Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 2 > General

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10th April 2008, 10:55
Fredrik75 Fredrik75 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default v2.2.22; New site user; The selected diskspace exceeds site's limits.

Hi!

Just upgraded our ispconfig to 2.2.22, and now a new error occurs.
When adding a new user to a site with -1 in "Webspace MB" this error appears:
"The selected diskspace exceeds site's limits."

It works ok if I i write an number there instead (ie. 200).

Suggestions?

/Fredrik

Ps. Thanks for a great panel!!
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10th April 2008, 11:00
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 34,586
Thanks: 792
Thanked 4,983 Times in 3,903 Posts
Default

What is the space limit of the site? The limit of the user must be smaller then the limit of the site. You can not set the user limit to -1 when you have set a quota limit of the site.

This was possible in prior versions due to a bug and this is fixed now in 2.2.22.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to till For This Useful Post:
Tripple (15th April 2008)
  #3  
Old 10th April 2008, 11:10
Fredrik75 Fredrik75 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Ah, I was in the impression of that if the user had -1 it was set to the same as the site-quota. This is the administrator of the site...
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 14th April 2008, 14:30
AlArenal AlArenal is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Germany
Posts: 104
Thanks: 1
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

Hm.. the default user webspace limit of '-1' has always worked, but with the latest version it doesn't anymore. Users with access to ISPC now start bugging me about why they get this message when they change their account details - of course because '-1' has always been the default setting...
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 14th April 2008, 17:06
tal56 tal56 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 91
Thanks: 11
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Till,

This seems to be coming up a lot as users upgrade to the newest version. I understand that if you set all the users to the same limit as the site, then that space is shared up to the site limit, but to me it's just easier to be able to set the user limit as -1 and have the same results.

If I have to set the user limit as the site limit, I have to go and look up the site limit each time I'm adding a user, and each site has differnt limits, at least on my system.

Also if I change a site's limit in the future to give them more space, now I have to go and change EVERY user's limit again to match the site limit.

To me, if they are just left -1 and all spit the site limit, that just seems much easier to maintain. If someone wants to set a hard limit for a specific user, then that's when we should need to go in and change it.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 18th April 2008, 11:53
xrat xrat is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 56
Thanks: 68
Thanked 15 Times in 12 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by till
What is the space limit of the site? The limit of the user must be smaller then the limit of the site. You can not set the user limit to -1 when you have set a quota limit of the site.

This was possible in prior versions due to a bug and this is fixed now in 2.2.22.
As tal56 above wrote, what are we supposed to do now with existing entries? You say, -1 is not valid anymore, right? What should we do with the many existing users who have this value set?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 18th April 2008, 14:47
minimalist minimalist is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Romania
Posts: 30
Thanks: 20
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Having the same problem here!
We found it normal for a user to set the limit to "-1" and be limited by the quota of the website...

Any suggestions?
__________________
Proudly using ISPConfig on Debian servers.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 19th April 2008, 10:13
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 34,586
Thanks: 792
Thanked 4,983 Times in 3,903 Posts
Default

I will see if we can make this configurable in the next version, so that you can switch between old and new behaviour in the config.inc.php file.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to till For This Useful Post:
xrat (20th April 2008)
  #9  
Old 19th April 2008, 10:39
mmiyamoto mmiyamoto is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 13
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hello,
Also for me the same problem, I am using that user has no limitations on space, I am using version 2.2.22, I also installed the patch for 2.2.23, but when I make any type of operation I find the following message. The selected diskspace exceeds site's limits.


Tnx


Fino
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 19th April 2008, 10:41
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 34,586
Thanks: 792
Thanked 4,983 Times in 3,903 Posts
 
Default

Just set the limit of the user to the same limit then the site.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to till For This Useful Post:
pakogah (18th June 2008)
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Statistic not working mzo Installation/Configuration 49 20th April 2011 12:19
Anything I can do against illegal login-requests? schmidtedv Installation/Configuration 17 7th November 2008 09:25
Ruby / FastCGI Problem Chad Server Operation 1 8th March 2008 20:38
log files cruz Technical 3 15th May 2007 14:35
Multiple sites -> same admin user merlincc General 1 24th December 2006 11:52


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 11:04.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.