Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 2 > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 31st March 2008, 23:43
lucius lucius is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Blazingtoke
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default ISPConfig admin interface lost after Joomla install

Hi, I got ISPConfig up and running beautifully on Ubuntu 7.10, started by creating reseller account, all is well and then create new site as part of the 10 steps in getting Joomla CMS operational and I get to step 5 and find that globals.php does not exist so I go straight to testing the new site domain name for ftp upload of the Joomla code. This is where it all starts to go wrong. Firstly the domain name ftp://myjoomlasite.tld/web will not resolve in the ftp client, then I notice the admin portal is no longer available, I get unable to conect, even if I supply the socket in place of the name. Anyone had similar situation? Cheers
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 1st April 2008, 17:57
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,735 Times in 2,571 Posts
Default

Please make sure that myjoomlasite.tld is pointing to the correct server. You can check that with
Code:
dig myjoomlasite.tld
Also, please post the output of
Code:
netstat -tap
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 6th April 2008, 12:55
lucius lucius is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Blazingtoke
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default dig on the site was answered by upstream DNS

Thanks for the feedback Falco, I have the following output from netstat
Proto Recv-Q Send-Q Local Address Foreign Address State PID/Program name
tcp 0 0 *:mysql *:* LISTEN -
tcp 0 0 *:www *:* LISTEN -
tcp 0 0 lucius-star-stat:domain *:* LISTEN -
tcp 0 0 localhost:domain *:* LISTEN -
tcp 0 0 *:nessus *:* LISTEN -
tcp 0 0 *:smtp *:* LISTEN -
tcp 0 0 localhost:953 *:* LISTEN -
tcp 0 0 *:https *:* LISTEN -
tcp6 0 0 *:imaps *:* LISTEN -
tcp6 0 0 *op3s *:* LISTEN -
tcp6 0 0 *op3 *:* LISTEN -
tcp6 0 0 *:imap2 *:* LISTEN -
tcp6 0 0 *:ftp *:* LISTEN -
tcp6 0 0 *:domain *:* LISTEN -
tcp6 0 0 *:ssh *:* LISTEN -
tcp6 0 0 *:smtp *:* LISTEN -
tcp6 0 0 ip6-localhost:953 *:* LISTEN -

So DNS does not appear to point back to my IP 192.168.1.42 instead I get back the following;
lucius@lucius-star-station:~$ dig joomlasite.tld

; <<>> DiG 9.4.1-P1 <<>> joomlasite.tld
;; global options: printcmd
;; Got answer:
;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NXDOMAIN, id: 65426
;; flags: qr rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 0, AUTHORITY: 1, ADDITIONAL: 0

;; QUESTION SECTION:
;joomlasite.tld. IN A

;; AUTHORITY SECTION:
. 10800 IN SOA a.root-servers.net. nstld.verisign-grs.com. 2008040501 1800 900 604800 86400

;; Query time: 17 msec
;; SERVER: 194.168.4.100#53(194.168.4.100)
;; WHEN: Sun Apr 6 11:22:16 2008
;; MSG SIZE rcvd: 107

Any thoughts on the DNS?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 6th April 2008, 16:42
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,488
Thanks: 813
Thanked 5,259 Times in 4,123 Posts
Default

There seems to be no ISPConfig running on your server, run the following command to start ispconfig:

/etc/init.d/ispconfig_server start
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 21st April 2008, 21:55
lucius lucius is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Blazingtoke
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default ISPConfig admin interface lost after Joomla install

Thanks, I tried the /etc/init.d/ispconfig_server start option and it did not work. I thought that's strange so I did ls -al to check permisions on the file, and it listed it as executable by root, which I was logged in as. Should I try a reinstall?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 21st April 2008, 22:32
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,488
Thanks: 813
Thanked 5,259 Times in 4,123 Posts
 
Default

What is the exact output that you got on the shell when you run:

/etc/init.d/ispconfig_server start
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
lost ispconfig admin password adrenalinic Installation/Configuration 4 19th October 2010 20:40
ISPconfig after installation cannot reach www.xyz.de:81 Figth4Linux Installation/Configuration 23 6th March 2008 22:38
Error zlib to install ispconfig chua_jose Installation/Configuration 6 3rd January 2008 15:42
ISPconfig new install - questions jasthom69 Installation/Configuration 1 8th October 2007 11:58
After install error(s) by starting ISPconfig BvO Installation/Configuration 4 14th January 2007 15:17


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 18:13.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.