Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 2 > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 9th January 2006, 21:28
adam76 adam76 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 15
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default new added dns records are not right

hi, i just started to work with ispconfig and i am amazed about the product. but yeah ofcourse there it comes. i have problems with my DNS records. when i add a domain with a DNS server hosting the records miss alot of stuff. Like a proper MX record and Localhost record what is needed for NL registration. i can add it all manually but is there a way how i can add a form or template where i can set my own settings according my own will ?
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 9th January 2006, 21:33
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,509
Thanks: 815
Thanked 5,268 Times in 4,130 Posts
Default

Have you used the DNS-Manager or only checked the "Create DNS" Checkbox when creating a website?
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 9th January 2006, 21:39
adam76 adam76 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 15
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

create DNS and create MX i have checked. no dns manager
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 9th January 2006, 21:41
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,509
Thanks: 815
Thanked 5,268 Times in 4,130 Posts
Default

For these "simple" functions you can set some preferences in Administration > Server > Settings

If the functions there where not advanced enough, i recommend to fine tune the DNS records in the DNS manager.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 9th January 2006, 21:44
adam76 adam76 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 15
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

but what i was thinking about is perhaps there is a way to adjust the way how the dns records is been created in the form manager. but i cant find a good documentation on how to use this one with what variables. if i need to fine tune the dns records when i add alot of domains is alot of time. i was think perhaps i could adjust the script a bit to meet my needs.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 9th January 2006, 21:50
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,509
Thanks: 815
Thanked 5,268 Times in 4,130 Posts
Default

You cant modify this directly in the form manager. You will have to change the "action" script that is executed when the website is saved. If remeber correctly, the name of the file is:

/home/admispconfig/ispconfig/lib/classes/ispconfig_isp_web.lib.php
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 9th January 2006, 21:53
adam76 adam76 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 15
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

ok thanks for the quick support. i am going to give it a look and keep posted here. perhaps i post the new ( nic.nl certfied domain records ) script.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 9th January 2006, 23:10
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,735 Times in 2,571 Posts
Default

The script that's actually writing the zone files is /root/ispconfig/scripts/lib/classes/ispconfig_bind.lib.php. You might want to have a look into it as well.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 9th January 2006, 23:11
timehost timehost is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 12
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I have the same problem, and I think there is a bug here $domain = trim($server["server_domain"]);


////////////////////////////////////////
// MX Record anlegen
////////////////////////////////////////

$domain = trim($server["server_domain"]);
$host = $go_api->db->queryOneRecord("SELECT web_host FROM isp_isp_web WHERE doc_id = $doc_id");
$host = trim($host['web_host']);
if(!empty($domain)) {
//$ip_adresse = $domain["domain_ip"];
$sql = "INSERT INTO dns_mx (host,prioritaet,mailserver) VALUES ('$host','10','$domain')";


We want the MX record to be set up as mail.customerdomain.tld, not mail.serverdomain.com

for example we are in a hosting company called timehost.net, the server is called zeus.timehost.net. If a reseller creates a new site, the MX record should point to mail.customerdomain.tld. Currently there is a erroneus default entry as timehost.net only.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10th January 2006, 10:50
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,509
Thanks: 815
Thanked 5,268 Times in 4,130 Posts
 
Default

I think thats not a bug. What you want is another kind of configuration then the one that ISPConfig has for default.

If you want MX records to point always to the customer domain, you can use it like this:

////////////////////////////////////////
// MX Record anlegen
////////////////////////////////////////


$host = $go_api->db->queryOneRecord("SELECT web_host FROM isp_isp_web WHERE doc_id = $doc_id");
$host = trim($host['web_host']);
$domain = "mail.".trim($host["web_domain"]);
if(!empty($domain)) {
//$ip_adresse = $domain["domain_ip"];
$sql = "INSERT INTO dns_mx (host,prioritaet,mailserver) VALUES ('$host','10','$domain')";
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Look up DNS records xtothez Technical 3 23rd August 2012 15:04
DNS records fail to be created _ronnie_ General 18 30th December 2007 20:27
Bash - Deleting duplicate records Wire323 Programming/Scripts 4 8th March 2006 13:26
Deleting DNS master records jernis Installation/Configuration 1 22nd September 2005 12:11
More robust default dns records jnoble Feature Requests 0 31st August 2005 18:41


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 02:33.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.