#1  
Old 3rd May 2008, 02:49
kadi kadi is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 102
Thanks: 49
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default Question about dns ?

hello
I have about 40 sites on my server
and i bought a DNS from my registrar
i just wonder can i use this one dns
for all these site ? as A record ?
Thanks any advice will be great.

Last edited by kadi; 3rd May 2008 at 18:22.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 3rd May 2008, 21:23
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,711
Thanks: 1,899
Thanked 2,702 Times in 2,545 Posts
Default

What do you mean you bought a DNS? Does that mean you can use your registrar's name servers for all your domains?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to falko For This Useful Post:
kadi (4th May 2008)
  #3  
Old 4th May 2008, 00:07
kadi kadi is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 102
Thanks: 49
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default Thanks for your reply

hello mr/falko
Sorry it was the wrong word i ment i Paid for it.
I have a domain registered with my registrar
(mydomain.com) which is the one i used with my server
as FQDN, my isp closed some ports, so i asked the
registrar about dns, they said to choose a domain
to use for this dns, so i choose this one FQDN
that i use for the server, the registrar put it on
this domain like when i try to edit the registry :
in front of this site on the right side it says : @DNS
when i paid for it i thought i can use one dns
for all my sites, but when i emailed them they said
no this is for one domain only! i don't understand !do i have
to pay for dns for each domain (site) ? i have about 45 sites
I thought i can use one dns for all the sites.
I only have option to add 3 A record.
Thanks very much for your great support and help

Last edited by kadi; 4th May 2008 at 22:28.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 4th May 2008, 18:10
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,711
Thanks: 1,899
Thanked 2,702 Times in 2,545 Posts
Default

Usually registrars charge you for every zone (domain) that you host on their DNS servers.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to falko For This Useful Post:
kadi (4th May 2008)
  #5  
Old 5th May 2008, 02:04
kadi kadi is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 102
Thanks: 49
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default Thanks again for your reply

hello again
how do i check to see which ports are open
from my ISP ?
and which ones should be important to be
opened beside 53 ,80 ,21 25 ?
some people said i should check it from
outside the network ?
Thanks very much again

Last edited by kadi; 5th May 2008 at 03:12.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 5th May 2008, 18:52
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,711
Thanks: 1,899
Thanked 2,702 Times in 2,545 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kadi
hello again
how do i check to see which ports are open
from my ISP ?
You can either try to connect to these ports from outside your network (make sure that there's a service listening on the port you try), or you ask your ISP.

Quote:
Originally Posted by kadi
and which ones should be important to be
opened beside 53 ,80 ,21 25 ?
21, 21: FTP
22: SSH
25: SMTP
53 (TCP and UDP): DNS
80: HTTP
81: ISPConfig
110: POP3
143: IMAP
443: HTTPS
993: IMAPS
995: POP3S
10000: Webmin
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to falko For This Useful Post:
kadi (6th May 2008)
  #7  
Old 6th May 2008, 19:12
kadi kadi is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 102
Thanks: 49
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default Thanks very much for your reply

Hello mr/Falko again
I just have another question:
I have one dns from the registrar on
the domain FQDN , then now i was able
to get dns 1 & 2 from my ISP :
which one i use on ISPConfig Management/Settings
also my isp gave me only numbers, i asked them
for character address they said dns is only numbers
and godaddy does not accept numbers for some
reason when i enter numbers it says Error.
Thanks again i appreciate your help

Last edited by kadi; 6th May 2008 at 19:52.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 7th May 2008, 23:31
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,711
Thanks: 1,899
Thanked 2,702 Times in 2,545 Posts
 
Default

You mean you want to run your own name servers with ISPConfig? Take a look here:
http://www.howtoforge.com/ispconfig_dns_godaddy
http://www.howtoforge.com/ispconfig_...domain_schlund
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to falko For This Useful Post:
kadi (8th May 2008)
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Google Apps dayjahone General 19 29th March 2008 17:25
DNS Configuration Problems VMartins Installation/Configuration 10 24th July 2007 14:40
Unable send receive emails vassilis3 Installation/Configuration 15 19th May 2007 14:34
No SPF record. beryl Installation/Configuration 6 17th May 2007 19:52
ubuntu 6.06 dns question jwan Server Operation 4 22nd December 2006 16:16


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 14:59.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.