Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Linux Forums > HOWTO-Related Questions

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 1st May 2008, 22:19
Kev King Kev King is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Glos, UK
Posts: 43
Thanks: 7
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via ICQ to Kev King
Question stupid question? complete neewbie.

Have recently got a server. It came pre set up with centos, as per my request.

Can connect to it via putty and ftp, and have upped some stuff to load up and run.

Now comes the stupid question, how do i run the scripts to run these packages. I cannot access it via my web browser for some reason, even tho a connection is made via putty. I have not transfered my domain yet, but that shouldnt make any difference. I can access the root, but dont know what to do?

Is there a way of seeing what is installed, a desktop veiw would be handy.

I guess thats the trouble with us being brought up on windows, its all too easy.

I really want to learn this stuff, it beats my day job.

Any help would be very much appreciated, or just a pointer in the right direction!!!
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 2nd May 2008, 08:50
zcworld zcworld is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: South Australia
Posts: 329
Thanks: 2
Thanked 37 Times in 37 Posts
Send a message via MSN to zcworld Send a message via Skype™ to zcworld
Default

ok you got a server and you want a desktop on it personal BADD move
less stuff you dont need running / installed the better
less stuff to update in the end and remember about

ow comes the stupid question, how do i run the scripts to run these packages.

like programs or web scripts
or something else

im lost there

i just got home from work : so ... im not with it fully yet
__________________
Shane Ebert :: Facebok
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 2nd May 2008, 15:52
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,740 Times in 2,575 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kev King
Have recently got a server. It came pre set up with centos, as per my request.

Can connect to it via putty and ftp, and have upped some stuff to load up and run.

Now comes the stupid question, how do i run the scripts to run these packages.
What scripts?

I think the easiest way to get up and running is follow this tutorial: http://www.howtoforge.com/centos-5.1...-ftp-ispconfig
and then install ISPConfig on it.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to falko For This Useful Post:
Kev King (2nd May 2008)
  #4  
Old 2nd May 2008, 23:17
Kev King Kev King is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Glos, UK
Posts: 43
Thanks: 7
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via ICQ to Kev King
Default

Thankyou falko

got stuck at step 8 quota. No etc/fstab and /dev/VolGroup00/LogVol00 directories. etc and dev are there but not the sub-directories. I think its because i skipped the first couple of install pages, because centos was already installed, didnt think i needed to. But obviously not as you have done in your tutorial.

Wondering wether to do a clean reinstall, but that sounds pretty duanting.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 3rd May 2008, 20:28
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,740 Times in 2,575 Posts
Default

It's /etc/fstab, not etc/fstab.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to falko For This Useful Post:
Kev King (4th May 2008)
  #6  
Old 4th May 2008, 00:24
Kev King Kev King is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Glos, UK
Posts: 43
Thanks: 7
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via ICQ to Kev King
Default

Sorry to be a pain, but I got the following warning after running vi /etc/fstab

E325: ATTENTION
Found a swap file by the name "/etc/.fstab.swp"
owned by: root dated: Fri May 2 21:14:42 2008
file name: /etc/fstab
modified: YES
user name: xxxx host name: xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
process ID: 2528
While opening file "/etc/fstab"
dated: Sat May 3 23:08:18 2008
NEWER than swap file!

(1) Another program may be editing the same file.
If this is the case, be careful not to end up with two
different instances of the same file when making changes.
Quit, or continue with caution.

(2) An edit session for this file crashed.
If this is the case, use ":recover" or "vim -r /etc/fstab"
to recover the changes (see ":help recovery").
If you did this already, delete the swap file "/etc/.fstab.swp"
to avoid this message.
"/etc/fstab" 9L, 704C
Press ENTER or type command to continue

not sure what to do, dont want to do more damage than good, any advice?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 4th May 2008, 09:15
Kev King Kev King is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Glos, UK
Posts: 43
Thanks: 7
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via ICQ to Kev King
Default more info

details of /etc/fstab

/dev/VolGroup00/LogVol00 / ext3 defaults,usrquota,grpquota 1 1
LABEL=/ / ext3 defaults 1 1
LABEL=/boot /boot ext2 defaults 1 2
tmpfs /dev/shm tmpfs defaults 0 0
devpts /dev/pts devpts gid=5,mode=620 0 0
sysfs /sys sysfs defaults 0 0
proc /proc proc defaults 0 0
LABEL=SWAP-hdc2 swap swap defaults 0 0
/dev/VolGroup00/LogVol01 swap swap defaults 0 0
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 4th May 2008, 18:11
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,740 Times in 2,575 Posts
Default

Run
Code:
rm -f /etc/.fstab.swp
and then try to edit /etc/fstab again.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 5th May 2008, 22:58
Kev King Kev King is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Glos, UK
Posts: 43
Thanks: 7
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via ICQ to Kev King
Default

Cheers falko your a star, I seem to have moved forward a bit now, well somethings working ha ha. But...........

[root@hosted-by ~]# touch /aquota.user /aquota.group
[root@hosted-by ~]# chmod 600 /aquota.*
[root@hosted-by ~]# mount -o remount /
[root@hosted-by ~]# quotacheck -avugm
quotacheck: WARNING - Quotafile //aquota.user was probably truncated. Can't save quota settings...
quotacheck: WARNING - Quotafile //aquota.group was probably truncated. Can't save quota settings...
quotacheck: Scanning /dev/hdc3 [/] \

should this stage take long it seems to have been running for at least half an hour?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 5th May 2008, 23:22
Kev King Kev King is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Glos, UK
Posts: 43
Thanks: 7
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via ICQ to Kev King
 
Default

Ignore that last post it all went thru ok, I think.

quotacheck: Scanning /dev/hdc3 [/] done
quotacheck: Checked 12361 directories and 103949 files
[root@hosted-by ~]# quotaon -avug
/dev/hdc3 [/]: group quotas turned on
/dev/hdc3 [/]: user quotas turned on
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Complete Newbie Question: Can't Install Ubuntu 7.10 pg001 Installation/Configuration 3 6th February 2008 13:15
DNS - nslookup's - Stupid Question. SamTzu General 9 21st November 2007 14:11
stupid rm question Daisy Technical 3 27th June 2007 18:21
probaly an stupid question about antivirus DaRKNeSS666NL General 4 25th January 2007 15:30
Stupid newb question: which IP, where? sagewah Installation/Configuration 3 10th August 2006 01:10


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 17:59.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.