Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Linux Forums > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 13th April 2008, 17:52
irben irben is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Jurmala, Latvia
Posts: 16
Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default proftpd configuration

Greetings!

I've installed Fedora 8 using "The perfect server" article.
I cannot configure proftpd to access ftp. I've created user test, but it cannot login, although this user can be logged in via ssh.
I've made some changes in proftpd.conf file but this was useless.
May be you know some default steps I have to configure or I should show you my config file?
__________________
Fedora 8 user
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 14th April 2008, 12:06
irben irben is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Jurmala, Latvia
Posts: 16
Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

May be I have to add some permissions to specified user? If so, how can I do it?
__________________
Fedora 8 user
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 14th April 2008, 15:25
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,740 Times in 2,575 Posts
Default

What shell does your FTP user have? Is that shell listed in /etc/shells?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 14th April 2008, 15:52
irben irben is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Jurmala, Latvia
Posts: 16
Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by falko
What shell does your FTP user have? Is that shell listed in /etc/shells?
It would be perfect to access to ftp from Windows machine, cause I need this ftp to access my home files from work and other places and there is no Linux for 99%.
I cannot connect my ftp even from server, where ftp is running.
__________________
Fedora 8 user
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 15th April 2008, 18:16
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,740 Times in 2,575 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by irben
It would be perfect to access to ftp from Windows machine, cause I need this ftp to access my home files from work and other places and there is no Linux for 99%.
I cannot connect my ftp even from server, where ftp is running.
Yes, but what shell is your user having? You can find out about the user's shell by looking at /etc/passwd. The shell that is used by that user must be listed in /etc/shells because otherwise the user can't use FTP.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 15th April 2008, 22:58
irben irben is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Jurmala, Latvia
Posts: 16
Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by falko
Yes, but what shell is your user having? You can find out about the user's shell by looking at /etc/passwd. The shell that is used by that user must be listed in /etc/shells because otherwise the user can't use FTP.
My user uses bash.
Is there any real config file which could be an example for me to access ftp.
__________________
Fedora 8 user
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 16th April 2008, 22:37
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,740 Times in 2,575 Posts
Default

Did you disable SELinux?
What's the output of
Code:
iptables -L
?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 16th April 2008, 22:47
irben irben is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Jurmala, Latvia
Posts: 16
Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by falko
Did you disable SELinux?
What's the output of
Code:
iptables -L
?
SE Linux is disabled. Firewall too.
I can enter my credentials, but I've got error. This is my dialog:

"Connected to irben.id.lv (192.168.1.102).
220 ProFTPD 1.3.1 Server (Irben FTP server) [::ffff:192.168.1.102]
Name (irben.id.lv:root): test
331 Password required for test
530 Login incorrect.
Remote system type is UNIX.
Using binary mode to transfer files.
ftp> exit
221 Goodbye."

You can try to connect my ftp with test user and testpass as password.
What exactly do I have to do to grant new user permission to access ftp?
__________________
Fedora 8 user
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 17th April 2008, 20:26
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,740 Times in 2,575 Posts
Default

So the username is test? What's the output of
Code:
grep test /etc/passwd
? What's in /etc/shells?
Did you set a password for the user by running
Code:
passwd test
?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 17th April 2008, 21:59
irben irben is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Jurmala, Latvia
Posts: 16
Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by falko
So the username is test? What's the output of
Code:
grep test /etc/passwd
?
Code:
[root@irben~]# grep test /etc/passwd
test:x:20001:20001::/home/test:/bin/bash
Quote:
What's in /etc/shells?
Code:
[root@irben~]# cat /etc/shells
/bin/sh
/bin/bash
/bin/nologin
/bin/zsh
/bin/false
/SENDMAIL/ANY/SHELL/
Quote:
Did you set a password for the user by running
Code:
passwd test
?
Yes, of course. I've told test user's pass is: testpass
__________________
Fedora 8 user
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
proftpd configuration malinens Installation/Configuration 1 15th January 2008 08:28
Problem in Proftpd configuration tecnico001 Installation/Configuration 3 6th March 2007 08:22
proftpd virtual host not working DaddyFix Installation/Configuration 6 19th April 2006 19:59
ispconfig and mambo shajazzi Installation/Configuration 70 28th March 2006 19:29
Im thinking about throwing proftpd to the trashcan danf.1979 Installation/Configuration 2 23rd December 2005 09:27


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 13:30.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.