Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Linux Forums > HOWTO-Related Questions

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 19th January 2006, 02:14
spang spang is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Problem with Quota

Hey, when I was doing the "SAMBA (Domain Controller) Server For Small Workgroups With Ubuntu 5.10 'Breezy Badger'" tutorial and I was setting up quota, I ran into this message after doing "quotaon -avug":

quotaon: using //quota.group on /dev/hda4 [/]: Function not implemented
quotaon: using //quota.user on /dev/hda4 [/]: Function not implemented
quotaon: using /home/quota.group on /dev/hda5 [/home]: Function not implemented
quotaon: using /home/quota.user on /dev/hda5 [/home]: Function not implemented

I'm not really sure what kind of problem this is and how I should handle it. Thanks for any responses.

Last edited by spang; 19th January 2006 at 02:26.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 19th January 2006, 06:56
themachine themachine is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Texas, USA
Posts: 109
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Do the quota files exist? Did the command "quotacheck" successfully run? If not, what is the output of "quotacheck -maug"? Note that I believe this command will overwrite your existing quota files...
__________________
themachine
5dollarwhitebox.org
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 19th January 2006, 07:52
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,747 Times in 2,578 Posts
Default

Did you install the quota package?
Code:
apt-get install quota
What does /etc/fstab look like?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 21st January 2006, 20:40
spang spang is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Yes, quota is installed, I'm not that stupid.

I also ran quotacheck and the output seemed fine. It didn't show any errors. I did, however, run it over ssh, but that shouldn't change anything, should it?

The computer where I was testing the tutorial on is off right now, but once I turn it on, I'll rerun all the tests and keep your suggestions in mind. I'll reply with any progress I make.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 22nd January 2006, 09:28
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,747 Times in 2,578 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by spang
I did, however, run it over ssh, but that shouldn't change anything, should it?
No, that's fine.

Maybe you have to load the quota module when you boot your server. Is the quota module in /etc/modules?
You might also have to install module-init-tools:
Code:
apt-get install module-init-tools
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 22nd January 2006, 20:46
spang spang is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Ok, so I've tried everything but to no avail. Still the same old "Function not implemented" warning. I've already loaded quota in /etc/modules and I ran "quotacheck -maug" a few times and nothing shows up. I also already have the latest version of module-init-tools.

This is what my /etc/fstab looks like (I'm running my server off of an iBook so there's no boot partition):
# /etc/fstab: static file system information.
#
# <file system> <mount point> <type> <options> <dump> <pass>
proc /proc proc defaults 0 0
/dev/hda4 / ext3 defaults,errors=remount-ro,usrquota,grpquota 0 1
/dev/hda5 /home ext3 defaults,usrquota,grpquota 0 2
/dev/hda3 none swap sw 0 0
/dev/hdc /media/cdrom0 udf,iso9660 user,noauto 0 0
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 22nd January 2006, 23:37
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,747 Times in 2,578 Posts
Default

Please put
Code:
quota_v2
into /etc/modules and reboot again.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 24th January 2006, 03:38
spang spang is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

HUZZAH!

No... don't get excited... it still didn't change anything. The same old "Function Not Implemented" error. Maybe I should just reinstall it?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 24th January 2006, 09:46
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,747 Times in 2,578 Posts
Default

Maybe you should also put
Code:
quota_v1
into /etc/modules.
You can run
Code:
dmesg
on the command line to see all the messages that the system issued during bootup. Are there any errors related to quota?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 27th January 2006, 23:02
spang spang is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Default

Still nothing. No errors during bootup, either. Just the "Function Not Implemented" message. I think I'll just reinstall everything and see how it goes. Might have some progress there.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Strange email problem for one of my domains... any help appreciated paulrobert_a Installation/Configuration 5 9th August 2010 15:15
another quota question... Ovidiu General 9 21st December 2005 02:08
SMTP TLS Problem with Mail Client dschmid Installation/Configuration 1 9th December 2005 02:56
webmail klient quota problem? jernis Installation/Configuration 9 30th November 2005 23:14
Mail quota exceeded! SkIRmiS Installation/Configuration 7 28th September 2005 13:38


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 18:47.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.