Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Linux Forums > Desktop Operation

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 26th April 2008, 23:56
kadi kadi is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 102
Thanks: 49
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default Need some help with desktop screen

hello
[SOLVED] I just replaced the "nv" with "vesa"
I installed fresh debian etch 4.0r3 and when i reboot
the desktop screen is pulling to the right side leaving
like 15% of the left side black, i tried all the resolutions
the same result, checked xorg.conf it is the right video
driver nvidia, i didn't had this problem before with debian
etch on the other server, also i have Radius-73 17 inch
flat panel monitor and it says in the xorg.conf "Radius-73"
Any help will be appreciated.
Thanks

Last edited by kadi; 27th April 2008 at 01:39.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 27th April 2008, 02:18
o.meyer o.meyer is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 167
Thanks: 2
Thanked 24 Times in 23 Posts
Default

Hi kadi,

you replaced "nv" with "vesa" - so you disabled the NVIDIA driver. You should try the official NVIDIA drivers.

Best regards,

Olli
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to o.meyer For This Useful Post:
kadi (27th April 2008)
  #3  
Old 27th April 2008, 06:11
kadi kadi is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 102
Thanks: 49
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default Thanks Olli for your reply

hi Olli
Thanks for fast reply.
I am like struggling with my new installation (centOS 5.1)
between screen resolution and No GUI login, the link you gave me
is the one i installed, but the problem was it made about 10% of
the desktop screen Black on the left side, and i changed the resolution
tried all the same thing, so i change it to vesa and it worked for a while
then when i change it back to nvidia it can't find the module.
with centos i am not used to the commands like in debian i will use:
dpkg-reconfigure -phigh xserver-xorg
this not working on centos, the second thing that is annoying me
what ever i do still the server starts with command line, installed
gdm nothing changed, i have to login from cmd line then write startx.
Thanks alot again for your suppot.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 28th April 2008, 05:16
o.meyer o.meyer is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 167
Thanks: 2
Thanked 24 Times in 23 Posts
 
Default

Hi kadi,

sounds like that you're using that system as desktop. When I'm right you should use an 'up to date' distribution like Fedora, Ubuntu or Mandriva. I think this will prevent you from vicious headache like the one you have right now. On these distributions you can install the needed (latest) drivers out of a repository. I personally use Fedora (since many years) and never got any problems with graphics cards or displays.

Best regards,

Olli
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Gnome Desktop hardening kamransab HOWTO-Related Questions 0 25th April 2008 18:25
secondary screen on ATI Radeon 9250??? jesmany Desktop Operation 4 2nd March 2008 20:18
ubuntu studio, timidity failure: no screen found itchy88 Installation/Configuration 0 2nd March 2008 19:20
RE: The Perfect Desktop magicvwbus Installation/Configuration 4 5th November 2007 23:17
Screen Resolution Problem BillDougy Desktop Operation 4 22nd September 2006 17:15


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 01:29.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.