Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 2 > General

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 27th April 2008, 21:04
Bebop17 Bebop17 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 15
Thanks: 5
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Question ISPConfig with multiple CMSs

I have set up Centos 5.1 Perfect LAMP + ISPConfig 2.2.3 + suPHP. I've just moved from WAMP to LAMP so I'm new to wrestling with .htaccess and mod_rewrite (but I figure it can't be worse than trying to get pretty URLs out of IIS ). I want to install multiple CMSs and am wondering how to plan them within my server's infrastructure - what to do at CLI and what within ISPConfig's structure.

I need a bunch of Wordpress sites, one WordpressMU site, and several Drupal sites. I have found a few threads about ISPConfig/Drupal or ISPConfig/WP but nothing about multiple *different* CMSs.

Can I set things up with only three code installs, without sacrificing security? That would be ideal.
- one reg. Wordpress install feeding many sites, each with their own wp-content (themes, plugins etc.)
- one WPMU install serving one domain, many subdomains, same choices of themes and plugins but different content
- one Drupal install feeding several sites, each with their own themes etc.

I am planning a second server (same setup) very soon so if it would be better to split this up over two machines, what would be the best way to do it? (where best = most secure and simplest to administer)

Finally, if I'm already tugging at things to make the multiple CMSs work, could I also set up Roundcube on port 80 with pretty URLs according to this tutorial http://www.howtoforge.com/roundcube_webmail_ispconfig
or would I just be complicating things ridiculously?

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 28th April 2008, 10:39
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 34,586
Thanks: 792
Thanked 4,983 Times in 3,903 Posts
Default

I recommend that you add for every cms a new website and then install the cms into this site. If you dont have a domain for every site, you can use subdomains.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 1st May 2008, 04:19
Bebop17 Bebop17 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 15
Thanks: 5
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I have enough domain names; that's not a problem.

Soooooo I think what you're saying is that it's not worth whatever server gains would be made by sharing base code? Just keep it simple - one CMS, one database, one site?

Simple I can live with. :-)

So with multiple Wordpress and Drupal sites sharing the server, do you have any advice on how to handle all the fussy redirects and have pretty URLs for all? Tips, tricks, traps to look out for? Do you set it all up in ISPConfig via site-specific Apache directives, manually or some other way?

Any tips for optimizing the environment for such a setup would be very welcome.

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 2nd May 2008, 14:30
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,711
Thanks: 1,899
Thanked 2,702 Times in 2,545 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bebop17
So with multiple Wordpress and Drupal sites sharing the server, do you have any advice on how to handle all the fussy redirects and have pretty URLs for all? Tips, tricks, traps to look out for? Do you set it all up in ISPConfig via site-specific Apache directives, manually or some other way?
I'd use .htaccess files (I think Drupal and Wordpress already come with sample .htaccess files).
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to falko For This Useful Post:
Bebop17 (5th May 2008)
  #5  
Old 3rd May 2008, 16:52
zeeman zeeman is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 22
Thanks: 7
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Send a message via ICQ to zeeman
 
Default

The current WP-htaccess-file is ok.

The current Drupal htacces-file is a litte.. err...don't know how to call it.
With a default ISPconfig Drupal won't start because the htaccess file tries to override some locked options.
Just comment the DirectoryIndex and php-releated lines (and add them through ispconfig apache directives if you want)
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to zeeman For This Useful Post:
Bebop17 (5th May 2008)
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ISPConfig after installation CoDonCo Installation/Configuration 46 14th July 2010 16:54
ISPConfig on multiple servers - Certificate error martinfst Developers' Forum 5 7th February 2010 16:17
ISPConfig setup for multiple external IPs debian-lover General 5 21st April 2008 11:56
ISPConfig 2.3.3-dev released till General 10 12th March 2008 21:08
Migrating from Virtualmin to ISPConfig xare Installation/Configuration 3 16th July 2006 12:58


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 00:25.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.