Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 2 > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 25th February 2007, 22:39
andyreynolds andyreynolds is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 25
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default getting shared IP page instead of website

Hi
i have now managed to fix my problem with my dns by changing the v hosts file thanks till for that. But now that the domain I want to host which is www.vsk-gbr.com, a community sailing website like vsk-aus.com. It comes up with this message

'Shared IP

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------





This IP address is shared. For access to the web site which you look for, enter its address instead of its IP.

For questions or problems please contact the server administrator.

'
I can ftp the domain and get access to the user files and that works, is their something different I need to do in the configuration pages of the dns of the domain or something? As i should be getting the contents of what I uploaded and not this page which I get on the IP 91.84.34.130.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 26th February 2007, 09:13
till till is online now
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,486
Thanks: 813
Thanked 5,255 Times in 4,121 Posts
Default

Is your server behind a router in a NAT enviroment? If yes, you must choose your internal and not external IP for the website.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 26th February 2007, 14:36
andyreynolds andyreynolds is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 25
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Dns

I have chosen the internal IP address for V Conf file, but not the bind service has stopped working. I am using this code in the monitoring section ‘/etc/init.d/named start’ on port 53. Should this turn the BIND service back on, why should it of stopped? When it was working last night I looked up the domain vsk-gbr.com and it returned the SOA record but not the MX?? Yesterday it returned the shared IP message when you went on the domain but now it is just not working. As well as this if you go to 91.84.34.130 it use to come up with the shared IP message, but now it is the apache test page. Can I start BIND remotely and is this all that is the problem being it offline?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 27th February 2007, 16:09
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,735 Times in 2,571 Posts
Default

To clear this up: for web sites you must use the IP address that you see in the
Code:
ifconfig
output - this one can be local or public.
For DNS, you should use the public IP address, or otherwise people from outside your LAN cannot access your domains.

Any error messages in syslog regarding BIND?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 3rd March 2007, 18:16
andyreynolds andyreynolds is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 25
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default showing shared ip message instead of website

Hi
on the URL www.mysrhosting.com. it displays a shared IP message, I can login to my ispconfig on port 81 but I normally I would expect to see a message saying 'this is your index.html' welcome message but I get the shared IP, why is this?
I have got two other domains they are www.mysrhosting.com and www.number1host.biz, they both come up with shared IP message and I only get the homepage one on vsk-gbr.com. When I ftp to it the contents on the page doesn't change?

Last edited by andyreynolds; 3rd March 2007 at 22:43.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 4th March 2007, 12:33
Hawker Hawker is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 100
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Default

Since you didn't answer about being in a NAT behind a router, let's see if I can explain this a little better....

If you are behind a router and using NAT you must route ports to the private IP address(es) you are using for your web sites. You must also create an ifcfg-ethX:X file for each private address you use. And then do a network restart.

If you are not behind a router, or you are and are not using NAT you must create an ifcfg-ethX:X file for each public IP address you are using. And then do a network restart.

With that said, either you haven't created the proper ifcfg files or you aren't NAT routing to them. At least that's my take on this.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 4th March 2007, 14:01
andyreynolds andyreynolds is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 25
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Nat

Hi,
I have got the correct ifconfig file for the extra internal IP address and I am successfully hosting one site www.vsk-gbr.com which is showing the content that I am uploading. I have also set up my other two domains www.mysrhosting.com and www.number1host.biz, but they come up with shared IP page instead of the standard index.html page that when replaced with a new one changes the content of the website. This works for vsk-gbr.com but not for the other two so it must be set up correctly otherwise the dns wouldn't work and it wouldn't load anything am I right?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 4th March 2007, 15:10
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,735 Times in 2,571 Posts
Default

What's in Vhosts_ispconfig.conf, and what's the output of
Code:
ifconfig
?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 4th March 2007, 15:17
andyreynolds andyreynolds is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 25
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default output code

I get etho and etho:0 the first IP address is 192.168.2.8 and the eth0:0 is 192.168.2.30. The address 192.168.2.30 is in my v hosts file and then that IP is DMZ to the IP 91.84.34.130 and 192.168.2.8 is DMZ to .131.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 5th March 2007, 18:12
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,735 Times in 2,571 Posts
 
Default

I see two GoDaddy placeholder pages for www.mysrhosting.com and www.number1host.biz...
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
not seeing shared IP page andyreynolds Installation/Configuration 2 21st February 2007 23:24
Default page for new website.. mrdek11 General 3 7th February 2007 19:21
Howto suggestion suse PhP ver 4 + Ver 5 wwparrish Suggest HOWTO 11 7th August 2006 13:29
Shared IP, where is the default page of my websites ? jeanjacquesjeanjacques Installation/Configuration 4 12th December 2005 22:00
default page for shared IP sc0ut Installation/Configuration 12 30th November 2005 00:11


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 18:02.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.