Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 2 > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 19th January 2006, 04:41
teleriddler teleriddler is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 27
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Exclamation Nameserver configuration

OK,

I have setup ISPConfig correctly and I can add websites and get them to resolve. I am moving into the category of testing mail and DNS for these sites. I am getting stuck. Here is my question.

I have a main domain that I am using for technical nameserving test1.net. I have 2 other domains I wish to host test1.com and test2.com. I have my server hosted at Cari.net, it is a virtual server. Their nameservers are ns1.ibizdns.com and ns2.ibizdns.com. I have my domains registered at GoDaddy.com, I cannot change this as my client likes their services. I can login and change where the nameservers point.

This is how I currently have things setup. I have test1.net pointed to ns1.ibizdns.com and ns2.ibizdns.com from the GoDaddy interface. Cari.net has advanced DNS that I have signed up for $1.00 per domain. This may be frivolous but I purchased to just make sure if I needed it. I suspect that I may need this advanced DNS from Cari.net in order to atleast configure my mast domain test1.net.

My question now is what should I configure ISPConfig with to use it's own nameservers on my virtual server. I am new to this configuration and have only been working with Linux for about a year. I have done single DNS servers. My goal here is to use test1.net as my main nameserver and then use ISPConfig to handle DNS for all domains hosted from this server.

Any ideas would be greatly helpful. FYI, I have used false domain names in this example just for proof of concept. If you would like the real domain names to aid in troubleshooting let me know.

Working Items:

1) Working ISPConfig install via instructions on the web
2) Working https://www.test1.net:81
3) Working addition of websites and they can be accessed

Non working Items:

1) Adding additional DNS records to domains in ISPConfig
2) Sending and receiving mail


Thanx for the help in advance,

TeleRiddler
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 19th January 2006, 07:59
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,751 Times in 2,581 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by teleriddler
I have test1.net pointed to ns1.ibizdns.com and ns2.ibizdns.com from the GoDaddy interface.
I don't understand what you mean with that...

Quote:
Originally Posted by teleriddler
My question now is what should I configure ISPConfig with to use it's own nameservers on my virtual server. I am new to this configuration and have only been working with Linux for about a year. I have done single DNS servers. My goal here is to use test1.net as my main nameserver and then use ISPConfig to handle DNS for all domains hosted from this server.
Have a look at this post: http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/sho...92&postcount=4
If you want to have a primary and secondary DNS server, then you need a second server.
BTW, it's good that you have a domain for technical purposes only!

Quote:
Originally Posted by teleriddler
If you would like the real domain names to aid in troubleshooting let me know.
That would be good!

Quote:
Originally Posted by teleriddler
2) Sending and receiving mail
Are there any errors in the mail log?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 19th January 2006, 08:55
teleriddler teleriddler is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 27
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Exclamation Domain Names

Here are the domain names I am using:

mpsge.net - technical domain for nameserver and admin purposes
mpsge.com - main site
mileslight.com - not yet pointed to the ISPConfig due to it still being used as a mail server by my client. I want to make sure I get mail working with 1 domain, IE mpsge.com, before I move mileslight.com over.

As for the current setup on your first question. I have a virtual server setup with Fedora Core 4 , with my virtual server host cari.net. They have nameservers. I have the domain mpsge.net, mpsge.com, and mileslight.com registered with GoDaddy and I cannot change where these domains are hosted, client's preference. So I have mpsge.net nameserver entries in GoDaddy interface pointed to the cari.net nameservers, IE ns1.ibizdns.com and ns2.ibizdns.com. So here is the quesiton: When I point mpsge.net, my admin domain, to cari.net nameservers, ns1.ibizdns.com and ns2.ibizdns.com, how to do I setup ISPConfig.

The end result I want here is to use mpsge.net as my admin domain. I want to use my own nameservers on my virtual server, IE these nameservers have not been setup yet, for ISPConfig. Then I should be able to add domains through the ISPConfig interface and also manipluate DNS records for each domain through the ISPConfig interface.

If you want logins or my e-mail just ask me.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 19th January 2006, 09:05
teleriddler teleriddler is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 27
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default IRC Channel?

Falko,

Is there an IRC channel in which people from this group hang out in?

thanx,

TeleRiddler
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 19th January 2006, 11:18
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 37,015
Thanks: 840
Thanked 5,652 Times in 4,461 Posts
Default

No, we dont have an IRC channel.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 19th January 2006, 16:33
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,751 Times in 2,581 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by teleriddler
The end result I want here is to use mpsge.net as my admin domain. I want to use my own nameservers on my virtual server, IE these nameservers have not been setup yet, for ISPConfig. Then I should be able to add domains through the ISPConfig interface and also manipluate DNS records for each domain through the ISPConfig interface.
This is explained here: http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/sho...92&postcount=4

The authoritative name servers for mpsge.net are ns1.ibizdns.com and ns2.ibizdns.com. On these servers you create A records for ns1.mpsge.net and ns2.mpsge.net, pointing to two different ISPConfig servers.
Now whenever you register a new domain, you create the primary DNS records on one ISPConfig server and the slave DNS records on the other server first, then you register the domain and tell the registrar that the name servers for the new domain should be ns1.mpsge.net and ns2.mpsge.net.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 19th January 2006, 20:32
teleriddler teleriddler is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 27
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Nameserver Record Entries

Falko,

Thanx for the quick reply as always. I have one minor question before I start into this.

Through the Cari.net advanced DNS interface I am able to add a multitude of records, IE MX, A, CNAME, PTR, TXT, and NS.

I have added the A records as follows:

ns1.mpsge.net A 43200 <My server's IP address>
ns2.mpsge.net A 43200 <My server's IP address>

I was wondering if I should add them as NS records, or will the A record be good enough.

Feel free to talk in DNS speak as I have done many DNS configuration by hand before but am still learning how ISPConfig handles DNS. I know that the above configs have nothing to do with the ISPConfig DNS configurations, just to let you know I am not confusing the 2.

Thanx,

TeleRiddler
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 19th January 2006, 20:48
teleriddler teleriddler is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 27
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Nameserver Record Entries Update

So I tried entering ns1.mpsge.net as an NS record and Cari.net's Advanced DNS balked at it and rightly so, I would need to have another nameserver listed where I put <My server's IP address> in order to make that work properly.

So I guess I am just waiting for my new A records I put in last night to resolve. I keep checking with dnsstuff.com but they are still not "in the system" as of yet. I will update when I get a proper query returned.


TeleRiddler
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 21st January 2006, 06:26
teleriddler teleriddler is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 27
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Nameserver continued

OK

so here is my current setup.

I have my virtual server hosted at Cari.net. I have bought their "Advanced DNS Management" for mpsge.net.

I have added the following A records.

ns1.mpsge.net
ns2.mspge.net
ns3.mspge.net
ns4.mpsge.net
ns5.mpsge.net

All those A records resolve correctly now.

I have added the site mpsge.com through ISPConfig. My client has purchased mpsge.com from GoDaddy. I login to the GoDaddy interface to enter the new nameservers, ns1.mpsge.net and ns2.mpsge.net. The web interface will not allow me to enter them and returns an error that they are not real nameservers. Not sure what to do from here.

Is there any type of support package I can purchase to have someone help me get the DNS working. I have a client who is anxious to move his mail over. I try to add different records through ISPConfig, I see them in my named config files on the server but somehow I do not have BIND/Named setup on my server to answer as ns1.mpsge.net and ns2.mpsge.net.

Any advice is welcomed.

Sincerely,

TeleRiddler
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 21st January 2006, 07:48
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,751 Times in 2,581 Posts
 
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by teleriddler
I have added the site mpsge.com through ISPConfig. My client has purchased mpsge.com from GoDaddy. I login to the GoDaddy interface to enter the new nameservers, ns1.mpsge.net and ns2.mpsge.net. The web interface will not allow me to enter them and returns an error that they are not real nameservers. Not sure what to do from here.
In that case I strongly recommend to contact the GoDaddy support as every registrar's DNS interface is different and requires different information, and I don't know the GoDaddy interface. I'm with DirectI.

Quote:
Originally Posted by teleriddler
Is there any type of support package I can purchase to have someone help me get the DNS working. I have a client who is anxious to move his mail over. I try to add different records through ISPConfig, I see them in my named config files on the server but somehow I do not have BIND/Named setup on my server to answer as ns1.mpsge.net and ns2.mpsge.net.
If you need support, you can contact us under info [at] projektfarm.de.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bind chroot configuration Toffee Installation/Configuration 6 13th March 2009 16:51
Loading configuration file lance Kernel Questions 2 28th February 2007 21:40
PHP/MySQL/Apache2/ISPConfig configuration issues? senzapaura General 21 25th December 2005 15:01
ISPConfig pop3 problem mphayesuk General 21 31st October 2005 11:53
Please explain Bind, named, NameServer, DNS domino HOWTO-Related Questions 7 22nd August 2005 11:18


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 19:25.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.