Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 2 > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 25th April 2008, 17:08
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,722 Times in 2,563 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ste
9. Problem is browser status shows connecting to www.example.com.sg for a long time without showing the expected html.
Have you tried this from within your LAN, or also from the outside? Some routers don't support loopbacks, that's why it might not work from within your LAN.

You can use this web site: http://www.intodns.com/ to check your DNS settings.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to falko For This Useful Post:
ste (25th April 2008)
Sponsored Links
  #12  
Old 25th April 2008, 18:53
ste ste is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 16
Thanks: 4
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

1. was doing it from the CentOS root behind the router. Will try from external and will know soon. I placed a test index.html file at /var/www/html, Will I be able to hit this page from WAN?

2. Did the DNS test, report attached. seems good. Only 1 red, i.e. no MX record. 2 yellows, something about a third nameserver not included in parent server and a 86400 Refresh time NOK. Whats your expert take on this report.

3. Notice that Postfix reports failure to shutdonw every time I rebooted it, any concerns, is it because I have not created any mail accounts?

Loosing a little steam already (a tired smiley with 2 sweat drops here would be quite appropriate) and to thinl that I have not add client/site and play with ISPConfig yet... more unchartered waters to navigate and push on.

cheers
Attached Files
File Type: zip DNSReport.zip (37.0 KB, 131 views)
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 26th April 2008, 13:58
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,722 Times in 2,563 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ste
1. was doing it from the CentOS root behind the router. Will try from external and will know soon. I placed a test index.html file at /var/www/html, Will I be able to hit this page from WAN?
Should work. You should also ask your ISP if they block port 80.

Quote:
2. Did the DNS test, report attached. seems good. Only 1 red, i.e. no MX record. 2 yellows, something about a third nameserver not included in parent server and a 86400 Refresh time NOK. Whats your expert take on this report.
Your name servers are n1.us.editdns.net and ns2.us.editdns.net, so you should use ns1.us.editdns.net in the SOA, not ns0.us.editdns.net!
Use a value of 604800 for Expire.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ste
3. Notice that Postfix reports failure to shutdonw every time I rebooted it, any concerns, is it because I have not created any mail accounts?
That'S normal on Fedora/RHEL/CentOS systems and nothing to worry about.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to falko For This Useful Post:
ste (26th April 2008)
  #14  
Old 26th April 2008, 18:07
ste ste is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 16
Thanks: 4
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

From an external browser, was hitting the /var/www/sharedip/index.html
instead of the /var/www/html/index.html. Will check with my router supplier.
Thanks, didnt realised it was reachable externally.

Dankschen
Auf Wiedersehen for this thread/
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 27th April 2008, 19:39
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,722 Times in 2,563 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ste
From an external browser, was hitting the /var/www/sharedip/index.html
instead of the /var/www/html/index.html. Will check with my router supplier.
Thanks, didnt realised it was reachable externally.
What's in Vhosts_ispconfig.conf, and what's the output of
Code:
ifconfig
?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 28th April 2008, 04:15
ste ste is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 16
Thanks: 4
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Post

/etc/httpd/conf/vhost/vhost_ispconfig.conf attached.
Q1. Added & dedelete some clients earlier and discovered the docroot "web13" is incremental, even when all clients were deleted n bin cleared, shouldn't it be reset?.

Output of [.....]# ifconfig attached.
Q2. is Virbr0 with IP 192.168.122.1, added by ISPConfig ? I did not set this.

/etchosts also attached

Appreciate the help to discovering Linux/CentOS n ISPConfig
Attached Files
File Type: zip net_ files.zip (1.5 KB, 141 views)
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 29th April 2008, 15:55
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,722 Times in 2,563 Posts
Default

Does example.com.sg point to 14x.xxx.xxx.10?
Did you disable SELinux?
Are there any warnings in /home/admispconfig/ispconfig/ispconfig.log?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 29th April 2008, 17:25
ste ste is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 16
Thanks: 4
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Does example.com.sg point to 14x.xxx.xxx.10?
Yes, contents of /etc/hosts:
127.0.0.1 localhost.localdomain localhost
14x.xxx.xxx.10 s1.rexample.com.sg s1
14x.xxx.xxx.10 mail.example.com.sg mail
::1 localhost6.localdomain6 localhost6
Quote:
Did you disable SELinux?
yes, since begining of CentOS setup.
Quote:
Are there any warnings in /home/admispconfig/ispconfig/ispconfig.log?
Yes, some errors and warnings. see file attached

By the way, If i change the static IP of of my server in hosts, will ISPConfig automatically change all siteto the new one.


Thanks
Attached Files
File Type: zip ispconfig.log.zip (7.8 KB, 121 views)

Last edited by ste; 29th April 2008 at 18:04.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 30th April 2008, 16:10
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,722 Times in 2,563 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ste
Yes, contents of /etc/hosts:
127.0.0.1 localhost.localdomain localhost
14x.xxx.xxx.10 s1.rexample.com.sg s1
14x.xxx.xxx.10 mail.example.com.sg mail
::1 localhost6.localdomain6 localhost6
I don't see example.com.sg in there, only mail.example.com.sg... that's a difference. Anyway, you can check if it's pointing to the right IP address by running
Code:
dig example.com.sg
Quote:
Originally Posted by ste
By the way, If i change the static IP of of my server in hosts, will ISPConfig automatically change all siteto the new one.
No, you'd have to add the new IP under Management > Server > Settings and then change the IP address of all web sites.

Can you run
Code:
maildirmake /var/www/web13/user/web13_BBB/Maildir
on the command line? What's the output?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 30th April 2008, 21:15
ste ste is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 16
Thanks: 4
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Default

Quote:
I don't see example.com.sg in there, only mail.example.com.sg...
Followed the Install tutorial, and added s1.example.com.sg with private IP 14x.xxx.xxx.10 to /etc/hosts. Should I add example.com.sg with the same IP? now very

Output of dig example.com.sg
Code:
[root@s1 ~]# dig example.com.sg
; <<>> DiG 9.3.3rc2 <<>> example.com.com.sg
;; global options:  printcmd
;; Got answer:
;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NOERROR, id: 3549
;; flags: qr rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 1, AUTHORITY: 0, ADDITIONAL: 0
;; QUESTION SECTION:
;example.com.sg.            IN      A
;; ANSWER SECTION:
example.com.sg.     167     IN      A       12x.xxx.xxx.xxx
;; Query time: 37 msec
;; SERVER: 14x.xxx.xxx.1#53(14x.xxx.xxx.1)
;; WHEN: Thu May  1 02:15:05 2008
;; MSG SIZE  rcvd: 52
[root@s1 ~]#
Output of maildirmake /var....
Code:
bash: maildirmake: command not found
Anyway /var/www/web13/user/web13_BBB/maildir exists and there are several folders and files in it. same for /var.../web13_AAA/maildir


Thanks for the change IP tip.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem installing ISPconfig on Ubuntu 6.06 LTS ennodj Installation/Configuration 6 4th May 2008 18:12
Help installing ISPConfig on Ubuntu 7.10 Server Peasant Dave Installation/Configuration 7 25th October 2007 00:27
Please, anyone help... really close to installing ISPConfig mcroteau105 HOWTO-Related Questions 1 17th May 2007 12:31
Installing ISPConfig on a pre-installed x86_64 FC6 w/webmin domino Installation/Configuration 2 13th February 2007 11:21
Howto suggestion suse PhP ver 4 + Ver 5 wwparrish Suggest HOWTO 11 7th August 2006 13:29


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 20:40.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.