Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 2 > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10th April 2008, 20:46
jmroth jmroth is offline
ISPConfig Developer
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 191
Thanks: 1
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Thumbs down Bugfix: User quota could be set to -1 when the web site had a positive quota value

Currently, I use this as a "feature". I only specify group/web quotas and each user can consume as many of that as they want.

Let me ask this way: what was the actual bug? Why is it better the new way?

Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10th April 2008, 21:48
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,340
Thanks: 810
Thanked 5,169 Times in 4,053 Posts
Default

Several users complained about the old behaviour, so it was changed.

If you give every user the same quota then the site quota should give you the same behaviour as before.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10th April 2008, 22:17
jmroth jmroth is offline
ISPConfig Developer
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 191
Thanks: 1
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by till
Several users complained about the old behaviour, so it was changed.

If you give every user the same quota then the site quota should give you the same behaviour as before.
What if I have 50 users for a site. Shall I give manually 1/50-th of the space to each user .

And why would that be the same as before? Before, one user could just use 1/2 of the (group) space leaving 1/2 of the space to the remaining users.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11th April 2008, 03:23
tal56 tal56 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 91
Thanks: 11
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

I agree with jmroth. I seem to like it the other way better. If a site is set to have 1 gig space, then I should be able to set users on that site as -1, and basically to me that means that user can use up as much space as they like, as long as a combination of all users is under the 1 Gig limit.

So if I have 10 users, some might use more, or some might use less, but if they all have -1, then it's flexible how much they use, as long as the total of all the users remain under the entire sites limit.

This seems easier to manage in my opinion.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11th April 2008, 03:29
tal56 tal56 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 91
Thanks: 11
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Just to contribute an idea to this, maybe add some info to the new user setup form, that shows how much space total on the site, and how much space remaining. This will help admins manage how much they should allocate to users if they know how much space they have left.

So like beside the "Webspace MB" have like 267/1000 MB

Idealy for me, I'd like to see the quota go back to the way it was before, but with that extra bit of information added to the new user form.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11th April 2008, 03:37
jmroth jmroth is offline
ISPConfig Developer
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 191
Thanks: 1
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Default

Moral of the story: if you bring such drastic changes to the software (where has this been discussed?), always leave the user (here: the admin) the ability to choose which method to use via a configuration setting for example and don't simply dump the old (well-working) code by means of a "bug"fix.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11th April 2008, 10:39
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,340
Thanks: 810
Thanked 5,169 Times in 4,053 Posts
 
Default

Ok guys, seems that nobody has read my post above:

Quote:
If you give every user the same quota then the site quota should give you the same behaviour as before.
Example:

Site Quota 100 MB

If you set now the quota for every user to 100 MB too, you will get the same result as before. The quota will be reached if the sum of all user quotas reaches 100 MB.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
User web ftp etc... Hagforce Feature Requests 0 20th March 2006 22:25
Users and websites aren't created Glorfindel Installation/Configuration 9 23rd February 2006 04:20
how i can open a web site hadisaadeh Installation/Configuration 10 20th January 2006 15:46
testing web site by its external ip address rosa hsiao General 9 12th January 2006 21:32
How to shorten the web site address? rosa hsiao General 5 5th December 2005 13:29


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 20:26.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.