Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 2 > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 9th August 2005, 13:42
m u r m u r is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 152
Thanks: 13
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Send a message via AIM to m u r Send a message via MSN to m u r
Default Secure Certificate Error

When I try to go to https://archsupply.com, I get the following error:

could not establish an encrypted connection because certificate presented by www.archsupply.com is invalid or corrupted.
Error Code: -8182

Any ideas on how to fix my certificate?
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to m u r For This Useful Post:
o4us2see (5th May 2007)
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 9th August 2005, 14:03
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,202
Thanks: 829
Thanked 5,420 Times in 4,262 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by m u r
When I try to go to https://archsupply.com, I get the following error:

could not establish an encrypted connection because certificate presented by www.archsupply.com is invalid or corrupted.
Error Code: -8182

Any ideas on how to fix my certificate?
have you generated the certificate manually or in ISPConfig?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 9th August 2005, 14:49
m u r m u r is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 152
Thanks: 13
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Send a message via AIM to m u r Send a message via MSN to m u r
Default

I followed this tutorial for Debian Sarge:

http://www.howtoforge.com/perfect_setup_debian_sarge

It's all a blur in my mind, but I think I did it manually.Then I followed the online ISPConfig install documentation.

I get a different error, depending on the browser. I doubt this helps, but in ie, it says:

Unable to establish a secure connection to 'archsupply.com'. There is a problem with the security certificate from that site (The identity certificate name is not correct.)

In Safari, I looked at the certificate, and there is all sorts of information, including the country, state, etc. that I set up. At the top it says:

This certificate is not valid (host name mismatch)

Last edited by m u r; 9th August 2005 at 15:01.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 9th August 2005, 16:18
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,202
Thanks: 829
Thanked 5,420 Times in 4,262 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by m u r
I followed this tutorial for Debian Sarge:

http://www.howtoforge.com/perfect_setup_debian_sarge

It's all a blur in my mind, but I think I did it manually.Then I followed the online ISPConfig install documentation.

I get a different error, depending on the browser. I doubt this helps, but in ie, it says:

Unable to establish a secure connection to 'archsupply.com'. There is a problem with the security certificate from that site (The identity certificate name is not correct.)

In Safari, I looked at the certificate, and there is all sorts of information, including the country, state, etc. that I set up. At the top it says:

This certificate is not valid (host name mismatch)
SSL Certificates are normally only valid for one domain (e.g. www.yourdomain.com). The error "host name mismatch" means that you have installed a ssl certificate with the wrong domain name. Make a new SSL Certificate and when ask for the domain, enter 'archsupply.com'.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 9th August 2005, 16:30
m u r m u r is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 152
Thanks: 13
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Send a message via AIM to m u r Send a message via MSN to m u r
Default

I created a certificate in ISPConfig (site>SSL), but I still get the error. When I go to https://archsupply.com (port 80), it says, "This certificate is not in the trusted root database," and the organization is Global Technology Associates, Inc., not the information I entered in ISPConfig>site>SSL. When I go to https://archsupply.com:81, it says, "The certificate is not valid (host name mismatch)" and the organization is the stuff (that didn't matter according to the tutorial) during the install -- again, not the information I entered in ISPConfig>site>SSL. Can someone please please help me?

Last edited by m u r; 9th August 2005 at 16:43.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 9th August 2005, 16:43
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,202
Thanks: 829
Thanked 5,420 Times in 4,262 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by m u r
I created a certificate in ISPConfig (site>SSL), but I still get the error. The certificate now says, "This certificate is not in the trusted root database," and the organization is Global Technology Associates, Inc., not the information I entered in ISPConfig>site>SSL
In ISPConfig, the form of the site www.archsupply.com:

Host: www
Domain: archsupply.com

And the certificate you got is not for: "www.archsupply.com" ?
The vhost for www.archsupply.com is created by ISPConfig and you have not changed anything manually in yor httpd.conf or vhost configuration?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 9th August 2005, 16:46
m u r m u r is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 152
Thanks: 13
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Send a message via AIM to m u r Send a message via MSN to m u r
Default

I haven't touched any of the files. If you want to log in, the password is still "admin"
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 9th August 2005, 16:49
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,202
Thanks: 829
Thanked 5,420 Times in 4,262 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by m u r
I created a certificate in ISPConfig (site>SSL), but I still get the error. When I go to https://archsupply.com (port 80), it says, "This certificate is not in the trusted root database," and the organization is Global Technology Associates, Inc., not the information I entered in ISPConfig>site>SSL.
Shure, this is a self signed certificate. If you need an official SSL-Cert take the SSL certificate request generated by ISPConfig and buy an SSL an officially signed Certificate from an SSL autority.

Quote:
Originally Posted by m u r
When I go to https://archsupply.com:81, it says, "The certificate is not valid (host name mismatch)" and the organization is the stuff (that didn't matter according to the tutorial) during the install -- again, not the information I entered in ISPConfig>site>SSL. Can someone please please help me?
The adminpanel on port 81 has nothing to do with the SSL Certificates for the sites. The SSL-Cert for the adminpanel is generated for the domain you entered in the installer.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 9th August 2005, 16:50
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,202
Thanks: 829
Thanked 5,420 Times in 4,262 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by m u r
I haven't touched any of the files. If you want to log in, the password is still "admin"
Sorry, I first misunderstood your post.

Last edited by till; 9th August 2005 at 16:53.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 9th August 2005, 16:52
m u r m u r is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 152
Thanks: 13
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Send a message via AIM to m u r Send a message via MSN to m u r
 
Default

I just meant that I haven't manually configured any of the files since I installed everything. I only created the SSL in ISPConfig.

So, is there a way to change the SSL-Cert for the adminpanel on port 81 to "archsupply.com" without re-installing?

or

Do you know what I did wrong in the install? It asked me about the country, province, etc., but I don't think it ever asked for the domain. The tutorial indicated that the information I entered here wasn't important.

Last edited by m u r; 9th August 2005 at 16:59.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Error trying to install - on RH9 bgarlock Installation/Configuration 7 17th August 2005 10:43
Error in Instalation (mysql header) juampi Installation/Configuration 2 5th August 2005 22:37
systemimage si_getimage error cmpanel Installation/Configuration 1 13th July 2005 10:31
Secure and Private Browsing with Squid bernd HOWTO-Related Questions 1 24th May 2005 02:31
Internal Server Error with CGI scripts? lola Programming/Scripts 2 21st April 2005 17:00


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 11:20.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.