Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 2 > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 4th April 2008, 16:08
alexwalkey alexwalkey is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 19
Thanks: 6
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Question Cannot set up Google Apps Email. Please Help!

Hi,

I've been at this for a week now, scoured these forums, and still no joy. Here's my setup:

I run 3 sites off of ispconfig but haven't used any of them for mail. For the first two my service providers route mail straight to Google Apps using the MX Records I supplied. Site works, mail works, no problems. For the third site running on ispconfig I used a different (very "low key") service provider and he has a different set up and can only forward "all traffic" to my ispconfig server. He says that all mail is pointed that way too.

So, now, I need to sort out all the MX records and whatnot on my side, through ispconfig. I think I've done everything as I've seen it explained on these forums:

I have these mx records, in this order:

ASPMX.L.GOOGLE.COM.
ALT1.ASPMX.L.GOOGLE.COM.
ALT2.ASPMX.L.GOOGLE.COM.
ASPMX2.GOOGLEMAIL.COM.
ASPMX3.GOOGLEMAIL.COM.
ASPMX4.GOOGLEMAIL.COM.
ASPMX5.GOOGLEMAIL.COM.

And I have selected "external mailserver" under the sites' Options.

On the Google side I've verified my domain correctly and am now just staring at my third "We are checking MX records for your domain. This may take 48 hours to complete." - this one's been up for over a day so far and I'm not holding out much hope.

I'm sure there's something wrong with my basic ispconfig setup that I just haven't noticed until now as I haven't yet needed any email functionality. Possibly there's something wrong with my nameservers (is that possible???). I have some public nameservers' ip addresses in at the moment.

Please can someone give me some ideas as to what I can check?

Thanks a lot (for anything at all - really)

-Alex
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 4th April 2008, 16:34
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,046
Thanks: 826
Thanked 5,386 Times in 4,231 Posts
Default

You need to set all co-domains to externnal mailsver too, not just the sitte settings.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to till For This Useful Post:
foxx1337 (4th April 2008)
  #3  
Old 6th April 2008, 22:14
alexwalkey alexwalkey is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 19
Thanks: 6
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hi Till, thanks for the reply.

I had, in fact, not checked there and it was set to local. But even now that I've set it to external I see that www.mxtoolbox.com still sees no mailservers listed there. And they say they should pick up changes immediately. I will get google to check again but as that takes 48hrs is there anything else it could be?

Thanks in advance!

Edit: The hostname field under co-domains is blank. Is that right? Kind if like a catch-all hostname?

Last edited by alexwalkey; 6th April 2008 at 22:17.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 7th April 2008, 13:08
alexwalkey alexwalkey is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 19
Thanks: 6
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Unhappy Still no joy

Hi, still no luck with this.

mxtoolbox.com shows a mx record that points to my ispconfig server. Is that right or should it be looking there and then showing the mx records pointing to google?

-Alex
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 7th April 2008, 18:42
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,741 Times in 2,575 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by alexwalkey
Edit: The hostname field under co-domains is blank. Is that right?
Yes, because technically, www.example.com and example.com are two totally different things.

Quote:
mxtoolbox.com shows a mx record that points to my ispconfig server. Is that right or should it be looking there and then showing the mx records pointing to google?
IT should show the Google records. Can you post your domain so that I can check?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 8th April 2008, 07:15
alexwalkey alexwalkey is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 19
Thanks: 6
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hi Falko,

Sure, the domain is thecupcakecompany.co.za (don't laugh)

Thanks,

-Alex

ps Still nothing (Google saying it's still checking + mxtoolbox showing nothing)
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 8th April 2008, 09:43
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,741 Times in 2,575 Posts
 
Default

This is what I get:

Code:
mh1:~# dig mx thecupcakecompany.co.za

; <<>> DiG 9.3.4 <<>> mx thecupcakecompany.co.za
;; global options:  printcmd
;; Got answer:
;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NOERROR, id: 17235
;; flags: qr rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 1, AUTHORITY: 0, ADDITIONAL: 0

;; QUESTION SECTION:
;thecupcakecompany.co.za.       IN      MX

;; ANSWER SECTION:
thecupcakecompany.co.za. 14400  IN      MX      0 thecupcakecompany.co.za.

;; Query time: 210 msec
;; SERVER: 145.253.2.75#53(145.253.2.75)
;; WHEN: Tue Apr  8 09:42:06 2008
;; MSG SIZE  rcvd: 57

mh1:~#
So no Google records...

Did you create the records on the following name servers?

Code:
mh1:~# dig ns thecupcakecompany.co.za

; <<>> DiG 9.3.4 <<>> ns thecupcakecompany.co.za
;; global options:  printcmd
;; Got answer:
;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NOERROR, id: 45467
;; flags: qr rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 4, AUTHORITY: 0, ADDITIONAL: 0

;; QUESTION SECTION:
;thecupcakecompany.co.za.       IN      NS

;; ANSWER SECTION:
thecupcakecompany.co.za. 43162  IN      NS      ns3.sa-servers.net.
thecupcakecompany.co.za. 43162  IN      NS      ns2.sa-hosting.net.
thecupcakecompany.co.za. 43162  IN      NS      ns1.sa-hosting.net.
thecupcakecompany.co.za. 43162  IN      NS      ns4.sa-servers.net.

;; Query time: 17 msec
;; SERVER: 145.253.2.75#53(145.253.2.75)
;; WHEN: Tue Apr  8 09:42:44 2008
;; MSG SIZE  rcvd: 138

mh1:~#
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
removing email account set up grandpagenocide General 0 29th September 2007 13:36
Advice on how to setup Lintrack As A LAN Gateway And An OpenVPN Bridge eddiequek HOWTO-Related Questions 0 12th July 2007 10:38
Transaction error Perfect FC6 setup ACDII HOWTO-Related Questions 1 6th July 2007 14:56
Set Up Ubuntu-Server 6.10 As A Firewall/Gateway Email Problem steveomach3ww HOWTO-Related Questions 13 31st January 2007 20:34
newbie ububtu 6.0.6 error PHP binary line 816 davidsky73 Installation/Configuration 8 17th September 2006 11:51


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 04:14.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.