Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Linux Forums > HOWTO-Related Questions

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 6th May 2008, 13:37
webbie_webb webbie_webb is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via ICQ to webbie_webb Send a message via MSN to webbie_webb Send a message via Skype™ to webbie_webb
Default how to login as root on Ubuntu 8.04 LTS (Hardy Heron)

Hello everyone

i try to login as root on Ubuntu 8.04 LTS (Hardy Heron) with: su

the terminal retrieves: su: Authentication failure


for sudo it retrieves:

sudo: unable to resolve host named-desktop
usage: sudo -h | -K | -k | -L | -l | -V | -v
usage: sudo [-bEHPS] [-p prompt] [-u username|#uid] [VAR=value]
{-i | -s | <command>}
usage: sudo -e [-S] [-p prompt] [-u username|#uid] file ...


Any sugestions=?

Thanks in advance,

: respect :
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 6th May 2008, 14:57
Leszek Leszek is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Poland,Włocławek
Posts: 369
Thanks: 22
Thanked 41 Times in 35 Posts
Send a message via Skype™ to Leszek
Default

Ubuntu comes with disabled root account by default so You can log in after giving root a password:
Code:
sudo passwd root
and entering the password of the first user added to the system.

Keep in mind that You don't have to enable root account to have root privileges.You can use sudo instead.For example:
Code:
sudo [command]
will execute a command after entering the password of the first user added to the system.
Code:
sudo su
will let You have root privileges without typing sudo all the time.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 6th May 2008, 18:57
webbie_webb webbie_webb is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via ICQ to webbie_webb Send a message via MSN to webbie_webb Send a message via Skype™ to webbie_webb
Default

ok many thanks ;- )

its seems to work though i still get some errors...

for example, for file share configuration i get this screen bellow



Any sugestions for this? How should activate the "Administrator Mode" button?

Thanks and best wishes

Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 7th May 2008, 17:04
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,711
Thanks: 1,899
Thanked 2,702 Times in 2,545 Posts
 
Default

Is it possible that the "Adminsitrator Button" is hidden because the window is too small? Can you enlarge the window?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problems with Virtual Hosting With PureFTPd And MySQL (Incl. Quota And Bandwidth Mana ikkem HOWTO-Related Questions 33 8th June 2012 18:27
i am having some problem ? cobro Installation/Configuration 20 30th April 2008 16:26
Apache domain to directory? badgerbox76 Server Operation 27 29th January 2008 20:07
Add Webmin to the system sushestvo Installation/Configuration 44 21st August 2007 16:52
cannot connect to ispconfig guidovanh Installation/Configuration 22 3rd March 2006 19:52


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 15:28.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.