Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Linux Forums > Server Operation

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 31st March 2008, 09:36
morenz morenz is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 19
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default IPCOP: slowness during interactions

Hello,
I just installed IPCop 1.4.18 on an Athlon 2800+ with 512MB RAM with 3 NICs to build and test a firewall to be installed in my workplace.

The installation went OK, and I started configuring it via web interface, but it seemed to be slow, just loading the main page took about 1 minute and a half...

I took a look at logs, thinking about such a conflict between NICs, but found nothing interesting.

Suggestions?

Thanks in advance,
Morenz
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 31st March 2008, 11:24
petter5 petter5 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 13
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Wink Ipcop problem.

Some "best practice" hint:

1) use network cards from Intel or 3Com - they produce high quality cards with rocket solid drivers - for shure a lot of other vendors make fine nic's also , but Intel and 3Com is bulletproof,,

2) Update your MB bios to latest version

3) Try to change the network cards to another PCI slot.

4) In the Bios setup, disable all unused resources if possible: Disable com, lpt, soundcards etc to free up IRQ's for the network cards

5) Check your instal cd for defects -> Make a new CD using lovest possible cd burning speed in your CD burning application. -> then reinstal with the new CD.

Conclusion: The symptom of your problem is always caused by one of the above reasons - without exception

/ Petter
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 31st March 2008, 17:25
morenz morenz is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 19
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Default

I came into the problem.
There's a problem with NICs (I used old ones...), and if I run
Code:
mii-tool
I get
Code:
eth0: autonegotiation failed, link ok
SIOCGMIIPHY on 'eth1' failed: operation not supported
eth2: no link
eth2 (mobo's embedded LAN) is disconnected, and it's the only one that works (if I plug in the cable, the response is OK)
I think I have to buy new NICs...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
IPCop falko Technical 24 28th April 2010 01:21
IPCop and VMware dlr Installation/Configuration 1 18th June 2007 15:36
IPCOP Not Connecting on Red Side jayramona Installation/Configuration 2 24th February 2007 20:57
plz help me, IPCOP is my first step to migrate from windows to linux environment ra7eeel Installation/Configuration 3 16th April 2006 14:25
IPCop & Copfilter: Using IPCop DNS from Orange. slamp HOWTO-Related Questions 1 20th March 2006 23:20


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 18:30.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.