM.
Perfect, I think it is a good idea!
thank you, I'll try.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 28th August 2009, 15:18
mechrekt mechrekt is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 10
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bad_crow View Post
What I meant is :
use the 2 raw devices but do not mount them in linux
make a share in windows and use the share on the linux
when windows is not running and you want to access the datas, mount in linux normally but do not forget to unmount if you start the VM.
I must share the folder using "real" network or there is a way to connect to the guest using "VirtualBox Guest Additions"? I know that usually is the guest that connects to the host (using \\VBOXSVR\sda...) and not the inverse.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 28th August 2009, 16:39
bad_crow bad_crow is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: France
Posts: 31
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

You can use a host-only interface in addition to your normal interface, that way this won't get out by the host network card and so won't get on the network.
If you want to be sure that nobody use it then block it by firewall on the other card.
by the way there is already a share in windows XP called C$ but only administrators can use it.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 28th August 2009, 16:58
mechrekt mechrekt is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 10
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bad_crow View Post
You can use a host-only interface in addition to your normal interface, that way this won't get out by the host network card and so won't get on the network.
If you want to be sure that nobody use it then block it by firewall on the other card.
by the way there is already a share in windows XP called C$ but only administrators can use it.
How can I link the guest from the host in this way?
Is there something like "localhost" "vboxsvr" that I can use to connect to the guest shared folder?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 08:37.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.