Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Linux Forums > HOWTO-Related Questions

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 2nd April 2008, 07:27
eban22 eban22 is offline
HowtoForge Supporter
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 8
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default CentOS 5.1 Server Setup: LAMP, Email, DNS, FTP, ISPConfig (a.k.a. The Perfect Server)

Hello,

I've downloaded the image for this tutorial, however, when the system boots up and asks me for the login and password, I realize that I do not have them. Can someone tell me what the root password is? when I imported the image into the VMware player, it went right to the login prompt ofcouse, so I did not have the option to create a root password. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you,

eban22
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 2nd April 2008, 11:14
zcworld zcworld is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: South Australia
Posts: 329
Thanks: 2
Thanked 37 Times in 37 Posts
Send a message via MSN to zcworld Send a message via Skype™ to zcworld
Default

1 Preliminary Note
The standard password of all users (root, admin, MySQL root user, etc.) in HowtoForge's VMware images is howtoforge.


http://www.howtoforge.com/import_vmware_images

hope its helps
__________________
Shane Ebert :: Facebok
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 2nd April 2008, 15:49
eban22 eban22 is offline
HowtoForge Supporter
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 8
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default CentOS 5.1 Setup

Great,

Thanks; I have noticed that all of the keyboard values have changed. My guess is that I will have to reconfigure my keyboard setup. Has anyone experienced this after downloading the VMware player and images for the first time?

Thanks

eban22
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 2nd April 2008, 15:58
zcworld zcworld is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: South Australia
Posts: 329
Thanks: 2
Thanked 37 Times in 37 Posts
Send a message via MSN to zcworld Send a message via Skype™ to zcworld
Default

i found that myself when i had a quick look at one i downloaded

try run the setup to pick the keyboard layout
setup -> keyboard layout
__________________
Shane Ebert :: Facebok
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 2nd April 2008, 17:04
eban22 eban22 is offline
HowtoForge Supporter
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 8
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Okay, but I am not sure how to get to setup. Is this within the VMware player? I've never used it before and I don't see any options to get to setup.

Thanks

eban22
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 2nd April 2008, 17:10
zcworld zcworld is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: South Australia
Posts: 329
Thanks: 2
Thanked 37 Times in 37 Posts
Send a message via MSN to zcworld Send a message via Skype™ to zcworld
Default

i only use VMware server
not palyed with VMware palyer

just boot up the VM image
log in as root / howtoforge
than setup (type it in) via command line
keyboard layout : pick your keyboard type
tab to OK and exit the setup menu
the keyboard should be mapped right
__________________
Shane Ebert :: Facebok
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 2nd April 2008, 17:16
eban22 eban22 is offline
HowtoForge Supporter
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 8
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Got it!! I guess that the default keyboard setup is for German. Everything is fine now. Thanks for your help

eban22
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 3rd April 2008, 19:43
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,741 Times in 2,575 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by eban22
Got it!! I guess that the default keyboard setup is for German. Everything is fine now. Thanks for your help

eban22
You can connect to the VM with PuTTY. In PuTTY, you have the host's keyboard layout.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 3rd April 2008, 21:59
eban22 eban22 is offline
HowtoForge Supporter
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 8
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks, by the way, are there any examples that illustrate the usage of the features that this image has; LAMP, Email, DNS, etc.

Thanks

eban22
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 4th April 2008, 19:40
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,741 Times in 2,575 Posts
 
Default

You can install ISPConfig on it and then create web sites, users, email accounts, etc. Of course, you can do all this by hand, but it requires deep knowledge. For example, if you want to create email accounts manually, take a look here: http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=2
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
CentOS 5.1 Server Setup: LAMP, Email, DNS, FTP, ISPConfig aaa999 Server Operation 8 20th December 2007 16:30
subdomain and mail relay configuration aranthorn Installation/Configuration 24 3rd September 2007 22:53
Install ISPConfig on CentOS Server, in brief gfts Tips/Tricks/Mods 11 4th April 2006 08:29
Website users? ctroyp General 25 6th January 2006 18:02
ISP-Ubuntu breezy ispconfig dns email e-mail working finally yellowjelly HOWTO-Related Questions 0 19th November 2005 20:30


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 17:52.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.