Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 2 > General

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 19th April 2008, 15:36
HiSoC8Y HiSoC8Y is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Question ISPConfig on intranet, with Microsoft DNS

Hello

I installed ISPConfig on CentOS 5 , i used the Perfect Server guide...

everything went fine, installed and things are working perfectly

im stuck at this

i want to create sites (i havent yet), but i dunno what to use for hostname and domain..i saw many posts here with the same issue, but my case is a lil different

in my network, we have Microsoft DNS, Active Directory, DHCP server....etc

I'm thinking, how can i create sites with different domains?

if i enter an entry in my DNS, for example www.example.com to point to the IP of the CentOS server (which is my web server and ispconfig)

will this work?

btw, im very new to linux platform, very new, i followed the guidelines mostly
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 19th April 2008, 19:10
HiSoC8Y HiSoC8Y is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

or, if i can add more IPs, maybe then i register say some domains (www.hello.com) to that specific IP, and i use that IP for only one website.

am i making any sense?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 19th April 2008, 20:10
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 37,036
Thanks: 841
Thanked 5,655 Times in 4,464 Posts
Default

Quote:
will this work?
Yes, this will work
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 20th April 2008, 15:06
HiSoC8Y HiSoC8Y is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

ok, i added the entry into microsoft dns (www.example.com) to point to my secondary ip 10.2.200.98

but how to assign that ip to only 1 specific website in ISPConfig?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 21st April 2008, 15:45
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,752 Times in 2,582 Posts
 
Default

When you create a web site in ISPConfig, there's a drop-down menu from which you can select the IP address.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ispconfig without dns bennyhill General 8 8th February 2014 21:44
Dns Server with dyndns & ispconfig bswinnerton Installation/Configuration 18 23rd August 2007 22:21
Multiple ISPConfig & DNS Questions and Problems bfriend Installation/Configuration 3 6th January 2007 07:14
ISPConfig on second DNS adriana2100 Installation/Configuration 1 16th September 2006 13:01
need other server DNS for ispconfig?? dalmain Server Operation 3 11th July 2006 16:08


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 19:56.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.