#1  
Old 5th August 2005, 00:19
_InFeCtOr _InFeCtOr is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Installation Problem

I am installing ISPConfig on a fedora 4 server for a client. However, I have ran into a problem that I see no sensible solution for. The client will be hosting site site from said server, using ISPConfig. However, the installation wants to know the hostname that it will be running on. This host obviously doesn't exist because the client will also be hosting his own DNS. He needs ISPConfig setup to be able to configure this, but the setup process fails because the specified host doesn't exist. Can someone please tell me the solution to this, as I don't see it
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 5th August 2005, 00:26
falko falko is online now
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,740 Times in 2,575 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by _InFeCtOr
I am installing ISPConfig on a fedora 4 server for a client. However, I have ran into a problem that I see no sensible solution for. The client will be hosting site site from said server, using ISPConfig. However, the installation wants to know the hostname that it will be running on. This host obviously doesn't exist because the client will also be hosting his own DNS. He needs ISPConfig setup to be able to configure this, but the setup process fails because the specified host doesn't exist. Can someone please tell me the solution to this, as I don't see it
You could enter the hostname in /etc/hosts so that the lookup during installation doesn't fail.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 5th August 2005, 00:36
_InFeCtOr _InFeCtOr is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

You know, that never even crossed my mind. I'll have to add that to my big book of tricks.
Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 7th August 2005, 17:54
Sinist@r.Ice Sinist@r.Ice is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Cool

I got the same problem as this i've added my host to the /etc/hosts file but still no joy...anyone got any ideas?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 7th August 2005, 18:10
falko falko is online now
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,740 Times in 2,575 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sinist@r.Ice
I got the same problem as this i've added my host to the /etc/hosts file but still no joy...anyone got any ideas?
You can leave the hostname empty during installation and enter the IP address as domain.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 8th August 2005, 15:34
Sinist@r.Ice Sinist@r.Ice is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Default

ah ty didn't think of trying that lol...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 14:38.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.