Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 2 > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 2nd October 2008, 19:27
dargx001 dargx001 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Exclamation Web Access for ISPConfig

I would like to be able to access ISPConfigs Admin Web Interface from IP Addresses that are out side of my network, what do I need to do? When I access it from inside my network everything works fine, but I would like to have access to it when I am at school and I can't figure that out. I've gone into my various configs like httpd.conf, system-config-httpd.conf, and httpd.conf for ISPConfig. Listen is set on the httpd.conf for port 81 which is the port I have to ad to the url. What do I need to do to allow remote web access.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 2nd October 2008, 22:58
AcidKat AcidKat is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 43
Thanks: 11
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

make sure that port 81 is being forwarded in the router
let me know if that doesnt work and ill think of another answer that might work for ya.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 3rd October 2008, 00:42
dargx001 dargx001 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

81 is forwarded through the router. Sorry I should have said that earlier. I've added 192.168.1.136:81 to my hosts file as well. Do I need to set the bind address in the Ispconfig version of httpd.conf. Also should I have port 81 set to listen in the same file. I didn't think I should set that in my actual apache system-config-httpd.conf.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 3rd October 2008, 12:26
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,721 Times in 2,562 Posts
Default

Make sure that your ISP doesn't block port 81.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 3rd October 2008, 14:40
dargx001 dargx001 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

They don't I already tried that one. I called and asked them and just to make sure I had apache listen on there then I changed it back once it worked.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 3rd October 2008, 15:26
AcidKat AcidKat is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 43
Thanks: 11
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

id say it has to be a firewall in a router or modem. check every peice of equipment from your server going out to the internet.
ill bet a beer on it.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 3rd October 2008, 15:35
dargx001 dargx001 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Ok I'll check all the equipment and the configs on my switch and router. I'll let you know how that goes.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 5th October 2008, 03:53
dargx001 dargx001 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Ok so I've checked all my configs. Nothing should be blocking access to it. Like I said earlier I can access it with no problem inside my network, but outside access is my problem. I made sure the firewall was off on my box since I have the ISPConfig firewall, and I made sure that port 81 was on the exceptions list. My router is forwarding port 81, also I've added 192.168.1.136:81 to my hosts list like I've done with apache. Still I can't access it from outside my network. Is there a specific configuration I need to look at in my ispconfig/httpd.conf file. Also maybe this could help you guys out a bit. When I type in http://192.168.1.136:81 into my url bar to access the interface I get this.

Code:
Bad Request
Your browser sent a request that this server could not understand.

Reason: You're speaking plain HTTP to an SSL-enabled server port.
Instead use the HTTPS scheme to access this URL, please.

    Hint: https://shadow.server.com:81/
I'm not sure if that helps, but I'm not sure what to do. Though when I type https://192.168.1.136:81 it goes right to the ISPConfig login screen.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 5th October 2008, 20:14
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,721 Times in 2,562 Posts
Default

You must use HTTPS instead of HTTP to access ISPConfig.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 5th October 2008, 20:57
dargx001 dargx001 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Default

Yeah I already knew that since that has been how I've accessed it before. I was hoping that someone could tell if it had anything to do with the fact that it says https://shadow.server.com. I thought that could be the problem, but I don't know where to change that since I don't use that domain name to login to the rest of my server. Maybe this could also be of some help.

Code:
15:29:13 [root@shadow ~]# netstat -nal | grep -i 81
tcp        0      0 0.0.0.0:81                  0.0.0.0:*                   LISTEN
Here is what my eth0 looks like.

Code:
eth0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:40:2B:77:72:7D
          inet addr:192.168.1.136  Bcast:192.168.1.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
          inet6 addr: fe80::240:2bff:fe77:727d/64 Scope:Link
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:17702 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:6296 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
          RX bytes:2797505 (2.6 MiB)  TX bytes:2192131 (2.0 MiB)
Also I attached a portion of my ISPConfig/httpd.conf so you could see what I've got so far. Just keep in mind that is only the portion that I think would be important.
Attached Files
File Type: txt portion-httpd.conf.txt (4.5 KB, 167 views)

Last edited by dargx001; 5th October 2008 at 21:43. Reason: Thought I would add some more info
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ffmpeg Video support for ubuntu 7.10 [suphp-ispconfig] amaurib Installation/Configuration 13 16th February 2010 17:26
Can't access login enter ispconfig web ftp domain hostname Dekalb Installation/Configuration 1 3rd June 2007 13:22
get thousands of "Mailsize" mails from own server torusturtle Installation/Configuration 20 24th December 2006 14:51
Questions in regards to ISP-Server Setup - Ubuntu 5.10 "Breezy Badger" rbrantley HOWTO-Related Questions 16 10th April 2006 18:26
FTP access to web files in ISPConfig Rocky Installation/Configuration 14 8th November 2005 23:17


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 06:45.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.